Home > Guest Blog, Kieran, Randy Orton > A Rattlesnake Is Not A Viper: Why Randy Orton Deserves Better Than To Be Marketed as Stone Cold 2.0 by Kieran

A Rattlesnake Is Not A Viper: Why Randy Orton Deserves Better Than To Be Marketed as Stone Cold 2.0 by Kieran

[Editors Note: This post is written by Kieran. A gem in the rough that was also overlooked in the TJR Writers Search. We connected by networking in the comment section of this very site and the rest is history. We might have lost there, but we are destined to win big here. Kieran also has his own blog set up here so make sure to stop by and check out some of his other material. This is reading at a high level so grab your dictionaries if you must, kick back and relax as I turn the spotlight over to Kieran. Enjoy.]

Randy Orton, the Viper, multiple time World Champion, heavily pushed main eventer.  He gets the exposure, he gets the wins and he gets the ….. shaft?!  Yes, it may seem slightly contrary to argue that Orton is being mishandled by the WWE, but every time I see him on television all I can think about is squandered opportunity.

Think back to the spring of 2010, Orton was just emerging from a lengthy, eminently successful run as a heel.  He had lifted the world title multiple times and firmly established himself as a top-tier WWE talent.  His first lengthy Championship reign, running from No Mercy 2007 to Backlash 2008, built around him putting John Cena on the shelf, had given him that final nudge to elevate him from perennial nearly man into a true major player on the WWE stage.  This rehabilitation had been necessary due to the abysmal failure of his inaugural title reign back in 2004 when he had beaten Chris Benoit for the strap at Summerslam and prematurely been turned face.  The crowd had simply not taken to him, and he found himself shunted down the card, his momentum stalling as his former Evolution stable mate Batista received the monster push that had originally been earmarked for him.  His alleged poor backstage attitude had combined with the fallout from this initial “failed” main event run and left him in upper mid card exile for a time, a step away from glory, the prize tantalizingly dangled just outside of his reach.

Cena’s late 2007 injury could not have come at a more opportune time for Orton, while it cut short his feud with the Doctor of Thuganomics, it opened the door for him to ascend into the main event and gave him the chance to lead the Raw brand into 2008.  He defended his title convincingly in a feud with Shawn Michaels and held off further challenges from Chris Jericho, Jeff Hardy and even successfully retained at Wrestlemania in a triple threat bout with Cena and Triple H (as strong a reinforcement of his credentials as anyone could hope for).  Randy had firmly cemented himself as Raw’s top heel and found himself in the position of forming the Legacy to give young up and comers Ted DiBiase and Cody Rhodes the rub that he had himself received from Triple H and Ric Flair in his Evolution days.  Another Wrestlemania main event was on the cards for him after his first Royal Rumble win in 2009, but despite the red hot build up to his match with Triple H, where he had further emphasised his ruthless persona, the bout itself was something of an anticlimax when he failed to wrest the title from The Game.  Upon finally regaining the belt, a spate of quick fire title swapping ensued with first Batista and then super face, John Cena.  During this period however, the crowd’s attitude towards Orton began to gradually change, partly as a result of facing the radically opinion-polarising Cena, and partly in recognition of his talent and now-proven commitment.  This trend was recognized by the WWE and in the grand tradition of giving the fans what they were craving for (a trend contradicted only by their treatment of the sometimes divisive Cena) they began to plot the kind of slow burning face turn that had served them so well with Batista five years earlier.

A heel versus heel match up as the Viper challenged Sheamus for the title at the 2010 Royal Rumble sowed the first seeds of dissension within Legacy, with Rhodes costing his mentor a victory when his interference backfired.  The dissolution of Legacy was confirmed at Elimination Chamber when the participating DiBiase eliminated Orton from the Raw chamber match after hitting him with a steel pipe Cody Rhodes had passed to him.  This set up Randy for his first match as a fan favourite since 2005 as he faced his former protégés in a triple threat match at Wrestlemania 26.  At the time I felt a handicap bout would have made more sense but the company’s intention to send all three men on their separate ways justified the three-way contest.   It was odd to see the previously despised Viper greeted by cheers, but his against the odds victory was the correct outcome.  At this point he was poised to become the alternate face to John Cena that the WWE has long been crying out for.  His underrated mat skills, his strong grasp of ring psychology, his athletic look and his supremely over finishing maneuver should surely have combined to push him to exalted heights.  I remember thinking that there was going to be real money in this Orton face turn, the fans were desperate to cheer him and he had all the tools he would need to propel himself into the stratosphere.  Sadly, this hasn’t quite been the case.  Watch any of his matches and you’ll notice the same pattern; the crowd pops massively for his entrance, but then seem to stay dead until he starts beating the canvas and signalling for the RKO.  The crowd will again pop huge for the very over finisher, but they just don’t seem as invested in Randy’s matches as they should be. Why is this?

