Home > Review, Smackdown, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™, WWE > Brief Thoughts On Friday Night Smackdown 7/22/11

Brief Thoughts On Friday Night Smackdown 7/22/11

Brief Thoughts On Friday Night Smackdown 7/22/11

by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™

I didn’t get to watch Smackdown until this morning, so I went with the Brief Thoughts format since I wanted to have this up before I crashed and had alcohol infused dreams. Hopefully it’s up to par with all the other Brief Thoughts posts I have posted this week and if not, then don’t blame me, blame the motherfucking Hennessy. I have already said more than I should have, so let’s get right to it. 

The show opened up with Randy Orton demanding his championship rematch against Christian, which Teddy Long wouldn’t grant him on this particular episode since Orton was already scheduled to face Kane in a Street Fight. Thank goodness for that because I’m starting to get bored with seeing Christian and Orton bitch and moan over the World Heavyweight Championship. Back when I was rooting for Christian to win the title, he was an underdog type face character. A character that you just wanted to see overcome all the odds put in front of him as he realized his dreams of being on top of the profession he has been in for over 17 years. Now, he’s nothing more than a whiny little prick. His current championship reign doesn’t feel prestigious and I really feel that Christian deserves a whole lot better than this. They could have easily amped up the heelish tendencies in Randy Orton and made this feud work. Fans would have still loved Orton no matter what and Christian would have had a formidable opponent so when he did win the title for a second time it would have felt like a bigger accomplishment. Instead, he gets kicked in the balls and is awarded the championship by default. BOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! I’m not feeling Christian’s heel turn at all. I know WWE wants to further his feud with Orton by any means necessary and I’ve loved their interaction as of late, but it’s time for some new blood in the main event scene. I’m starting to get sick and tired of Orton vs Christian month after month after month. The matches are good and all, but for fucks sake give me a goddamn fresh feud already. This is starting to reek of Kofi Kingston vs Dolph Ziggler. I know some of you might say that there’s no one else that is worthy and to that I say, who’s fucking fault is that? The WWE Creative Team gets paid good money to be creative, so why the fuck are they not producing bigger stars at a faster pace?

Moving on, the Christian vs Ezekiel Jackson match was pretty damn good even though the crowd was dead for most of it. If I do say so myself, it might have just been the best match of Ezekiel Jackson’s career and not just because Christian carried him, no, it was because it was evenly paced and both men put forth a good effort. Of course Christian won, but an upset by Big Zeke could have put him in line for a championship shot in the future. I guess it’s too soon to make the World Heavyweight Champion look weak, but they already did that by having him win the championship in such a cheap manner that it wouldn’t have made any difference. C’mon Smackdown Creative Team, think outside the box for once. Your colleagues over at RAW are finally starting to use their damn brains for once in their lives so I know it can be done.

Anyways, a very well-edited Cody Rhodes video package was shown highlighting his growth from “Dashing” to the paper bag loving, clear mask wearing, ain’t nothing wrong with your goddamn face so cut the bullshit already character he has developed in the last few months. I thought it was cool, but the lack of Cody Rhodes in the ring is a motherfucking travesty.

Daniel Bryan cut a promo promising to cash in his newly won Money In The Bank briefcase. I must have been the only one on the planet to correctly predict that Daniel would go on to win the Smackdown MITB match so I deserve a BARRY HOROWITZ STYLE PAT ON THE BACK!!!!!! So yea, Daniel said that he would cash in his MITB contract at Wrestlemania 28 and secure himself a spot in the main event. Usually, I would believe Danielson, but let’s face it, every single person that has said they will wait until Wrestlemania to cash in has lied. Mr. Kennedy, lied (and lost his briefcase to Edge like the stupid asshole that he is), Edge, lied, The Miz, lied, so I expect Daniel to cash in a whole lot sooner than Wrestlemania 28. To me, giving a specific date is like a jedi mind trick, the champion, whoever it may be at the time, will let their guard down thinking Daniel is a man of his word, then BAAAAAM MOTHERFUCKER, they end up finding themselves laid out on the mat, staring at the lights as the referee counts to three and Daniel celebrates the culmination of all his hard work throughout the years. I wouldn’t mind if he did wait until Wrestlemania 28 to cash in, but I personally think that his best work is when he is a ruthless heel, so I also wouldn’t mind if he was nothing but a filthy dirty liar like all the other MITB briefcase holders before him. Time will tell with this one, but if I was the World Heavyweight Champion, I would watch my back at all times because Daniel… well, HE’S COMING FOR YOU NIGGA!!!!!

