Home > News, RIP Tribute, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ > RIP “Macho Man” Randy Savage – November 15, 1952 – May 20, 2011

RIP “Macho Man” Randy Savage – November 15, 1952 – May 20, 2011

As I read all the online reports and put this together I still can’t believe that this is real. In a world when we are conditioned to call WWE wrestlers, “Superstars”, there was once a time when wrestlers were so larger than life we didn’t need to be told they were a Superstar, we just knew it. Randy Savage was one of those wrestlers. A real life superhero that could play any role to perfection. Savage was one of the best heels (and face) the world of professional wrestling has ever known. It really irks me when people mention the all time greats and forget to give Savage the credit he deserves. He was just as a big as Hogan, both during the 80’s in the WWF and then in the 90’s as WCW was being overtaken by the NWO (which Savage later became a member of). Compared to todays times, if Hogan can be considered the 80’s John Cena type then Randy Savage can easily be the 80’s equivalent of a Randy Orton. Both men were instrumental in catching my eye as a young (and extremely) impressionable wrestling fanatic. While I didn’t become a super fan until the nineties (I wasn’t allowed to watch much wrestling when I was really young because I would use the moves on my siblings), late 80’s wrestling captured my mind in ways nothing else other than the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and He-Man could possibly do. Savage was at the forefront of this movement. I admit to missing alot of his earlier career and I really don’t remember things before Wrestlemania 7 when he was already winding down his in-ring career in the WWF, but what I did see lead me to dig up all those tapes and school myself on the legacy and what a legacy did this man ever leave behind.

“The Macho Man” personified everything a true superstar embodies. Flamboyant over the top outfits, emotionally charged promos, and the connection with the fans, be it positive or negative. Savage took great pride in the showmanship of his craft. One of the things that bothers me as a fan of this exceptional legend is the fact that he is still not inducted into the WWE Hall Of Fame. The man clearly deserves his own wing and even though I would have preferred if he got inducted while still being alive, there is no way anyone can argue that he shouldn’t go in posthumously. For a long time there were rumors of bad blood between Vince McMahon and Randy Savage, but the proverbial hatchet seemed to be buried when WWE released “Macho Madness” Randy Savage: The Ultimate Collection DVD in 2009, which is a DVD I proudly own and would recommend to anyone, even if the passing of “The Macho Man” never took place. Savage was recently included in WWE ALL-STARS the video game and was immortalized as a WWE Mattel action figure. I have no doubts that the Hall Of Fame would have been his next destination, but we will never know how that story would have played itself out had Savage still been amongst the living. I swear though that if WWE doesn’t give this man a career retrospective video package tonight on Smackdown, on the Over The Limit PPV or on RAW, I will write a strong worded email to Vince McMahon himself and proceed to riot like I have never rioted before.

Savage was truly one of a kind. A true icon who went on to transcend the professional wrestling business. From Slimjim commercials to releasing a rap album, to movie cameos and cartoons, there is nothing Savage didn’t do. While alot of people might look at this loss as a sad unfortunate tragedy, I want to use this time to celebrate the man’s life. Glorifying death is never my M.O, but I do want to point out that Savage was so bad ass that in essence he died twice. Once from the fatal heart attack he sustained while driving a motor vehicle and then when his vehicle crashed into a tree. Obviously his maker wanted his angel by his side right there and then and wouldn’t take no for an answer. I hope Savage is now in the big ring in the sky, once again reunited with the lovely Ms. Elizabeth and kicking it with the likes of Curt Henning and the rest of his friends that have been patiently waiting for his arrival.

_______

I really would like to apologize if this didn’t come off as an epic tribute to one of the greatest wrestlers/superstars that ever lived, but I really wasn’t planning on writing anything today, let alone an eulogy. When I got home today, all my lines of communication were blown the fuck up with the news of Savage’s death. I’m short on time tonight, but I couldn’t go about my business without giving the world my two cents on the passing of such a true legend in our chosen genre of entertainment. Before I head out I would like to assure you that somebody is catching a flying elbow to the face before the night is done. That will be my way of paying homage. If you would like to leave a comment I just have one request of you; please take a moment of silence before you do so. RIP “Macho Man”, you will never be forgotten.

😦

  1. Alan
    May 20, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    RIP Mr. Macho Man. He will be missed 😦

  2. Lee
    May 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Rest in peace. Macho Man was awesome. I think I might pick up his DVD since you recommended it. I have never bought a WWE DVD, but Macho Man is one of the reasons I am a fan today. Sad news all around.

    • May 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      I got the DVD the day it came out. I was excited because with all the rumored hostility between himself and Vince this move signified that bigger and better things were to come. Now that he is gone I will cherish that DVD and when I have a son I will pass it to him so he can be schooled on the greatness of one of wrestlings greatest.

  3. TKO
    May 20, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    this is crazy man. i seriously was a bigger macho fan than hogan when I was young. he could fly like no other with that elbo drop. another one of the greats passes, tragedy. oh yea

    • May 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      Hogan said he was interested in bringin Macho Man to TNA. They finally started talking again after years of hostility so I’m glad they got the closure they needed with that, but still, damn.

  4. May 20, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Macho Man is one of my favorite wrestlers of all time. He needs to be in the WWE Hall of Fame.

    • May 21, 2011 at 8:52 pm

      He should have gone in the same year as Hogan and called Hulk a punk in his acceptance speech. I would have so marked out for that.

  5. Downfall
    May 20, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    This is a bummer. While he became something of a joke later in his career, Savage was one of the greatest of all time. His match with Steamboat at WM 3 is still one of my top 10 favorite matches of all time.