This can partly be attributed to the Viper’s ring style.  He wrestles in a very deliberate, measured manner, ruthlessly exploiting his opponent’s weaknesses and methodically setting them up to be despatched via the RKO.  This calculated style meshed perfectly with the psychological heel role he had previously mastered, but isn’t so appropriate for a fan favorite.  Thankfully, he has ditched the interminable chin locks (a move which is banned for all WWE faces), but he still spends most of his matches wearing his opponents down and scouting for any vulnerabilities.  Traditionally, a good guy will fight more with the heart and less with the head (hence HHH’s cerebral assassin heel persona) and we just don’t always see enough raw emotion and intensity in the ring from Randy.  There’s no doubt in my mind that he would be capable of stepping on the gas and wrestling at a faster pace.  He has the experience and the ring skills to do this, he just needs some of the road agents to spend a little time helping him adapt to wrestle in a more traditional babyface manner.  This will enable him to unleash his comebacks from the face-in-jeopardy spot with the kind of fire that guys like Hogan and Cena are known for (Yes, I’m citing those two, for all the hate they seem to attract both are incredibly accomplished at involving the crowd in their comebacks from peril).  With just a few tweaks, Orton’s ring style need not be a handicap to his ascent as a good guy.

The manner in which Randy was booked last year also proved a hindrance, despite the gathering momentum around his new face persona he consistently found himself stalled when he should have been firing on all cylinders.  A failed challenge for Jack Swagger’s World Heavyweight Championship didn’t derail him, but was an unnecessary detour.  More problematic was the subsequent hastily arranged clash with a freshly turned Edge at Over The Limit which served only to confuse fans who weren’t entirely sure who was playing which role.  His summer feud over the WWE Championship with Sheamus never quite caught the imagination in the way I had hoped it would and it found itself as a minor attraction, overshadowed by the spotlight hogging Cena-Nexus conflict.  Worse was to come as he was almost sidelined in his own title defence against Wade Barrett, where all the attention seemed to be on special guest referee John Cena.  Your World Champion should be the centerpiece of your shows, not an afterthought in someone else’s feud.  This disrespectful treatment made both Orton and the title look secondary, robbing him of heat when he should have been going supernova.

Perhaps the biggest obstacle to the Viper’s ascent to wrestling superhero however has been an attitude of complacency on the part of the WWE.  They’ve looked at Randy and thought, “Strong technical wrestler who is also an accomplished brawler, ruthless intensity, super-over finisher, heel becoming so popular we have no choice but to turn him?  What we have here is the Rattlesnake 2.0”. They’ve essentially decided that lightning is going to strike twice and that Orton’s rise as a “Stone Cold” type phenomenon is an inevitability.  In their rush to promote him as such they have forgotten all the work that went into the development of the “Stone Cold” Steve Austin character and the deeper reasons for its subsequent success.  If I was to ask a wrestling fan to describe Austin they’d say “Toughest SOB in wrestling, loves a beer, hates his boss, and doesn’t take crap from anyone”.  How could that guy fail to strike a chord with every fan watching?  Steve Austin was one of us, he had problems and motivations we could all relate to.  If I was to ask that same wrestling fan to tell me about Orton they’d probably tell me something like “Well, he’s really ruthless, he’d probably RKO his mom if he needed to … oh, and the RKO – it’s sick!”, but that’s it, there’s nothing there for the average fan to connect to.  Now this isn’t Randy’s fault, he has polished promo skills, conveys real emotion when called upon and has developed a strong set of facial expressions and reactions which are a stark contrast to the stony mask he always wore as a heel.  The problem is that since his turn the only real change in Orton’s booking is that he has gone after heels rather than faces, nothing else about him has changed.  The audience has been given no character or storyline reasons to invest in him, so what does he actually represent?  At the moment there is nothing at the heart of the Viper character and that is why he can’t seem to win the crowd entirely over.

