Home > Guest Blog, Impact Wrestling, The Modern Native, TNA > Random Thoughts About TNA’s Current Product… And A Bonus Rant! by The Modern Native

Random Thoughts About TNA’s Current Product… And A Bonus Rant! by The Modern Native

Random Thoughts About TNA’s Current Product… And A Bonus Rant! by The Modern Native

Edited by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ 

Ok, here’s how I’d like this to work, ideally. Hopefully, every two weeks, I can post one of these columns about my thoughts on the current product in TNA. I’m going to shoot for every two or three weeks, because doing one every week would get old fast, as alot of the storylines, shockingly, are long-term ones. The “Evolution of TNA” series is taking a hiatus currently, because I’m part of a new Cardiac Intensive Care Unit that my hospital is opening up next month. With that, my second job and going to school full-time, I can write a random thoughts piece much quicker than writing a drawn out, detailed piece such as the Evolution series. Hopefully in August things will have settled down for me and I can get back to it. Anyways, without further ado, here are some random thoughts that I’ve had from watching TNA the past few weeks. I seriously think that TNA is going in a great direction with a lot of things and most of these will be focused on the positive aspects of the company. I try not to get focused on the bad things because that hampers the enjoyment you can get out of watching. You don’t watch your favorite football team because they suck, you watch because one day, they’ll win. Let me know what you think at the end.

Hogan and Bischoff- I never thought I would say this, but I’m beginning to enjoy Bischoff and Hogan’s work in TNA. Without them “in control” we wouldn’t have Gunner (an untapped talent), the reinvention of the X Division, Fortune’s popularity and Bully Ray. Yes, you read that right, and I’ll get to all of them in due time. Say what you will, but very few people in this business are as good at drawing heat as Eric Bischoff is. The man has a way of saying things that just make you hate him. It’s no different from the Mr. McMahon character in WWE. You absolutely hate him, but without him, heroes wouldn’t be born. As that epic heel boss, whoever dethrones him will be remembered for years to come.

ODB back in TNA- Finally. I know that TNA has women that can wrestle. Mickie, Tara, Angelina, Velvet, Sarita, etc. However, there’s been little to no focus as of late on anyone who isn’t named Winter or Mickie James. With ODB back in the mix, things are almost certain to heat up. Look at the match she had with Velvet this week. Best women’s match on TV in recent memory. It’s not that TNA doesn’t have the talent anymore, they’ve just been waiting on that one person to come in and light the fire when the talent is already there.

Bully Ray- Give this man the World Title. I never ever thought I would say that. Bully has come into his own so well since setting off on his own, he deserves it. Name one man in TNA who has reinvented himself so well in the last 12 months. Whether talking on the mic or his antics in the ring, you love to hate this man. For example, when he came to the ring this week and chased Christy (who history remembers I strongly dislike) away. The hatred that spewed from his mouth was enough to convince you that he truly despised the woman and wanted to hurt her. You were on the edge of your seat, just waiting for someone to come shut him up. Bully Ray has worked so hard to get where he is in TNA, and he deserves every last bit of his push.

Abyss- While alot of people don’t like him as the X-Division Champ and even fewer like the poetic version of Abyss, I find him to be more scary than ever. Before, Abyss was handled by James Mitchell and told when to strike. Then, he recklessly destroyed anything that came in contact with him. Now, he’s almost evolved. He’s intelligent and tactical. As Don West used to say, the scary thing about Abyss was his tunnel vision. When he sets his sights on something, he gets it. Now, he’s smarter, more patient. You know what they say about the quiet, patient types. There’s a monster waiting, watching, planning their next attack.

Sting- For once in his championship reign, I’m interested in where Sting’s journey is headed. The closing moments of TNA showed a deranged, unstable man. The Sting we’ve come to know is patient, thoughtful and well spoken. The man we saw choke Anderson out was a sick, twisted, Joker-esque character. Considering the fact that Anderson is a tweener, this could mean that Sting is going into business for Sting now. Who knows who could be next. Face? Heel? For once in a long time, I’m interested in what’s going to happen at Slammiversary.

Long Term Booking- Sure, TNA has had bad luck, and worse business decisions that have shot them in the foot. However, for everyone that likes to say how much Russo changes his mind, look at some of the biggest feuds going in TNA right now. Angle/Jarrett. Winter/Love. Tara/Madison. Sting/Anderson. Crimson/Joe. TNA is, in my opinion, far superior at long-term planning than WWE. For those of you that disagree, remember when Alberto Del Rio was supposed to win the title at Royal Rumble? WrestleMania? Extreme Rules? At least TNA has continuity and remembers the past. I’m not saying that TNA is perfect in this regard because I know that they’re not, but to me, it seems like TNA is much more prepared for the long run, storyline wise. I’m excited to see how Abyss vs X-Division, the saga of Hogan and Bischoff, and what the blowoff to Winter and Love is going to be. I have hope for the little company that can.

