Home > Guest Blog, Random Thoughts, The Modern Native, WWE > Random Thoughts On WWE by The Modern Native

Random Thoughts On WWE by The Modern Native

Random Thoughts on WWE by The Modern Native

Edited by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ 

Guys, I’m going to try something. I’m going to try and do a random thoughts post every week. I’m going to alternate between the two major companies, so one week it’ll be TNA, the next it’ll be WWE. Hopefully, it won’t get boring that way, and I’ll get to share my thoughts on both companies. Now, to be fair, I only watch Raw, and very rarely catch SmackDown. I w atch Impact every single week, but occasionally I’ll miss a Raw. Every week that I do a WWE piece, I’ll be sure to definitely catch Raw, and I’ll try to at least catch the highlights of SmackDown. Much like the TNA side of this coin, I’ll try to only focus on the positives each company is doing and stray away from the negatives. Now, onto the meat and potatoes of this column…

Kelly Kelly- Personally, I’ve always liked Kelly. She may have been hired for the Extreme Expose, but you could tell she’s wanted to improve since day one. Even in WWECW, she started taking dance lessons immediately to get better in the role she was given. Her in-ring career started off horribly, but over the past 12 months or so, you can tell she’s really worked hard to improve in the ring. I think she’s much more deserving of the belt than the Bellas. She may not be a Beth Phoenix or Natalya, but it’s a step in the right direction.

R-Truth- A lot of people are jumping on the R-Truth bandwagon recently. I’ve noticed there were a lot of people whining and complaining when he turned heel and started getting a push. Now, everybody loves him. He may not have always been the most exciting face, but if you track back to his time in TNA, he’s more than capable of running with the ball on either side of the spectrum. R-Truth has the skills and desire to lead a company forward, and I think WWE needs to give him a run with at least one of the secondary titles. Let him shine with a belt around his waist, and I think he could really go far.

CM Punk- If what Punk says is true, and he’s leaving WWE in July, the WWE needs to pull the trigger on a belt change. Punk deserves one last title victory. As a bonus, it’d be the perfect way to get the belt off Cena without damaging his credibility. Punk’s a proven competitor, and he deserves to go out on top in his hometown. For everything Punk’s done for the WWE, they should give him one last hurrah.

The WWE Title picture- WWE could hold a tournament for the recently vacated belt (according to Punk winning.) Cena, Mysterio, Del Rio, Big Show, R-Truth, The Miz, Jack Swagger, and Kofi Kingston could be participants. I’d set up the bracket to look like this:

Mysterio vs Del Rio – Del Rio wins with his cross armbreaker, giving him back some credibility.

Cena vs Jack Swagger – Of course, Cena wins in a throw away match.

R-Truth vs Big Show- R Truth picks up a cheap victory after interference from Mark Henry.

The Miz vs. Kofi Kingston – Kofi gets a win by roll up when Alex Riley appears on the ramp distracting Miz.

Cena vs R-Truth – Cena makes R-Truth tap out to the STF.

Del Rio vs Kofi Kingston- Del Rio makes Kofi tap in a clean victory.

Cena vs Del Rio is booked for SummerSlam for the vacant WWE Title. During the match, The Rock comes out and stands on the apron, taunting Cena. In the moment Cena and the ref are distracted, Del Rio hits Cena in the shoulder with the belt, locks on the cross armbreaker, and Cena passes out under the pain. The ref has no choice but to award Del Rio the belt. Del Rio’s the champ, Cena still looks strong, Rock is still in the picture, several feuds are continued, and Cena doesn’t carry the belt during his feud with The Rock. Everybody wins.

With that small bit of fantasy booking, I’ll end it there for this week. Let me know what you guys think.

 

Until next time, this is The Modern Native, signing off…

  1. samsamsam
    June 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I like the logic but i honestly can’t see Vince doing something that simple and creative, who knows it might be a tournament similar to tna’s bound for glory one going on until survivor series but somehow i see us getting ripped off with cena just retaining the belt by making punk tap out

    • June 21, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      I dont think WWE would give Punk the championship if he is leaving, but if Punk wins then it should be safe to assume that he will stick around and that he was playing the WWE into giving him this match in his hometown. For once a John Cena PPV main event has some intrigue because I really don’t know what the hell is going to happen. Unpredictability is good because it rarely ever happens anymore. I do like the tournament though. I keep reading about John Cena vs Del Rio at SummerSlam but how will they get there?