It is no coincidence that by far the best feud of his face career to date has been his current one with CM Punk.  The “Straight Edge Superstar” is just the right kind of psychological heel to get under Orton’s skin and force him to display the sort of vulnerability that he needs to show to truly win the fans over.  The sympathy that he has gained from the masses is beginning to lead to a genuine affection that can only be reinforced by the nature of his against-the-odds triumph over the leader of the Nexus (the numerous people who complain about the faction looking weak are missing the point. Ultimately in wrestling the heels only exist for the faces to go over – it’s just a question of timing it right to get the maximum payoff).  Showing his wife and daughter in the Raw audience was another smart step towards this, painting him as a family man working in a dangerous business.  His remorseless terminator character was a superb fit for a heel and he played it well but in his new role it needed to be developed.  He can still be that tough unstoppable machine sometimes, that’s what people loved about him, but it’s worth noting that when Arnie turned face in Terminator 2, he too had to introduce a little personality to his android killing machine.

Orton’s transfer to Smackdown couldn’t have arrived at a better time for the Viper.  He’s arriving off the back of his strongest face feud to date, having emerged out of his rivalry with Punk with some real momentum.  He’s stepping out of the shadow of Cena and is in a position to cement himself as the face of the secondary brand. Current Smackdown main man Christian seemed poised to be the face of the brand, but no more, for all his natural talent he lacks the aura of a true champion to me.  The opportunity is there for Randy to take center stage and make Friday nights his showcase.  If he can run with the ball and become the red-hot superface he has the potential to become, then the entire direction of the WWE could change.  Hell, if he draws enough money, then the IWC’s wet dream of a Cena heel turn could even materialise……

  1. Max
    May 3, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Jcity, I refuse to believe you are the same person that was running therealshyt.com. The difference between that site and this site are amazing. Keep up the good work. Kieran is a keeper. I look forward to seeing you guys work together in the future. I’m interested in sending something in myself fairly soon if you would allow that.

    • May 3, 2011 at 2:06 pm

      I assure you that I am the same person, lol. My other site was great, but it was a bit to explicit for most. Nobody could look at it at work or school, and most didn’t want to write for it because of the things that was on there. I had good content when I focused on wrestling, but in the mist of tits and ass and caps not too many people took the site serious. I was a glorified Hustler and WWE magazine cross breed. I always wanted to be taken serious as a writer but I hated people telling me what I should or should not do so I sticked with the caps until the very end of that site. Losing the site has been a blessing in disguise. Sure I lost alot of great shit, but instead of relying on some tits to get me hits I have to rely on nothing but pure talent.

      No one ever gave me a chance. I don’t have to be like them though. I’m grateful for a site like TJR which has the most passionate fans in the whole ICW. I learned how to format columns and how to build a loyal fanbase by studying John. He is like an unofficial mentor or some shit. With that being said, I refuse to be a clone. I understand that having an alternative is better than having a carbon copy. We cover the same shit but I like to think that I am unique. Being unique is what attracted me to TJR in the first place. No other site does what they do on a consistent basis.

      And yes, Kieran (how do you pronounce that?) is a very talented writer. His style may be a bit sophisticated for some but he sure knows how to articulate his point. I have told him he should dumb it down a bit to appeal to the masses but fuck that, I think he should just keep doing it the way he is doing it. I don’t want to change anyone. It adds a little something extra since I’m not writing at such a high level like he is. Different styles is what I want to showcase. Kieran is welcomed to submit anything and in helping this site I hope this site can help his grow too.

  2. Lee
    May 3, 2011 at 11:24 am

    This was a fantastic read. I always believed Orton could have been a bigger face than he is now if he had the right feuds that emotionally invested the fan interaction. He could have been bigger than Cena. The potential is still there. Will be checking out this site from now on.

  3. Brian
    May 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I second Max. What the hell did you do? You totally one upped your last site. Also, why am I enjoying the last two articles a lot more than what is currently on TJR?

    • May 3, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      I think what happened is I now treat this like work or something. My other site was the way I would act at home or on the street, but when it’s time to go to work you need to be professional. That and the fact that there are a few IWC sites popping up that get tons of praise and they ain’t got shit on me, lol. I want to keep providing entertainment. So far so good. It also seems that this site is growing at a faster rate than the last one. The last site took about 3 months to hit 10,000 views if i’m not mistaken, maybe two months. At the rate this one is going I will do that in the next week or two. With more interest hopefully I can attract more writers and we can all take our own stake in this IWC shit. I want us to be LEGENDS in this game, nothing else will satisfy me.

