Home > Guest Blog, The Modern Native, TNA > The Evolution of TNA: Legends Championship by The Modern Native

The Evolution of TNA: Legends Championship by The Modern Native

[Editors Note: The Modern Native submitted this about a week ago, but wanted to add more thoughts to it so I held on to it. He is in the middle of relocating and has told me to go ahead and post it as is. He is not happy with the finished product as he feels he could have made it better, but I think it’s good the way it is. Not everything on the site has to be a super long read so I appreciate it all the same. The Modern Native is a very busy man so thanks to him for taking the time to put something together for the site. I will have my RAW review up before the end of the day and then it’s right off to edit a few goodies for the rest of the week. Enjoy.]

Ladies and gentlemen, my name is The Modern Native. Some of you may remember me from TJR, some of you may not. Regardless, when I saw THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ starting this whole thing up, I wanted in. I’m a writer at heart. Amongst other things, writing has always been a staple in my life, and I was published for the first time at the age of 13. Long story short, there was a falling out between myself and John (over way bigger projects than writing, but I won’t get into details for the sake of everyone involved.) I resigned from the Impact reviews, and I’ve been missing writing ever since.

To basically get down to the root, I’m a married man. I have three kids, and one on the way. Sometimes I can’t always post something every week at the same exact time. I need leeway. As has been said before, if I was getting paid, it would be a different story, but I’m not. I work full time in the ICU, go to school full-time, and at some point have to spend time with my family. Just to throw it out there, writing is a passion, but sometimes it has to take a backseat to life.

Now that all that’s out of the way, let’s get down to what you’re really here for. I’m a retired professional wrestler, and I speak with several current and former TNA personalities. I won’t ever share who they are out of respect for them. TNA has been a favorite of mine since the weekly PPVs. I remember all the highs, and all the lows. This whole series of columns is a perspective look on what TNA can do to change for the better, without alienating its original or fresh fans. [Side note- I will never call TNA “Impact Wrestling”. I just can’t do it.] Today’s topic will be the Legends/Global/TV Championship; how it can be used, and how it can help make TNA more successful. I know what you’re thinking, but read on, and I might change your mind.

Since its birth on October 23, 2008, the TNA TV Championship has had three different names (Legends, Global, and TV). Booker T originally debuted the belt when the TNA Frontline was feuding with the Main Event Mafia. Booker T dubbed himself the Legends Champion, and thus, the belt was born.

Since its inception, the TNA TV Championship has become little more than a joke. This is where my thinking comes in. We all know the huge outrage a lot of TNA die-hard fans are feeling. What happened to the X Division? The Knockouts? Where’s the people who built TNA?

The cold hard truth is that the people in TNA now aren’t going anywhere any time soon. For some reason, the powers that be will forever be convinced that Hogan, Bischoff, Flair and others can still draw ratings. So, my proposal is for TNA to rename the TV Championship back to the Legends Championship, and give all the legends their own one hour show. For the next couple paragraphs, I’ll walk you through a basic guideline on how it would work best.

First off, the question is, “If Gunner’s the TV Champion now, what good would changing the name of the belt be?” Legitimately speaking, some of the legends in or affiliated with TNA can still throw down. My suggestion would be to start a feud between Mick Foley and Gunner. Since Foley has revealed himself as “The Network”, he could demand title defenses from Gunner, since the rules of the TV belt state that it has to be defended weekly. Gunner keeps narrowly escaping with the belt, until Tommy Dreamer (now heel) finally gains the upset. The next week, Dreamer comes out and cuts a heel promo on AJ Styles, Eric Young, Rob Terry, Douglas Williams and Gunner, all of who held the belt at one time. He claims that none of these men could tie a true legends laces, therefore doesn’t deserve a shot at his title. He redubs it the Legends Championship, and adds the stipulation that you can only wrestle for the Legends title if you’ve been in the business for 20 years or more.

Foley comes out and agrees with Dreamer, making it official. Except, just as he has the right to rename the company, he has the right to start new shows. I feel like if TNA hit the open Tuesday night slot with a one hour program named TNA Legends, it would be a great move for business. Let’s face it. We in the IWC, can’t stand the idea of Hogan vs Sting. However, if we’re honest with ourselves, we all know people who would love to see it for nostalgia purposes. Imagine, if you would, a program where Hogan, Flair, Rick and Scott Steiner, Mick Foley, Sting, Tommy Dreamer, Sabu, Shane Douglas, Kevin Nash, Scott Hall, etc. were all on one show. That would hit a demographic of fans that feel alienated because they were from a previous generation. Two shows. Two focuses. One for the TNA Originals, and one for ultra established Legends. Both are deserving of a shot on TV, but unfortunately both can’t co-exist under current situations.

In essence it could work. All egos aside, it could very well be successful. I hate to admit it, but I would probably watch, if for nothing else than the epic promos I’m sure would ensue. Add in a few more free agent legends, and it would be a smart business move for TNA, not just in ratings and morale, but in merchandise as well. Maybe that’s just me, but there’s one way I think TNA could change to improve. I’ll be doing a whole set of columns based on the Evolution of TNA. Let me know what you think, and I’ll see you guys around.