      And I think Kofi Kingston wins the RAW MITB.

      • June 21, 2011 at 8:19 pm

        The popular theory today is that Punk is gonna win the title, and then Del Rio will cash in his MIB briefcase to win the title from Punk.

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:23 pm

          I really hope that’s not the way they set up the rumored Cena vs Del Rio match. All that means is Cena wins at SummerFest. FUCK!!!!!

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

            It’s ok. It could’ve been Cole.

            • June 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm

              Cole is a great wrestler and an even greater dancer.

              • Capt. Smooth
                June 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

                true

                • Mr.Redlight
                  June 25, 2011 at 2:15 am

                  michael cole is gods gift to dancers everywhere

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    June 25, 2011 at 10:57 am

                    Dancing With the Stars?

  2. June 21, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Good stuff Modern Native. I hope Punk does go out on top in Chicago. I’ll be there cheering for him.

    Now it’s plug time…my RAW Comments!

    http://howiwouldbookit.blogspot.com/2011/06/raw-comments-06202011.html

    • June 21, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      I don’t think Punk wins, but if he does leave, the Chicago cheers will turn him face on the way out so when and if he comes back he will be a face. Another thing. WWE is using his real life contract issues in a storyline which lead me to believe he resigned with them.

      • June 21, 2011 at 8:21 pm

        I hope Punk breaks kayfabe at the end of the night if he is leaving. By the way, Jericho’s last PPV match was also in Chicago….is a trend starting?

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:24 pm

          Makes Bret Hart wish Survivor Series 97 took place in the windy city, lol.

          • June 21, 2011 at 8:31 pm

            lol. Speaking of Bret, have you noticed how Punk’s storyline is really similar to the real-life storyline going into the ’97 Survivor Series? We need Earl Hebner for this match!

            • June 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

              Lol, or his brother. Hebner has an identical twin if I’m not mistaken.

              • Capt. Smooth
                June 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

                Yeah, they got into a fight when Andre “beat” Hogan.

  3. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I wouldn’t mind Punk taking the belt, only to lose it to the MITB winner…Zack Ryder!

    I thought of something with the Kofi/Ziggler match. Kofi should be champion. Even though Ziggler got DQ’d, that was his second loss in the 2/3 falls match. The belt is rightfully Kofi’s.

    • June 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Holy shizzballs, why the fuck did that thought cross my mind? CM Punk can win and the MITB winner cashes in right there and then. That makes sense. The winner can also cash in on the tournament winner if the tournament was done in one night like the old King Of The Rings. Kofi needs an edge and maybe a cheap MITB cash in will do the trick even though I do think he is better as a face and a heel turn might be bad for him and I dont usually ever say that about faces.

      • Mr.Redlight
        June 25, 2011 at 2:15 am

        oh radio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • Capt. Smooth
          June 25, 2011 at 10:58 am

          I’d mark!

  4. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    The only way I would want Punk to beat Cena is if he really stays and replaces the spinner design with the Pepsi logo.

    • June 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      That would be pretty damn funny if he did that. Punk is one of the few I actually see changing the championship into a more traditional style. He just has that old school vibe. I think he could fit in well in any WWE era.

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 21, 2011 at 8:27 pm

        I doubt he would do well in sumo.

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

          WWE never had a sumo era unless you mean Yokozuna’s championship reign.

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 21, 2011 at 8:41 pm

            Just joking.

  5. June 21, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Capt. Smooth :
    I thought of something with the Kofi/Ziggler match. Kofi should be champion. Even though Ziggler got DQ’d, that was his second loss in the 2/3 falls match. The belt is rightfully Kofi’s.

    I know if it was an iron man match and that was the deciding fall right before the time limit, Kofi would have been champ but I don’t know if Iron Man rules are the same for 2/3 falls matches.

    • Capt. Smooth
      June 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      It would still be 2 falls to one for Kofi. I don’t know.

      • June 21, 2011 at 8:41 pm

        Kofi did win, but a title cannot change hands on a disqualification.

        • Capt. Smooth
          June 21, 2011 at 8:42 pm

          Bit due to it being Kofi’s second win in a 2 out of 3 falls match, Kofi won.

          • June 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

            Yes, he won the match, but since it was a DQ no title changed hands.