I’ll close it on that. There’s a lot of things I could comment on, but I want to keep this a short opinion piece. Before I go, I do have to get on my soapbox for a minute. Be patient, let me rant. I may just say something that actually makes sense.

To every spoonfed WWE mark,

Please, quit drinking the corporate kool aid. You want to sit behind your keyboards and automatically shoot down anything that TNA does as dumb, washed up, or repeated. Guess what? WWE does the same stuff. You think TNA’s the only company to try and rehash the success of the Four Horsemen? Or to hire every cast away from another company? For God’s sakes, WWE brought in Perry Saturn from WCW and acted like he was the greatest thing since sliced bread, yet TNA signs Kurt Angle, and they’re somehow in the wrong? Seriously? If you were TNA, it’d be bad business NOT to hire the likes of Angle, RVD, Sting, Anderson or the Dudleys. Sometimes if a business venture drops into your lap, you have to take it. Don’t get to acting like WWE is better than that. News flash, they’re not. Oh, and another thing. Saying that TNA talks too much is like saying water’s wet. On average, TNA has more minutes devoted to wrestling than RAW each week. I love the people who say “TNA started out with a promo this week. Big surprise.” When was the last RAW that you can think of that started right away with a match? I’m not trying to rip on WWE, I’m really not. I enjoy both products, though TNA will always be my favorite. Both companies squander away amazing talent, make questionable decisions, and do things that leave fans dumbfounded. For everyone that says TNA does horrible business, WWE’s stocks are selling at less than half the cost that they were this time last year. To be completely realistic, TNA will never be as big as WWE, nor should they hope to be. You can’t fairly say that they don’t have the same quality production. That would be like saying that Rhode Island should have the same number of state representatives as California. Stop buying into what WWE feeds you to believe. For once, suspend belief in the mega monster, and take yourself back to a day when you didn’t care about size and reputation. Cheer for who you want. Boo who you want. And, for the love of God, be a fan again.

Until next time, this is The Modern Native, signing off…

  1. Mr.Redlight
    June 12, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    i think its smart bringin in someone and acting like there great. It helps get people behind them but oh well thats just me

    • June 12, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      TNA did it too, but he means with Kurt Angle its justifiable, its Kurt Fucking Angle, but Perry Saturn? He had some decent skills, but he was a low end midcarder in WWF after being a mid level midcarder in WCW. Moppy didn’t have shit on Mr. Socko.

      I bet if TNA had an inanimate object as a main prop they would get shitted on, but WWE does it and everybody loves it, lol. Double standards.

      • Mr.Redlight
        June 14, 2011 at 3:36 am

        lol the world is full of double standards sadly. lol perry saturn turned into a crack head!!!

  2. Capt. Smooth
    June 12, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Is that pic of Abyss him holding his toothbrush?

    • June 12, 2011 at 11:23 pm

      It could have been a sex toy, lol. Thats Janice and it will turn your skin into pulled pork like meat.

  3. June 12, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    I’m sorry I stopped reading after you praised Gunner. Him and Crismson bore me into hermaphroditic seziures and blindess.

    TNA sucks.

    I give it a chance almost every week and I’m never satisfied.

  4. June 12, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    WWE rocks.

    • June 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      It sure does, but its not the end all be all.

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 13, 2011 at 5:49 am

        Still better than Impact.

  5. June 13, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Impact was better than RAW last week.

    • June 13, 2011 at 10:47 am

      Really? Hmmm. Tonight’s RAW should be interesting. Fortunately it is 3-hours….I’m gonna miss that 3-HR block of WWE programming with TE gone.

  6. June 13, 2011 at 11:17 am

    I though it was, lol. Nobody believes me though, but yea, I’m hoping RAW will be good this week. 3 hours should do the trick. I think Kane goes after Del Rio tonight, but I read Big Show might come back tonight. I’m not sure if I will review it though. 3 hours is alot of writing.

  7. Brian
    June 13, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I like the article. Two weeks would be perfect. From a long time wrestling fan, TNA has a lot of problems. But one thing I can agree with you is Bully Ray. Where the fuck has this guy been? He could have been gold in the WWE with this new character.

    Without them “in control” we wouldn’t have Gunner (an untapped talent), the reinvention of the X Division, Fortune’s popularity and Bully Ray. Great quote, but without them, they would have never….changed the ring, brought in Waltman and Hall, wasted TNA money with moving to monday nights and going live.

