Home > Guest Blog, Invasion, TKO > Why The Invasion Angle Worked by TKO

Why The Invasion Angle Worked by TKO

In this column I will discuss the 2001 WWF vs WCW Invasion angle from a fans perspective. It was an exciting time in the World Wrestling Federation (not yet WWE) and it was fresh off of the best Wrestlemania ever, where some interesting angles that would later become the Invasion kicked off. People often would say that they would want to forget this era in wrestling history, but I enjoyed a lot of it for various reasons. You can say I wasn’t a smart fan at the time because I never thought about the other side of the business, so these are the thoughts of a casual fan. This is not about the obvious bad parts of the Invasion angle, this is about the good things that I got out of the Invasion as a fan. This is not about X-pac matches, Kronic, Lance Storm or the fact that the lack of WCW star power was so obvious it makes you want to vomit. Let’s take a trip back to the summer of 2001. A time when Triple H tore his quad and when we WANTED to see Chris Benoit, but all we got was Booker T. Booker T, the man who basically started the Invasion and then was treated like The Rock’s less fortunate twin brother who was left in the attic. A time when we should have seen Goldberg vs. Stone Cold. Ok, let me not get into what could and should have happened, this is about the good parts, walk with me.

“Stone Cold” Steve Austin…WHAT?

The most amazing (and ridiculous) part of the whole Invasion angle was “Stone Cold” Steve Austin. He had become the top heel in the company and sided with Triple H to form the “2 Man Power Trip”. Unfortunately, Triple H went down with a quad injury and something snapped within Austin. He changed, drastically. Austin started singing songs and hugging Vince McMahon and it was confusing, yet funny as hell at the same time. I still have some old VHS tapes of these magical moments in wrestling history which I’m sure are easily accessible on YouTube. One time in particular was when Kurt Angle and Stone Cold had a hug-a-thon with Vince in the ring. It was so stupid I was in tears from all the laughter. I really can’t explain it. They were fighting over being Vince’s favorite or something. Then came “WHAT?”, which was started by a joke conversation between Christian and Steve Austin in real life (because wrestling is fake, I know, I hate when people say that too). This led to Austin saying “WHAT?” over and over again like a retarded child. Someone would say something disrespectful and he would scratch his head and say….”What?” It eventually got more aggressive and more ridiculous to the point that nearly 10 years later people in the audience still say “WHAT?” during promos. I do find it disrespectful, but it shows the impact a simple word like “What?” had, given the circumstances. Steve Austin would go on to become face again the night after the Invasion angle, but his time as a heel was the funniest, yet most confusing entertainment I’ve ever seen. Thank you Stone Cold.

RVD

The man who claims to be bigger than TNA was thrust into the mainstream and it started with the Invasion Angle. Known as “The Whole F’N Show”, he was the most popular ECW guy and he had finally made it to the big time. RVD’s two ladder matches against Jeff Hardy are stuff of legend and his ability to get over enough to main event with Stone Cold and Kurt Angle in a matter of months proved he was the real deal. Good to great matches and a few funny altercations with Stone Cold made the Invasion angle exciting every week. One of the prettiest finishers known to “sports entertainment” was revealed to the general public and his time in this era assisted in his current worldwide popularity. He was accused of being the mole who secretly worked for WWF which led to a memorable spotlight altercation in a dark room with Stone Cold. During this period I feel RVD peaked as far as popularity. In TNA his star isn’t shining that bright with 1.2 ratings. Even when he won the WWE Title at One Night Stand again John Cena, it was so many years after he was at his prime. That PPV was a big deal and may be the actual peak, but the Invasion Angle was closer to the Attitude era when wrestling itself peaked. Regardless, we were treated to something special back then as EWC’s finest finally became a superstar. Thank you RVD.

Kurt Angle…Oh its True!

During this period, Angle would go from the stupid child-like side kick to Stone Cold, to man love sessions with Vince, to making Stone Cold tap out, to winning the WWF Championship. He was the top babyface next to The Rock while The Rock was busy wrestling the likes of Booker T and Chris Jericho. A gifted athlete and great on the mic, Kurt Angle became so much more to the company during this period. He ended the era in fact, turning on his on again off again foe Stone Cold. It was slightly confusing what they were trying to do with Kurt. When Austin turned on WWF, Kurt instant became the savior of the company, but it was clearly a WWF match, not a WWF vs. WCW match. There were some very funny exchanges with Austin just before the initial Invasion. Look them up. Thanks Kurt.