      • Brian
        May 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm

        Legends? LOL. At this rate you will be. Keep up the “WHAT” columns and maybe throw in some reviews and you’ll be fine. Do you can if people want to do reviews on your site? Would you be open to that?

        • May 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm

          Yes legends, lol. As of now I don’t want to review a show. That is too time consuming to keep up on a consistent basis. I wouldn’t want to review Raw one week then not do it the next. I think I can rant about the shows in a bi-daily “WHAT?” column but I would love if someone else reviewed some shows. I think I will do original columns until I figure out the site’s direction. If anyone is passionate about writing I encourage them to do so be it on my site, their own site, whatever. But together we could all grow faster. Plus I like to think I am the best editor ever. Give me two or three paragraphs and I will make it look so good and presentable with prettyful pictures :)and thats another thing, not everything needs to be epicly long. Short columns work just as well. I have always been about the people, this site is for you guys as much as its mine. Take advantage.

          • Brian
            May 3, 2011 at 2:39 pm

            All right, I’m going to review TNA this week. I’ll send it to ya. IF you like, I’ll review raw too and go from there. I like doing reviews better than articles.

            • May 3, 2011 at 2:43 pm

              Go for it. The more the merrier, lol. You have seen some of the guest blogs on the other site. On this one it will look even better. I love this cleaner layout makes everything seem 10x better.

      • May 3, 2011 at 2:24 pm

        I’m finishing up an article that I’m going to publish on my site. I would love more exposure so would you be interested in taking a look at it if I email it to you?

        • May 3, 2011 at 2:36 pm

          I will add you to the blogroll. I always encourage everyone to check out each others sites. This is supposed to be an internet wrestling community. People tend to overlook the community part. We all have the same passion. I want to group all of our stuff together. Alone we might not get alot of notoriety but together we can take over. At least I want to take over, it’s up to everyone else if they want to share my vision or not.

  4. togers
    May 3, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Kieran i must say your 2 articles on the Big Show and Randy Orton are truely awesome, as much as i have enjoyed the new articles on TJR, i truely believe they made a mistake by overlooking you, your articles are to the point and really make the reader think, i look forward to more of your articles and JCITY i never read your old site (cept once im new to the whole online blogging shit for WWE), but good job on the new site with articles like this and your unique style you could give TJR a run for their money at some point

    • May 3, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks. It’s kinda cool having people say I could give TJR a run for its money and I haven’t even been writing for that long. One thing I learned from TJR is that quality is key. I’m sure I will post some horrible crap from time to time but my main goal is to knock everything out of the park.

      And I have to say this one more time, Kieran is a damn good writer.

      • May 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm

        Actually I think I will send you something….I have written three columns so far I think my next one is the best one so far.

        • May 3, 2011 at 2:38 pm

          The door is always open for guest blogs. Maybe i need to make a blog calling out for writers. If I get 184 columns I’m posting every single one lol.

          • May 3, 2011 at 2:51 pm

            I’ll send you my article shortly….just finished but I got to proofread it one more time before I officially submit it (I always proof my work….hate reading it later and thinking, “Damn…I should have changed that!”)

            • May 3, 2011 at 3:00 pm

              Cool, most people just post as is, but I always give it an extra run through the edit machine. I hope you guys don’t mind pics because I love to put them in everything.

  5. May 3, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Wow, my thanks to everyone who has read this. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it. I have to say thanks to JCITY for giving me this exposure and also for pimping out my article with some cool pics, it really breaks up the text and looks damn good.
    I have to back up JCITY in that I’m also a huge fan of TJR and have nothing but respect for the team there, I read everything that goes up on that site and have been hugely impressed with a couple of the new columnists.

    That said, the net is a big place and I think there is room for this site to develop in the way JCITY wants it too and I’ll contribute however I can to help him reach that goal.

    • May 3, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      Your welcome :). You write some exceptional articles that needs to be shown to as many people as possible. With this site I want to network, expand, promote, and just get our stuff out to as many people as I possibly can. I have a nice following on Twitter and other sites so in time I hope that it can trickle over to this site which in turn will trickle over to everyone elses blog. The IWC likes to paint me as this foul mouth, rude, ignorant man and I am going to make sure they take those thoughts and shove them up their asses.

