Home > Ace Hart, Ace Hart’s Mid-Year Rankings, WWE > Ace Hart’s Mid-Year Rankings Part 1 by Ace Hart

Ace Hart’s Mid-Year Rankings Part 1 by Ace Hart

Ace Hart’s Mid-Year Rankings Part 1 by Ace Hart

Edited by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ 

As CM Punk would say… I’mmmmm baaaacccckkkk! My life’s been a crazy roller coaster recently, but I’m very excited to finally have some spare time to write. Everyone knows how much I love putting together my rankings articles, but I wanted to do something special for my return other than my usual top 5 / bottom 5 lists. So I decided to do a 7 part entire roster ranking (I have 51 superstars in all to rank). Each article will retroactively cover each month of 2011 dating all the way back to January and ending in July.

However, I didn’t know if I could objectively do these rankings. So while talking to my brother and some close friends, I came up with my own fun math equation in order to give what I felt was an “unbiased’ view into the rankings of all 51 Superstars I included on this list. I’m cautious about sharing the math equation with you because if you wanted to, you could just go and review for yourself and figure out who ranks where, but I assure you it was a very tedious task. I’ll put the exact point system I went with below, as long as you guys promise not to peek back at past results and add them up for yourself. Everyone hands in the air and repeat after me. “I, (Insert name here), do solemnly swear to not look into past WWE matches and remain in the dark regarding the Retroactive Rankings.” Alright, so we have a deal. The point system is below:

Each TV Appearance on Raw or Smackdown (no matches, just apperances): 2 Points

Each TV Match on Raw or Smackdown: 5 Points

PPV Match: 10 Points

PPV Win: 15 Points

PPV Main Event Match: 15 Points

PPV Main Event Win: 20 Points

Wrestlemania Match:15 Points

Wrestlemania Win: 20 Points

Tag Title Win: 10 Points

U.S. or IC Title Win: 20 Points

World Heavyweight or WWE Title Win: 25 Points

Royal Rumble Win: 20 Points

MITB Winner: 20 Points

So that’s my complete list of the points that go towards these rankings. I figure they’ll add to some fun debates and a few surprises. Of course, each month there’s sure to be guys that get 0 points, but that’ll even itself out as we go along. With that being said, let’s get to the list for January 2011!

“The Jobbers”

51. Primo (0 Points): Did you know you can get an “Action Figure” set of him and Carlito at Target for only 13 bucks?! What a deal!

50. Goldust (0 Points): Apparently he’s close to making his on-screen return sometime in August. So, that’s something…

49. Curt Hawkins (0 Points): His buddy Zack Ryder has some good stuff going for him, that’s gotta mean something, right?

48. David Hart Smith (0 Points): Good thing they broke up the Hart Dynasty, it’s doing wonders for all of them individually.

“The Yet-To-Debuters”

47. Brodus Clay (0 Points): Only 2 months away from the Smackdown debut of the only man on the WWE roster whom the FCC considered censoring the top half of.

46: Jinder Mahal (0 Points): We are yet to be introduced to the only man who could possibly give The Great Khali more TV time. What a tool.

45. Sin Cara (0 Points): (Insert joke about steroids here)

“The Disabled List”

44. Evan Bourne (0 Points): Out of action for a while, returned months later to HUGE (sarcasm) fanfare.

43. Christian (0 Points): Out of action for a while, returned months later to HUGE (not sarcasm) fanfare.

“The Legends”

42. & 41. The Undertaker and Triple H (0 Points): Not much to say here, they will be rated pretty lowly throughout most of the year, but they’ve earned the vacation time they get.

“The ‘We got to play in the Royal Rumble’ Boys”

40. The Great Khalil (5 Points): See Mahal, Jinder

39. Tyler Reks (5 Points): It’s definitely a toss-up, but that may be the worst name I’ve ever heard. I’m willing to debate it though.

38. Yoshi Tatsu (5 Points): Token Asian Superstar! He does the entire continent proud. (WWE, you know there’s over a billion people over there, right?)

37. Zack Ryder (5 Points): In Late February, someone would introduce Ryder to that amazing beautiful creation known as, “The Internet.” Until then, he just sucks.

“The ‘We got to play in the Royal Rumble plus we also totally got to be on TV once or twice” Boys”

36. Chris Masters (7 Points): Did anyone else like him better when he was on steroids? No? Um, yeah me either…

35. Mason Ryan (9 Points): I liked him better when he wrestled under the name “Batista.”

34. Trent Baretta (10 Points): I think this might be the month he maxes out on his points, but that’s part of the excitement! You never know! (Unless you read wrestling results on a normal basis)

33. JTG (10 Points): Another man who was a victim of WWE deciding too early that it was time to break up a decent tag team. Tsk Tsk, when will they learn?

32. & 31. Jimmy and Jey Uso (10 Points each): I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before this duo breaks up for “greener” pastures. I however think they’re the best tag team currently available, but that’s just one humble man’s opinion.

30. Ezekiel Jackson (11 Points): Ah, January was the month where Big Zeke returned and became the powerhouse of one of the most powerful stable in the history of the WWE. (Sarcasm again. Gotta keep up people)

29. David Otunga (13 Points): There are few people I dislike more in the world than David Otunga. I take much enjoyment out of the fact that (spoiler alert) he will be punted by Randy Orton in about a month from the end of January. Ah, what the heck, I’ll go watch it on YouTube now… Ah, that feels better.

“The Holy Crap, Really’s?”