            • Capt. Smooth
              June 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

              He won the second and third matches. It says 2 out of 3 falls, not how you win those falls, so it shouldn’t matter.

              • Capt. Smooth
                June 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

                Now, if it were a one fall match, then I’d agree.

  6. June 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    I really hope that’s not the way they set up the rumored Cena vs Del Rio match. All that means is Cena wins at SummerFest. FUCK!!!!!

    That’s just the talk from the fans not the dirtsheets….it’s just something I have read so take it with a grain of salt.

    • June 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

      I wanna know who the hell started the Del Rio vs Cena SummerSlam match rumor. Everyone is talking about it like its actually gonna happen. Remember when Wade Barrett was going to face Undertaker at Wrestlemania? Well that didn’t happen so I don’t believe any rumored matches until I see it with my own eyes.

  7. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Honestly, I wish Cena would lose soon. It’s not because I’m bored with him or anything, but due to what I’m hearing about him working hurt. If anybody deserves a breather, it’s him.

    • June 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      Hey Undertaker wrestled Mankind in Hell in a Cell with a broken foot. Undertaker once wrestled with broken ribs (according to Triple H’s pre-WM promo). Oh and what about Shawn Michaels? He was barely medically cleared to compete at WM14. I’m suggesting it’s good to compete while hurt but Cena really has no choice if he wants to be known as a top five worker in WWE history.

      • June 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

        oops…I meant I’m NOT suggesting it’s good to compete while hurt.

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 21, 2011 at 8:36 pm

        Damn anti-weed stance!

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

          Biggest weed lover in WWE is Randy Orton. He was forced to switch to synthetic weed like K2 and Spice, but now those are banned too. Melina smokes too.

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 21, 2011 at 8:49 pm

            I heard Bourne does.

    • June 21, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      I’ve read about his nagging injuries and that dispite the injuries he never complains to anyone about them. he needs to take a break or risk fucking up the Wrestlemania money match.

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

        I heard he had a degree in fitness biology. Maybe he knows how much he can take?

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

          Maybe he found the secret to not feel pain…it would explain why he doesn’t sell.

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 21, 2011 at 9:01 pm

            Or he’s a god?

  8. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Layla out for 8 1/2 months 😦

    • June 21, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      Don’t tell me she’s pregnant too…

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm

        Torn ACL.

        • June 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

          I forgot about that. Without Michelle McCool by her side she would have sucked anyways.

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 22, 2011 at 5:57 am

            I wish. 🙂

            • June 22, 2011 at 11:15 pm

              I would take a sucky from her anytime, even at the expense of marriage, lol.

              • Capt. Smooth
                June 23, 2011 at 6:20 am

                Considering I’m not married, I don’t have that problem. lol

  9. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Randy!

  10. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Riley!

  11. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Jimmy!

    • June 21, 2011 at 9:01 pm

      Lol. That was a slightly amusing RAW moment.

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 21, 2011 at 9:02 pm

        That was classic! I kept on thinking “Rabbit season!” “Duck season!”

  12. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :Lol, first time I hear of this.

    It pissed me when I was a kid!

  13. June 21, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Lol, first time I hear of this.

    I remember hearing about that match. I have that match on DVD. What happened was that the “official” ref was locked in the closet or something and the “fake” ref screwed Hulk Hogan. Jericho wrote about it in his first book. He said he was at work (at a Deli or something) and couldn’t watch the match (he was like 15 years old at the time). His friend ran in and told Jericho about how there was a second ref who screwed Hogan. Jericho wrote that he got really upset after hearing that.

  14. Capt. Smooth
    June 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Night, folks!

  15. Max
    June 22, 2011 at 3:14 am

    I like random thoughts. Nice short read. Good to see a balance between articles on the site.

    • June 22, 2011 at 10:26 am

      It was a short read…maybe too short but it was good. Like JCITY has said, not every article needs to be an epic 2,000 word piece. Sometimes it is harder to write a short article than a long article.

      • The Modern Native
        June 22, 2011 at 5:23 pm

        I’m going to try and make these a little longer in the future. I didn’t have very much time on my hands Monday night, and just wanted to get it out. I have a few ideas for longer columns, some not wrestling related, and I’ll be working on those. I’m glad you guys like my writing though. Thanks!

        • June 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm

          Just write what feels right to you. If its short or super long then so be it.