“Y2J” Chris Jericho

Then we have Chris Jericho. One of the true greats who actually came from WCW, but spent most of his time representing the WWF. He was slightly lost in the shuffle at times, but would eventually come into his own during this period. He transformed from that midcard guy who could win the big one, but didn’t, to the main eventer we admire today. His main event encounter with The Rock is what catapulted him to greatness. Jericho would go on to defeat The Rock to become WCW Champion and eventually the Undisputed Champion. His time during the Invasion was less comedic than the others as his character developed. The payoff was also greater because we were able to witness his true purpose in the business and this is where it all began. Thanks Chris.

Stephanie McMahon

Last on this list is Stephanie McMahon. Yes, Jericho won his first true title, Booker T was WCW’s savior (I guess) and we got a few other goodies (I know there was plenty of bad), but oh my…Stephanie. She graced us with her breasts, I mean presence, on a weekly basis. She has since popped out 3 kids and is happily married to “The Chaperone”, but there was a magical time when she would wear things that gave me that good old-fashioned feeling…where I’d do anything to bone her. Jokes aside, thank you so much Stephanie 🙂

_____

That’s it really. I mean, there were some good matches, but most of you saw them and forgot them too. Now, the bad list could go on and on and on to the point I’m almost certain I would never finish writing that bad boy. Ok, maybe not that bad, but I got more than a few laughs and I was entertained in 2001 so I guess it was worth it. If I booked it (injuries and Time Warner contracts aside) it would have been the shit, but fuck all the fantasy booking. It happened, I remember it and I’m past it and hopefully this is the last time you will have to hear about WWF’s attempt to have WCW Invade which ended up being one big fail.

Thank you for reading, I for one enjoyed the Invasion Era. Hopefully I will get a part 2 which could be LONG where I discuss the bad…oh the bad. WHAT!?!?

  1. TKO
    May 21, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    D@MN, he put it on here. Shout out to Jcity. I sent this in to the TJR contest thing but I was waaaaay out of my league. I actually added more before I sent it to Jcity. I thought I took the contest serious but some people are real passionate writers. I just started. Me and my brother still talk about the Invasion angle. It was funny, it was out of nowhere. I still don’t get it. Yea, it was a fail but from the night after Mania to Survivor Series that year was crazy. If anybody found it interesting I’d do a Why It Failed hahaha Good lookin out again J, the added photos were a nice touch but thats what you do. I tried to bring back some of the fun times.

    INFAMOUS CREW

    • May 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

      I had to post it, when else would I have the oppurtunity to “research” Stephanie McMahon’s sweet glorious titties? I agree 100% on Steph, I used to have a major crush on that her especially when her chest just happened to grow 3times as big as they were before. I loved when Jericho would call her a trash bag hoe, lol.

      As for RVD, he was my favorite in the original ECW next to Sabu, Raven and Sandman. He was always amazing and finally got the exposure he needed in the WWE. His whole run was great to me, but I think he was on fire more so when he carried both the WWE and ECW Championships at the same time. I still think he is great in TNA and hasn’t missed a step. He also looks exactly like he did 10years ago so that helps his viability. If he ever went back to WWE there is no doubt in my mind that he will have a major title within a year. That time when he made a one time appearance at the Royal Rumble the crowd went fucking nuts.

      As for the TJR Writers Search I feel that not being picked was a blessing. If I did I would have probrably never started this site, let the other one stay shutdown, and went 100% face. Even though my columns would be a bit more focused since I wouldnt have anything to edit and shit, but I prefer “wrestling in the bingo halls” (which beats wrestling in high school gyms) than going mainstream (for now). I look at it as paying my dues.

      • May 21, 2011 at 10:37 pm

        Maybe I should have added a “What if Jcity was picked in the TJR Writer Search?” to my “What If” column…lol.

  2. Mr.Redlight
    May 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    go watch the surviver series invasion promo its one of the best promos ive ever seen honestly.

  3. Capt. Smooth
    May 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Great read, TKO! Also, I was at the lordsofpain forums and noticed that they shat on you over your post. I’m sorry about that. There are some things to tell you. Some of them can be douchebags, but if you stick around, it could get better. I’m not like that. I’ll be tactful.(not even on the site, just looking around) 1. Don’t have your first post be a plug. Do it naturally in conversation. 2. Get to know the audience first. 3. They are expecting to never show up again. Go back and tell them sorry and that you were just excited to get your music out there. If they are still assholes, screw them. 4. Go to other parts of the forum and chat as well. 5. Know that you are new and it will be a bit before they treat you differently. There was a new guy names “Mizfan” who started rough and now he’s one of the gang. 6. Keep the link, but put it in your sig. That way, you are not being pushy with the music, but it’s still there if anybosy is interested. Before you know it, you may have some fans on the site and you can even point them the way here.

    • May 21, 2011 at 11:07 pm

      LOP has a forum?