      • May 3, 2011 at 2:59 pm

        Don’t they need to shine them up real nice and turn them sideways first?

    • May 3, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      @Kieran
      Very good and articulated piece. This was as good as the new stuff up on TJR so i’m gratefull to JCITY for publishing it and look forward to reading more off your stuff.

  6. May 3, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I just want to take a big diarrhea style shit on sites like CreativeRecall, is that so wrong of me? LMFAO.

  7. May 3, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Hey there, dude. I’ve actually seen TheReal Shyt one time before it closed down. Total BS that Blogger did that to you. I use them now and ironically, they almost did a similar thing to me a while back. Apparently I violated some law called the Digital Millennium Act, or something along those lines. Anyways, glad to see another IWC fan! Will be visiting!
    As for Orton, I like him, but his moveset is starting to become repetitive. European uppercuts for large portions, then he goes into “Viper” mode with the same setup: three clotheslines, then his opponent swings at him, he ducks and the opponent turns around into a snap slam. He rolls under the apron for Orton’s spike ddt spot, then Orton goes for the RKO while pumping his shoulders and hits it FTW. He needs to spiffy it up some more, because I liked his moveset better when he was a heel.
    Anyways, hope to work with you, a fellow blogger, someday.

    • May 3, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      That’s whats up! Yea man, Blogger fucking screwed me (pause). I had over 186,500 views in like 7 months. Bastards. It’s cool. I told myself if I had to start over i’m going all the way in with this blogging shit. I will return the love and check your site out later, I’m trying a different approach and spreading the love (and hits) around this motherfucker, lol. I’m always glad to chat with my fellow wrestling fans. From some of these convos I might get some ideas for the next post, who knows?

  8. May 3, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Cool, most people just post as is, but I always give it an extra run through the edit machine. I hope you guys don’t mind pics because I love to put them in everything.

    I sent you an email and it’s up on my blog which you can access by clicking my name. I don’t mind pics….do whatever you think makes the article look better.

    • May 3, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      Cool, I just added you to the blogroll, hope that helps you out a bit. I took a glance at the email and I approve. I will get to that later tonight and hopefully find the will to write a “WHAT?” column. I have to run some errands and shit so I will catch you guys later.

      *Fades2Black*

      Thanks Kieran for the wonderful article.

  9. May 3, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Nice. This site is awesome.

    And JCITY, I’ll send you something eventually. I don’t know what yet, whatever I feel like. Maybe I’ll start reviewing SD again….

    • May 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Write about why Mae Young can’t get the juices flowing down there anymore. That would be a riot.

      • May 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm

        I would have to do some research, but I’ll give it a shot.

  10. Stephen
    May 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I must say that at first I though this was all an act. But your new attitude and approach is respectable. Let’s see how long it takes you to revert back into an all caps loving asshole.

    • May 3, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Why does CAPS make him an asshole?

      Am I an asshole?
      AM I EVEN MORE OF AN ASSHOLE NOW?

      If you don’t like this site don’t come on, becuase there a lot of others who do like it. He doesn’t need your approval.

    • May 3, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      No act. I was never as bad as I was perceived to be. Where the caps that much of a hindrance?

  11. Lee
    May 3, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I sure will bookmark it. I like what you are doing by giving other people a chance to shine. Very commendable.

  12. Alan
    May 3, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    congrats to jcity bro!!! you’re a hit dude!!

    • May 4, 2011 at 7:54 am

      Thanks, but I can’t take all the credit after a great piece like this by Kieran.

  13. Capt. Smooth
    May 3, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Kieran, great read! What I found so great about it is that you didn’t feel the need to crap on wrestlers you may not like! It’s so refreshing to read something that is positive.

  14. Capt. Smooth
    May 3, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    J, it’s crazy to see how big you are getting.(pause) How big YOUR SITE is getting. Do you find that you enjoy the time running this site more than TRS?

    • May 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm

      “J, it’s crazy to see how big you are getting”

      I know! JCITY’s fucking huge! He’s got to be bigger than Canton! I’ve tried EVERYTHING to be as big as he is…but I just can’t do it. Some people are just born to be big.

      That’s why I want to get in on it now. Becuase what JCITY gets bigger, I feel like a get a little bigger to.