          • Capt. Smooth
            June 23, 2011 at 2:21 pm

            That’s what she said.

  16. Chadam
    June 22, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Punk leaving with the title would be a good way of redesigning the belt.

  17. June 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Lol…has anyone seen this yet?

    • June 22, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      I don’t get it. Are Bugs and Daffy supossed to represent Ted and Cody?

      • June 22, 2011 at 6:57 pm

        Nevermind I didn’t realize it was a gif.

        That’s funny.

  18. June 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Shaman’s Harvest :
    I don’t get it. Are Bugs and Daffy supossed to represent Ted and Cody?

    What are you trying to say? Cody Rhodes looks like a duck?

    • Capt. Smooth
      June 22, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      Classic!!!

      • June 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

        Lmao, Smooth just said that promo reminded him off that yesterday. What a coincidence.

        • Capt. Smooth
          June 23, 2011 at 6:22 am

          I heard other people saying it. *shifts eyes in a guilty way*

    • June 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

      Yes, and Miz looks like a goldfish too.

  19. June 22, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    hey I created a John Cena vs. CM Punk video…check it out and make sure you watch the whole thing.

    • Capt. Smooth
      June 22, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      Love the music!

      • June 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

        Watch WWE use that song for the video packages for that match.

        • June 22, 2011 at 10:30 pm

          I’m not sure if they own the rights to that song but I’m sure they have a song(s) that will make their video packages feel epic.

          • June 22, 2011 at 11:22 pm

            They can afford any rights they want and WWE is known to steal ideas from me and those associated with me. I will repost the Miz fiasco soon to further prove my point.

            • June 23, 2011 at 10:20 am

              I’m convinced they stole my finish to the Truth-Cena match and for some reason they felt it would make sense as the finish to the Orton-Christian match. Fuckers!

              • June 23, 2011 at 12:46 pm

                Lol, creative is said to be burnt out. I wouldnt be surprised if the next RAW was a collection of stolen ideas from the IWC.

                • Capt. Smooth
                  June 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

                  They say Vince is constantly changing his mind about things and people are walking on eggshells.

  20. Capt. Smooth
    June 22, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    A tornado just came within a mile from me here in Louisville! I think I’m alive. If not, nice knowing all you guys!(and girls) Thanks, J!

    • June 22, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Damn, we had a tornado like 5 miles away a few weeks ago. The weather this year has been crazy and scientist say that it will only get worse.

    • The Modern Native
      June 23, 2011 at 1:31 am

      Seriously?! What part of 502? That’s my hometown, and my family all still lives over there…

      • Capt. Smooth
        June 23, 2011 at 6:26 am

        Highlands section of Louisville is where I am. Shively was hit badly. Churchill Downs was damaged. They said horses could be seen running lose. That’s all I know.

  21. Capt. Smooth
    June 23, 2011 at 6:17 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Then maybe Kofi should go heel and claim he got screwed.

    Maybe, he could join in the whole Randy-Riley-Jimmy thing and ad Ziggy! to it?

  22. June 23, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Drew McIntyre’s being screwed too! Sending him to Raw was a career Kill Shot.

    • June 23, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Zack Ryder got screwed too. He wasn’t on the RAW in Long Island. Also, he’s the Internet Champion and he wasn’t apart of Raw is Internet. What the fuck?!

      • June 23, 2011 at 12:43 pm

        RAW was text, lol. Instead of a dance off Vickie and Cole should have had a live TEXT celebration.

    • June 23, 2011 at 12:44 pm

      Wow. I forgot he was even on RAW.

  23. Capt. Smooth
    June 23, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    He’s SATAN.

    Quit talking about Punk that way!

  24. June 23, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    RAW was text, lol. Instead of a dance off Vickie and Cole should have had a live TEXT celebration.

    Damn…you’re right. Can’t blame the internet fans…it’s the Texting Wrestling Community’s fault!

    • June 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      They cant do anything right. IWC should put their differences aside and go to war with the texters, lol.

  25. June 23, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Capt. Smooth :

    They say Vince is constantly changing his mind about things and people are walking on eggshells.

    I think Vince would respect them more if they manned up and told him his ideas sucked.

    • Capt. Smooth
      June 23, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      One word: FIRED!!!

  26. May 21, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.Raleigh Roofing, 3221 Durham Dr., #101-C, Raleigh, NC 27603 – (919) 701-6300

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