    • TKO
      May 21, 2011 at 11:24 pm

      good shyt man, fuck lordsofpain lol i was just bs’ing trying to plug that song. I get what you mean though. My loyalty remains on this site. I need to check that out though lol some ppl are funny. I’m glad you liked my lil piece. As far as lordsof pain or any forum I jumped on to promote that song for fun, they can shit on me all they want. without hate there is no love

      • Capt. Smooth
        May 21, 2011 at 11:35 pm

        Just remember that you can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.

    • TKO
      May 22, 2011 at 12:12 am

      hahaha I got banned, I’m happy for them

      • Capt. Smooth
        May 22, 2011 at 8:45 am

        You got banned for that? They’ve gone PG.

  4. Capt. Smooth
    May 21, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Yeah. Just google “lopforums”.

    • TKO
      May 22, 2011 at 12:01 am

      I went in on that site but I shouldn’t have…it was fun. They are a sensitive bunch I tell ya. I’m more laid back but I did enjoy the jabs…I wonder what they will say or if they will just ban me…like I give a fuck

      • Capt. Smooth
        May 22, 2011 at 8:47 am

        Yeah, they can be. When reading the posts after your original post, I noticed a Canton mention and had to do a double take.

  5. May 21, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Hey guys, don’t know If you got a chance but you should come check out my site to see my Over the Limit preview. Did it with my bro and it’s a fun back and forth, let us know what you think. Just click my name to check it out.

  6. TKO
    May 22, 2011 at 12:01 am

    Ace O. Hart :
    Hey guys, don’t know If you got a chance but you should come check out my site to see my Over the Limit preview. Did it with my bro and it’s a fun back and forth, let us know what you think. Just click my name to check it out.

    I did one too at http://tkotheprototype.blogspot.com, Ace, I’m going to check yours out right now

    • May 22, 2011 at 12:03 am

      Thats funny, I read yours earlier today when I saw it posted on twitter. Great read man!

  7. Capt. Smooth
    May 22, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Read your new stuff on the lopforums. If you ever do decide to go back, remember that bans aren’t forever. I’ve seen people come and go. Also, if you do, it would be potential publicity for this site.

  8. TKO
    May 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

    purely for jcity publicity but i dont think those sensitive pricks are welcome here. i made my point but didnt need to,remember,im the new guy lol guy said they are the best wrestling forum there is…drinkin they own kool aid.sugarless

    • Capt. Smooth
      May 22, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      Most of them are ok. It was the impression you gave, going on just to plug. That’s what turned them off. I wouldn’t have responded the way they did, though. Look at the political threads sometime. They can get NASTY.

      • May 22, 2011 at 5:53 pm

        I can get NASTY, I’m just waiting for someone to piss me off. I can’t stay a face or a tweener forever…..I must turn HEEL!!!

        • Capt. Smooth
          May 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm

          I’m gonna hold up a sign that reads “WHY JCITY WHY?”.

          • May 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

            Lol, because the Little Jimmys dont deserve my kindness haha.

            • Capt. Smooth
              May 24, 2011 at 7:57 pm

              Poophead!

  9. May 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Didn’t watch wrestling back then, but it gaves us good matches.

    • May 22, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      When did you start watching wrestling? You really know your shit I would asume you were watching forever.

  10. May 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Hey guys, were having an Over the Limit Contest over at the Twintalkwrestling blog. Winner gets a free Wrestlemania 26 DVD. Come check it out if you like winning free stuff. Really easy, just make the most correct predictions for Over the Limit. Click my name to go to the website. 

  11. TKO
    May 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    I learned my lesson with forums and I almost got nasty but it wasnt worth it. I hit them with some real talk but it wasnt necessary. it was a good experience to get some real hate. I got a few new comments on the cena song since so it did SOMETHING…lot of love, its weird to have…fans…thats dope. I’m nobody.

    I’m missing Over the Limit

    • Capt. Smooth
      May 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      Go to TJR or click on the superherohype forums(you don’t have to register, just browse). You can see real time reactions to the PPV and know whats going on.

      • May 23, 2011 at 12:04 am

        Here is my official Over The Limit Review….. Nothing of importance happened and no titles changed hands.

        The End.

        • TKO
          May 23, 2011 at 12:14 am

          I read about it. Orton and Christian had a good match but wow, nothing to look forward to. A long Cena vs Miz match of Miz and Riley dismantling Cena and he gets put in the STF for 5 seconds and quits?

          “you get beat down and pop up like nothin happened/you win a match look at the ratings…nothin happens” I was right

          • Capt. Smooth
            May 23, 2011 at 6:42 am

            They were probably just told to “wrap it up”.(or in Cena’s case, to “rap it up”)

  12. Max
    May 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

    Stephanie can get it. Fun list. I loved the Invasion, yes it could have been better but it was entertaining as hell.

  1. June 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Leave a Reply