Live fast, fight hard, stand tall, and be INFAMOUS.

_______

blacksmithpro@yahoo.com

  1. Capt. Smooth
    May 17, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    There’s a guy at a local Wal-Mart who looks exactly like Rhino, but flaming gay.

    • May 17, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      Lmao. I feel sorry for the person receiving the business end of that “Gore”. [||](Pause).

  2. Mr.Redlight
    May 17, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    i wouldnt mind the idea. I would rather watch the young guys (pause) but every now and again i would go check out the legends

  3. May 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I was wondering when this article was going to be published. I don’t watch much TNA at the moment (watched it regularly in 2010 and a little bit in 2009 but I haven’t watched much of it at all this year….I stopped right around when Jeff Hardy became the champ) but I enjoyed this article.

    • The Modern Native
      May 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      I’ve been a big TNA fan since the ppv days. I’ll admit to phasing in and out more recently, but its not the quality of programing, its just life. I have so much on my plate that I usually catch the full episodes on Fridays when they’re posted on spike.com

      With that being said, TNA, to me, is like your favorite sports team. They have periods of greatness, and long periods where they suck. A true fan will never give up on their team, because that’s just what a fan does. I see a lot of upsight in TNA right now, and hopefully they can get out of this slump they’ve been in.

      I won’t post the actual spoiler about next week’s show, but I approve. I’ll try and write a short column with my opinion and why its a good thing.

      • May 17, 2011 at 9:54 pm

        Have you seen the new Impact set?

        • The Modern Native
          May 17, 2011 at 11:11 pm

          Yes, and it looks nice. Again, I’ll discuss the BIG spoiler in another post, because for those of you who don’t read spoilers will be either happy or incredibly mad.

          • May 18, 2011 at 12:50 am

            I haven’t read any spoilers, but the new set reminds me of a certain other set I know, I just can’t quite put my finger on it…

    • May 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm

      Brand new rejuvenated TNA on Thursday with the debut of Impact Wrestling. It might be their redemption…or not. I’m going to watch in hopes that they finally got it together now.

  4. The Unusual Suspect
    May 17, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    This was a good read, and I agree with what was said. Thank you, and I look forward to the next one.

  5. May 18, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I remember you. Some of you’re articles really got heat. I liked this article and I think it is a good idea, since TNA (can’t call it the other name either) has a lot of old guys (even though I usually put Sting in another level when compared to the others).

    Honestly I still think it would be better if they axed this title and focused more on forming new tag teams, but it won’t happen.

  6. May 18, 2011 at 6:44 am

    It’s a good idea but what are the chances of convincing Hogan/Flair et al that they’re no longer relevant and need to be packed off to a veteran show? I just don’t think their rampant egos would allow it.

    • May 18, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      If the show is on a Monday Night I’m sure they will willingly volunteer thinking they are going to stick it to Vince.

      • The Modern Native
        May 18, 2011 at 5:36 pm

        ‘like’

  7. Max
    May 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Anyone heard of TNA signing Disco Inferno?

  8. The Modern Native
    May 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    They didn’t sign him. It’s a one off deal for a segment.

    • May 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

      Disco Inferno?!? Lol, I would mark out for that. Disco used to get alot of camera time in WCW.

  9. The Modern Native
    May 19, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Disco’s actually a TNA Original. He was with the company when it first started, and worked backstage as an agent for a while.

    • May 19, 2011 at 5:25 am

      Lol, I never knew that. I missed the first few years of TNA. I used to catch a bunch of random matches with the likes of Raven, Jeff Hardy, Abyss, AJ Styles. I didn’t really started watching religiously until around the time Mick Foley first went to TNA because I never got Spike TV on Direct TV until then. If the channel would have been included in my original package I would have watched TNA from the beginning of their network run. Disco was a decent mid card talent back in the day and he was good on the mic. I think his gimmick held his career down though.

  10. Devastating David
    May 19, 2011 at 11:39 am

    I really like TNA I really like wrestling I have since I was 8 and I’m 37 now I liked TNA more before Hogan got there just as everyone else has. I think they really screwed the pooch when they took out the six sided ring. I was a little skeptical of it when I heard about it but when I saw it I liked it. I think they really need to put emphasis back on the x division since it was their bread and butter when Jarrett was the king of the mountain all the time. I fucking hate Jarrett always have even before he joined the WWF. I think they need to get back to basics and do what they were doing. I was excited about the ranking system. I thought that was a good idea since as a fan you could see where everyone was ranked. I don’t know I just like what I like I guess. J I appreciate your site man keep up the good work.

    • Lee
      May 19, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      I too apreciate the site. Wrestling covered from every angle. There’s funny writers, unpredictable writers, serious writers,bookers, listers, then there is JCITY. I remember hating JCITY so much, but now I can’t help but to check this site out every few days. Then there is the way WWE and TNA get love and theres not a big bias like other sites. To be honest I never really gave TNA a chance because other writers do nothing but crap on it.

  11. The Modern Native
    May 19, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Dave, if you like the X Division, you’ll love my next two columns…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