    As an aside, it saddens me that when the greatest IC champion of all time passes away, that title is no longer anything more than an afterthought.

  6. Max
    May 21, 2011 at 5:17 am

    So tragic the way he died. At least he had a full life unlike most deaths in wrestling.

    • May 21, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      The way he died sounded like some made up bullshit. I didn’t believe it until it was on the news and TJR posted its Randy Savage piece. He did have one of the longer lives of current wrestling releated deaths, but this one hurts more because he is intertwined with the memory of my childhood. At heart we would all like to hold on to the days of innocence so its kinda different than the other deaths, at least to me.

  7. May 21, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Most of my friends who don’t even care about wrestling, cared about Macho Man dying. A lot of Slim Jim jokes mostly, but at least they knew who he was.

    • May 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      Alot of people I haven’t even spoken to in forever where blowing up my phone talking about it. It just shows the type of impact he had.

  8. Brian
    May 21, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Something doesnt add up to me with the way he died. The guy was in prestine shape. Why the heart attack? I guess it could come on at any time, especially if its hereditary. But it just goes to show you….god has a plan for everyone. Really sad though.

    Macho’s death is waking me the fuck up and realizing I need to lose some weight so this shit doesnt happen to me. He wasnt in bad shape by no means, but I am, and know its time to get in some shape.

    • Capt. Smooth
      May 21, 2011 at 8:46 am

      I’m in bad shape as well. My doctor has told me I’m good health though, due to not drinking, smoking, or doing drugs.

      • May 21, 2011 at 9:02 pm

        I don’t want to be THAT guy, but Savage was in wrestling in the prime of steroid usage. Years of that shit had to take years off his life. He did live to be considered elderly so I guess it was his time, but I’m sure that played a factor in the heart failure department.

  9. Capt. Smooth
    May 21, 2011 at 8:44 am

    I’m still a bit numb. Great tribute, J. Also, I marked for the Turtles and He-Man references. RIP

    • May 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      Thanks. I think I still have some Ninja Turtles and He-man action figures in a box somewhere.

      • Capt. Smooth
        May 21, 2011 at 10:42 pm

        Another reason why you’re a geek. *evil laugh*

        • May 22, 2011 at 12:09 pm

          I still have my ninja turtles in my mom’s house. I still have my old power rangers VHS.

  10. May 21, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    I was so shocked with this news. Especially now that it looked like the WWE and him were making amends.

    • May 21, 2011 at 9:06 pm

      I’m positive the hall of fame was next. We will now be deprived of what would have been the most epic acceptance speech ever 😦

  11. May 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    I’m proud that this is getting a lot of attention in the media. Usually, pro wrestling-related news stories get ignored by the mainstream media but it seems like everyone including ESPN have something up on their website regarding Macho Man. I don’t remember that happening when Lance Cade, Test, or Umaga died but it’s good that they are doing it for Macho Man because he deserves it.

  12. Capt. Smooth
    May 21, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Off topic, but speaking of people with the name “Randy”, what the fuck was Orton doing on SD last night?

    • May 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      Yea that was pretty random of him, but things like that make me look at him as a face (finally) rather than a heel thats just being nice for the time being. Plus it was hilarious. I think he should do it more often, maybe yell YIPPIE!!!!!

      • Capt. Smooth
        May 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

        He should do that after a punt.

  13. MEek3rz
    May 21, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    RIP Macho Man

  14. May 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    No need to apolgise i honestlt believe that for something like this less really is more. Yes you could do a career retropective but that wouldn’t live up to the memory of The Macho Man Randy Savage. This was a very good piece that sums evrything up nicely.

    RIP Randy Poffo

    • May 21, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks. I felt kinda rushed. I didn’t hear about this till I got home and I had to run out but not before I touched on it. If I had found out earlier in the day I might have just wrote myself an email throughout the day then added everything else when I got home. I wish it never happened and I didn’t have to cover it. I didn’t put this up for the page views (you can have them all back if Savage can still be amongst the living)but because I grew up watching that man. He was truly one of a kind and there will never be anyone like him.

      RIP

  15. Jeff
    May 21, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Very well said J… Macho Man is truly one of the best ever, and I do hope that he takes his rightful place in the Hall of Fame C/O 2012. I agree he should have been in there, but now in my view and I’m sure many will agree.. he HAS to inducted now… it’s the right and respectable thing to do to honor this legend.

    • May 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      Thanks. There is no way that they can’t induct him now. He transcended the business. He’s one of those guys that even if you don’t watch wrestling you would know who I was talking about. One of the all time greats. I’m glad he made amends with WWE and they put out the DVD and put him in a videogame finally because now when they release more Savage stuff it won’t seem like they shunned him in life then turned around to make money off his death. Hall of fame in 2012 for sure, fuck The Rock, he can wait.

  16. May 22, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Hey guys, were having an Over the Limit Contest over at the Twintalkwrestling blog. Winner gets a free Wrestlemania 26 DVD. Come check it out if you like winning free stuff. Really easy, just make the most correct predictions for Over the Limit. Click my name to go to the website. 

    • May 22, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      The first two plugs were fine, the other two were annoying, but this one is just classless. This is a RIP post, at least pay your respects first, damn.

  17. MEek3rz
    May 24, 2011 at 4:52 am

    reading this again made me cry

  18. Capt. Smooth
    May 24, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :Who’s the geek now? Lol.</blockquo
    Go Heat, bitch!(lol)

  19. Capt. Smooth
    May 24, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Capt. Smooth :

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :Who’s the geek now? Lol.</blockquoGo Heat, bitch!(lol)

    I did something wrong. Anyways…Go Heat, Bitch!(lol)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