      And I don’t mean it that way your freaks! I’m taking about our penis sizes!

      Super Pause

    • May 4, 2011 at 8:01 am

      I just looked at therealshyt records and the 10,000 views weren’t in 3 months like I thought, It was in three weeks. I think the start is similar, but that shit people came on stayed a bit then were turned off and left. Only the true real people stayed. With this one I want everyone to stay. I think that will be the difference in the end. I have a feeling this site will be bigger in the long run, much bigger. While I enjoyed the other site I must say that this one feels much more worth it. Not only am I actually getting compared to other great writers, but I want to build some type of real connection with my fanbase that you wont find elsewhere. Plus theres a shitload more comments on here that the other site. Still not used to it, but its great. Maybe I should pull a swerve and go back to therealshyt and never return here, haha. Just kidding folks.

  15. TKO
    May 3, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Good read, I wish I woulda went as hard as yall did. My article is looking more and more like some hot bullshit everyday. Good to see the traffic flowing on this site, well deserved, I aint even gonna plug my shit til I get time to step my game up lol

    • May 4, 2011 at 8:06 am

      Lol, I added your site to the blogroll fam. If you want some advise, If you still have that article or any other just sit on it for a while, revist it add a few things to it over the course of time. My mistake before was I used to write shit then put it out as soon as possible instead of holding on to it and tweaking it here and there.

      • TKO
        May 4, 2011 at 8:17 pm

        Good advice, I just started writing wrestling stuff. As you can see I only have some reviews and lil shit. My kids are always screamin so I can never get shit done. Good to see you responding to the ppl, Canton site gets colder everyday. You the peoples chanp

  16. TKO
    May 4, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Its crazy when you read the final paragraph of the article. About Christian not being the man on smackdown. I aint spoiling shit, I’m just saying man, yesterday was a fucked up day in the history of professional wrestling. Watch Smackdown Friday night…I wont

  17. May 4, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    No worries, I’ve been spoiled already mate, you can’t avoid it on TJR unfortunately. I’ve already written a lengthy piece with my take on the events you’re referring to and I don’t think the future is as bleak for a certain wrestler as some seem to see it. I won’t be posting the piece until Saturday though out of respect for people who don’t want to be spoiled.

    • TKO
      May 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      good man, I look forward to it. But d@mn it feels bleak at the moment.

  18. Ana_ZackPack
    May 5, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Oddly enough, I never saw Randy as the Next Stone Cold. Possibly because I still prefer the Legend Killer Era, when he actually talked more, instead of being a psycothic head punter.

    • May 5, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Precisely, he’s lacking any kind of character or motivation at the moment. He’s still pretty over but how much more so would he be if we were given something to buy into?

      • Ana_ZackPack
        May 5, 2011 at 1:23 pm

        My biggest problem is (even though I’m a Orton fan) the fact that this cold gimmick is very heelish like yet the guy is a “face”.

        He needs a rebuild of character in order to actually act like a good guy, or just turn heel.

        • May 6, 2011 at 11:10 am

          I never considered Orton a face though, his fans do but his heel like mannerisms have never changed, they might have gotten more heel’ish now that he is considered a fan favorite.

  19. May 5, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Definitely, for the past year he’s not been much more than a heel who attacks other heels rather than faces. Perhaps being on the SD brand and away from Cena will mean he’s actually allowed to manifest a personality.

    • May 6, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      I’m watching Smackdown right now, main event time. I wish I didn’t know the damn spoilers this match is being built up pretty good. PPV quality and length. I wish I could bet on wrestling, I would be a billionaire. FUCK!!!

  20. May 7, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    In my opinion, even though Orton’s always been at the top, he’s never been a real star like Cena, Edge, HHH, Batista and so on that could really carry a show. But just by watching Orton on Smackdown, putting him beating Christian aside, he’s been amazing. I think he’s found his look and his niche that will really make him one of the best ever.

    Orton’s only 31 years old. That’s pretty much the same age as Morrison, Ziggler, Del Rio, and Miz. And they are all considered young stars, but people miss the fact that Orton’s their age too, but miles a head of them.

    I think Orton’s just entering his prime right now, we haven’t even seen the best of him now. If he continues like this on Smackdown he may get bigger than Cena.

  21. October 16, 2014 at 7:23 am

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Very well written!

  1. May 5, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