Daniel went on to have a fun little match against Heath Slater, which he won. Heath is now 0-2 in singles competition after splitting up his tag team with Justin Gabriel. He needs to find a new tag team partner or a new gimmick quick because if he keeps losing he will just end up becoming way more expendable than he already is. If all else fails then he should open up a YouTube account and get his Zack Ryder on. Heath is the last hope for Ginger kids all around the world, so I would hate to see him get future endeavoured.

A RAW Rebound was shown highlighting the historic ending of Monday Night RAW where Triple H relieved Vince McMahon of his duties as the Chairman of the WWE. If you didn’t read my thoughts on this monumental episode of RAW already then click the damn link. If not, then I understand and I fucking hate you too.

After the RAW Rebound, Smackdown regained control of their own show and gave us a spectacular big man brawl between Sheamus and Wade Barrett. What started off as a highly physical wrestling match ended up being an all out brawl as these two heels went toe to toe to prove their dominance over each other. They both got counted out, but they didn’t give a fuck and just keep beating each others asses until Sheamus ended up laying Wade out with a Brogue Kick. I loved this and I feel that both of these men will keep beating each others asses until either Sheamus turns face or they both end up gaining a new-found respect for one another and end up forming some type of alliance that will go on to dominate Smackdown.

The main event was up next as Randy Orton faced Kane in a Street Fight. One thing I hate about Street Fights is that IT NEVER ENDS UP IN THE FUCKING STREET!!!!! It’s false advertisement and everyone that attended the event should be able to sue WWE for lying to them. Anyways, this was an awesome fucking match. Both men went harder than a motherfucker and kept me thoroughly entertained. The action spilled to the ringside area where there was a funny spot when Kane was going to chokeslam Orton off the announce table and Orton ended up tilting the table over and busting his ass which I found to be unintentionally hilarious. Orton ended up winning the match with a RKO on a steel chair. Kane then shook Randy Orton’s hand in a sign of respect which is an extremely rare thing for Kane to do, but after the grueling match both men just had, it was more than well deserved.

Kane’s knee was hurt pretty bad after Orton had smashed it with the steel steps, so after the match when Mark Henry came out I already had an idea of where this was going. At the Money In The Bank PPV, Henry broke Big Show’s leg by wrapping it in a steel chair and then crashing his fat ass into it. I think Kane knew what was going to happen too, so he took the fight straight to Henry, but he was spent after the highly physical match he had against Orton and was no match for the much fresher Henry who ended up doing the same thing he did to Big Show to Kane and as a result Kane suffered a fractured fibula, which will keep him out of the ring for at least three months. While the WWE Universe voiced their displeasure at the events which unfolded, I cheered Henry on as I have enjoyed his unstoppable path of destruction. If this doesn’t lead to a World Heavyweight Championship Match, then I don’t know what will.

Like RAW this week, Smackdown was heavy on the wrestling and light on all the other bullshit. All matches were timed well and everyone put forth their best efforts. This has been the most wrestling heavy week in quite some time in the WWE and I have been enjoying every second of the hard-hitting action. Hopefully they can keep providing such high quality shows on a consistent basis. Fuck the soap opera theatrics, WWE was built on the wrestling and the wrestling should always be the main draw of all WWE programing.

I hope you have enjoyed this week of Brief Thoughts. I got to cover every show this week from Monday Night RAW, Impact Wrestling and Smackdown, which I rarely do because I tend to write long ass reviews which leave me burnt out by the time the next show comes along. Notably absent are all the pics I usually use. While I will not abandon the usage of images, I just wanted to let my writing do the talking for me this week. Thank you for reading.