    I’ve given these guys too many tries, and for not being into wrestling as much as I was, WWE si the best thing out there right now. I miss ECW.

    • The Modern Native
      June 13, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      See, I may be completely wrong about this, but I see this whole Bischoff and Hogan thing as part of some elaborate NWO style storyline. Remember when NWO first formed? People thought they were legit taking over WCW. Dixie may be naive about a lot of things, but I seriously doubt her parents would keep funding TNA if Hogan and Bischoff legitimately shoved her out the door and took over. Like I’ve said before, there’d be no Stone Cold if there wasn’t originally a Mr. McMahon character. TNA just hasn’t found that one guy yet that they feel can be the ‘saviour’ of TNA. TNA has made a ton of bad decisions. They’ve screwed up a lot of things, but what company hasn’t? As many bad mistakes as they’ve made, they’ve made some really good decisions, but people just don’t want to see that aspect.

      • Brian
        June 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

        I still dont see it like that. I think Bichoff is still around because he’s really good at producing a show. He has many reality tv series under his belt so thats why I think TNA keeps him around. Hogan is still thre because he’s a bullshitter and just bullshits his way to stay with the company for as long as he can. He’s a money and fame hog. The only way to keep his ass on TV is TNA. Guarantee if VH1 came to him and said “Lets do another reality show, but you’d have to leave TNA” Hogan would turn his back immediately on them.

        TNA will always be second to WWE. I’m sick of the impact zone and watching the same boring fans react to the same boring shit. Its like a D version of WWE and not original to say the least. At least when ECW was around it was original. It felt low quality, but something made you keep watching. Nothing makes me want to keep watching TNA.

        If I were TNA, I’d get rid of all the mid level ex-WWE wrestlers they have and focus on the TNA originals and start looking for some NEW Talent.

        Your right, they NEVER had the ONE guy….well joe used to be the IT guy till they totally changed his character. They’ll never find that IT guy either because it seems wrestlers rather sell they’re soul to work for the WWE rather than get they’re shot with TNA.

        I’d love to see TNA succeed, but it doesnt look like its going to happen anytime soon.

  8. Brian
    June 13, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    My suggestion to TNA, start doing what ECW used to do and take the shows on the road. Even if its just in the south. Just go to a different place rather than the impact zone. Get rid of all the old school wrestlers as well. No more Angle, no more Jarret, no more Stiener, and just focus on the talent left. Is it just me or does Angle always have some involvement with the title? Time to change it up again. I want to see Joe as champion again. I want to see some GOOD story lines that DONT involve “I cant talk worth a damn” Matt Hardy. I want to watch an interview with a guy backstage that I can actually hear him and not hear the crowd in the backround. I want to watcha conversation with two guys backstage where the cameraman is not hiding in the corner. Why they do these things, you got me.

    Question? Why was the cameraman asking Jarrett a bunch of questions on the last impact as Jarrett was leaving the building? Who the hell is the cameraman? He’s not a personality…he’s just a cameraman.

  9. The Modern Native
    June 13, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I’ll agree on most of that. I think TNA has an amazing group of homegrown wrestlers. All they have to do is push them. Roode, Joe, Styles, Daniels, Kazarian, MCMG, Abyss, Hernandez, and to a lesser extent Storm, EY, and Terry could build the base of a strong roster. TNA needs to focus more on the Originals.

    • June 13, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      I dont mind ex WWE guys in TNA. I dont even give a shit about the booking. I like what is presented to me on TV which is a slightly edgier product than WWE. I like half naked broads and wrestlers saying bitch, ass, bastard, prick, etc etc. I know Im easily amused, but TNA has never been bad as people make it out to be. They would usually complain about the company, but not the actual show.

  10. June 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    I just IP banned my first hater ever 🙂 Hi LT Anonymous you cant see me HAHAHAHA bitch.

  11. Faces of Solie
    June 13, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Hey, J. First time posting on the new site, but I like what I see. Keep it up, Infamous Crew.

  12. Capt. Smooth
    June 13, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Impact was better than RAW last week.

    Truth’s costume from RAW says otherwise.

    • June 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Velvet Sky’s booty shorts > R-Truth wearing a Confederate war uniform

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm

        I don’t know. Live, I’d take the shorts. On tv, Truth was just too random.

  13. Mr.Redlight
    June 14, 2011 at 3:35 am

    what i like is that on this site i can read a tna review that isnt one long rant. Nothin wrong with ranting mind you but every week it gets repetitive lol

    • June 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

      My review was over 5,000 words, lol. I need to learn how to make it shorter.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