*Fades2Black*

  1. July 23, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Nice!

    And yes i hate when they never end up in the fucking street!

    • July 23, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      I think they should all start in the street and then work their way to the ring. Or at least have on street clothes or something. If it stays in or near the ring it’s just a glorified No Disqualification Match.

  2. Capt. Smooth
    July 23, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Orton had another Bushwhacker moment. Now, all he needs is to do the walk to the ring.

    • Mike Brazil
      July 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Damn, the Bushwackers? Talk about old school. Barry Horowitz second greatest jobber of all time.

      • Capt. Smooth
        July 23, 2011 at 12:15 pm

        I’d say it’s a toss up between Horowitz and Brooklyn Brawler.

        • Mr.Redlight
          July 23, 2011 at 4:52 pm

          iron mike sharpe!!!!!!!!!!!!

          • Capt. Smooth
            July 23, 2011 at 8:10 pm

            Add him as well.

            • July 23, 2011 at 11:53 pm

              I noticed the Bushwhacker-esque tongue swagging he’s starting to do. I had it on the background for a bit but it started to creep me out, lol.

              • Capt. Smooth
                July 24, 2011 at 9:20 am

                I hope there’s a gif of him falling into the table.

  3. Ana_ZackPack
    July 23, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I’m so mad that Kane is injured. DAMN IT.

    • Capt. Smooth
      July 23, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      Yeah, he’s been hurting for quite a bit.

      • July 23, 2011 at 11:54 pm

        With all the big men being destroyed Mark Henry is now the most dominant man on the Smackdown roster.

        • Capt. Smooth
          July 24, 2011 at 9:21 am

          I think you forget Yoshi Tatsu.

  4. Omega
    July 23, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Don’t forget about Iron Mike Sharpe! Good review despite the alcohol, I like the Bryan/Heath Slater match. I can’t stand Slaters look for some reason. He looks like a crab because of the spray on tan with the ginger hair. I have doubts about the Mark Henry “push”. They do this thing with Mark every three years when he destroys everything in sight. And then they find a golden boy to push make Henry “job” to this guy and turns him into a temporary jobber until the Royal Rumble match. Why are they destroying all of their guys? They put like 3 guys on the shelf in the last week.
    Thats it for me

    • July 23, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      From what I read they have legit injuries that have been nagging them for sometime. Same thing with Cena, but he’s too proud to ask for time off. If they are building Henry up just to get other people over then they should at least give him some type of championship if not the World then the IC will be good enough. Whoever beats him will go over huge. I hope its a smaller wrestler too and not a Sheamus or Wade Barrett.

  5. July 23, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Smackdown was great this week. The main event was awesome.

    It’s nice to see the focus on Daniel Bryan instead of Cody Rhodes and his always depressed looking boring ass butt buddy, Ted DiBiase.

    And I like the idea of Sheamus and Wade Barrett forming a big man UK tag team. I always wanted Sheamus and Drew McIntyre to form a team and totally dominate the divison, but it would work with Wade Barrett too.

    These young/new UK guys can do no wrong in my opinon, I can’t say the same for all the young Mexican/American guys (Del Rio, Cody, and Miz).

  6. July 23, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Barrett, Sheamus, McIntyre >>>>> Miz, Del Rio, Rhodes

    • Mr.Redlight
      July 23, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      would be a good six man match. Hell even a fued with north america vs the u.k. lol.

    • July 24, 2011 at 12:01 am

      I bet you think all European guys should form a stable and all the Black guys should form a stable and have a good ol racial war with each other. Lol, hey, it worked in the Attitude Era…

  7. TKO
    July 23, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I actually watched smackdown on tv in its regualr timeslot…yea, nothing to do on a friday (had my kids though) main event was long but never really that good to me

    • July 24, 2011 at 12:05 am

      Ever since me and wifey moved in together I find myself at home on Friday nights more often than not, but fuck that shit, I had to go old school this week and take my ass to a party. All the hoes missed me too, but that’s another story for another day, lol.

  8. July 23, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    I’m not sure if you are a YouTube IWC fan or not but this guy from “The Wrestling Gurus” also predicted Daniel Bryan and compared DB’s win to Punk’s WM24 MitB win.

  9. July 23, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Tony Kegger :
    I’m not sure if you are a YouTube IWC fan or not but this guy from “The Wrestling Gurus” also predicted Daniel Bryan and compared DB’s win to Punk’s WM24 MitB win.

    But theres tons of people doing that, theres bound to be one person to get it right.

    • July 24, 2011 at 12:07 am

      I have no idea who that is. I rarely ever watch fan videos online.

      • July 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm

        You should check out The Wrestling Gurus. They do live reactions of every PPV. Their Live Reactions to Money in the Bank was like 53 minutes and their reaction to the Punk-Cena match was like 23 minutes. They also have posted live reactions to the Epic CM Punk promo. It’s cool stuff…I’ve been watching their Live Reactions since the middle of 2009.

        • July 25, 2011 at 1:17 am

          53 minutes of just watching a fan react to something is too long for me. I rather just read opinions which is like 5 mins tops.

  10. July 23, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    WrestlingRambles.com :

    Tony Kegger :
    I’m not sure if you are a YouTube IWC fan or not but this guy from “The Wrestling Gurus” also predicted Daniel Bryan and compared DB’s win to Punk’s WM24 MitB win.

    But theres tons of people doing that, theres bound to be one person to get it right.

    Yeah…I’ll give JCITY credit. I’ll admit I kinda laughed at him when I read he predicted Daniel Bryan. Kudos to him for being right. I thought for sure a heel was winning the SD MITB match. It’s too bad he wasn’t right about the RAW match. I would have liked to see Kofi win but everyone knew Del Rio would win.

    • July 23, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      I used to like Del Rio, my first wrestling column ever was about him, but he’s been shoved down our throats so much now he’s just annoying.

      • July 24, 2011 at 12:09 am

        Del Rio was soooooo predictable that I thought WWE might go another direction with it. Oh well. I hope Del Rio holds on to the case for a while because the WWE Championship picture is too crowded at the moment. Cena still has a rematch, Punk is the champion but is not at the same time, then there’s The Miz and Rey Mysterio. Monday should be good and I have a feeling CM Punk will be in the house.

        • July 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm

          It is so obvious that Del Rio will cash in Monday Night. I’ll be shocked if he doesn’t. Rey is gonna have a really short title reign. I hope I’m wrong because the last thing the WWE needs is to be really predictable again.

          • July 25, 2011 at 1:13 am

            I dont think he will. It would have been more predictable if he did it last week after the tournament winner would have been at his weakest. I think he holds it for a few months.

  11. Rob
    July 24, 2011 at 1:10 am

    J, now that Canton is doing a week in review column I think you should bring back WHAT? so there can be one on here too.

    • July 24, 2011 at 2:58 am

      I write what I write so I try to not let what everyone else is doing affect my writing. I don’t write things so I can keep up with other people, I write whatever the fuck I want to write about so good for whoever is doing whatever, I don’t see what it has to do with me.

      Maybe I’ll start with the week in reviews again, but if I do, its not because someone else is doing it, its because that’s what I really want to do. I have covered every show this week so it wont happen this week. It might not happened at all.

      If and when I get bored with writing about wrestling, I will turn this into a site featuring nothing but hot females and post all the big booty and huge tittied hookers my heart can possibility desire. Until then just enjoy the ride because it may not last much longer……

      • July 25, 2011 at 1:52 am

        Or you could start doing fake interviews too. This entire site should be nothing but fake interviews and the saga of Justin Gabriel’s people living with all the money they now have.

  12. David
    July 24, 2011 at 4:12 am

    WHAT!?!?

  13. Rob
    July 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I’m all for the ass and the tits and I’m surprised you haven’t bought that stuff over to this site. I think you should post it if you want to but thats just me I guess and don’t quit the writing man. I really think you can be just as good as any other wrestling writer there is and that includes John Canton.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