28. John Cena (14 Points): Enjoy this while you can, because Cena was a little beat up in January and thus didn’t wrestle as much. Still it feels very very good to put him this far back on the list.

“The Middle of the Road”

27. Tyson Kidd (15 Points): See Smith, David Hart

26: Ted DiBiase (15 Points): January was the period when he and Maryse were running around together, just two crazy kids stuck in an angle that wasn’t getting over with the fans. Sigh, the good old days…

25. Kane (15 Points): Basically the same as John Cena, was a little banged up and therefore didn’t have a ton of matches. One of the toughest guys in the locker room though.

“Those Darn Nexus Boys”

24. Husky Harris (16 Points): See Otunga, David

23. Michael McGillicutty (16 Points): Oops, I change my mind, this is the worst name in the WWE right now. What in the world is wrong with Joe Hennig? You’re telling me that isn’t a draw all by itself?! I just don’t understand some things…

“Back to the Middle of the Road”

22. Cody Rhodes (17 Points): Still “Dashing” until the very end of the month, we were about to witness one of the greater character turns of 2011.

21. Justin Gabriel (18 Points): I’m actually very excited for his career. As are a lot of people actually, but I’m just as big a fan of…

20. Heath Slater (18 Points): Now hear me out real quick. He may never be great or even a mid-carder, but darn it, the guy works his butt off in every match he’s in, no one takes more heel beatings than him and even if he is a little over the top, the guy goes out and does what he’s supposed to do every month. The #4 ranked man on this list was never supposed to be anything either. You never know what you might accomplish with hard work people. Ok, stepping down from my soapbox to talk about…

“The Best in The World”

19. CM Punk (19 Points): Ok, I won’t get ahead of myself because we still have 6 of these rankings to do. January was a pretty successful month for Punk as we saw him continue to feud with Cena and take over leadership of the Nexus in a very creepy way. Plus, he’s just awesome, so… yeah…

“The ‘Over’ Guys”

(This next group of 8 men spent almost the entire month of January losing, in order for others to look good. Whether they were face or heel )

18. Mark Henry (20 Points): Ah face Mark Henry. Or as I like to call him: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

17. Jack Swagger (20 Points): All American American American and former World Heavyweight Champion was putting on some pretty good quality matches back in January. I bet he was looking forward to whatever his match will be at Wrestlemania…

16. Alex Riley (21 Points): Merely the whipping boy of The Miz and a way for all faces to hit their finisher at the end of a show. Like it or not though, Riley was on television every week.

15. & 14. Vladimir Kozlov & Santino Marella (22 Points Each): The weirdest tag team pairing in recent memory. However, they seem to work well together and provide the WWE with at least a little comedy relief? Ok fine, not much of what the WWE does is actually “funny”, but Santino is better than anyone before him and he entertains the heck out of me.

13. Sheamus (22 Points): Sheamus spent a HUGE amount of time losing in January regardless of how he had recently won the King Of The Ring Tournament and all. How’s that feel Fella?

12. Daniel Bryan. Not Daniel Bryan Danielson or DBD. He’s Daniel Bryan in the WWE and I’m a little tired of people referring to him otherwise just so they can sound cool to the IWC. Ok, back to it. Daniel Bryan (22 Points): Basically said what I wanted to about him. The guy’s the best worker in the company, and he had a pretty great January, making himself and others look better.

11. Big Show (24 Points): The start of the terrible Big Show vs The Corre feud. Lasted FOREVER, but Big Show is always one of the best guys to use when getting people over because they’re technically beating a “Giant.”

“Ace Hart’s Crazy Point System Top Ten”

10. Rey Mysterio (25 Points): The most seasoned veteran by far of the top ten, Mysterio was business as usual in January, bringing his ‘A’ game to every match he was in.

9. John Morrison (25 Points): I’m a huge JoMo fan and the more they give him a chance to show off his athleticism, the better. At the Royal Rumble, he got a great opportunity when he was knocked off the apron and grabbed onto the guard rail and managed to “Parkour” his way back into the ring. That wouldn’t be the last memorable moment he would have on the Road to Wrestlemania either.

8. Wade Barrett (26 Points): On one side of the coin, Barrett is one of the most exciting young talents to come to WWE in a while. On the other side he’s the “leader” of The Corre, something I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to forgive him for.

7. R-Truth (27 Points): Face R-Truth feels like it happened so long ago. At this time in January, he was one of the top faces who used to gain sympathy from the fans when a heel was kicking the crap out of them. Plus Truth was a solid performer who gave his all in every match. Not too shabby, but basically going nowhere career wise.

6. Drew McIntyre (30 Points): I was so excited when I realized Drew was sixth on this list. The guy has the look and feel of a Superstar and he went out and had a fantastic January with what he was given. I feel like I’m about to watch a really depressing movie when it comes to the following 7 months for Drew, but I’ll enjoy January while I can.

5. Randy Orton (37 Points): Not a huge surprise here. One of the best in the company at whatever rating scale you use, he had a great showing at both his WWE Title Match and the Royal Rumble. Plus he’s about to enter a big feud with the “Best in the World”, so we’ll see how that goes.

4. The Miz (39 Points): My favorite current WWE Superstar and the most “must see” one ever. The Miz was able to successfully defend his title and put on some great matches throughout January. Plus, he’s awesome. I don’t feel like anything else needs to be said really.

3. Dolph Ziggler (41 Points): Dolph was absolutely on fire back in January. Despite losing his IC Title, he inserted himself into the World Heavyweight Championship picture, put on some amazing matches and aligned himself with one of the people who has the most heat in WWE, Vickie Guerrero. A fantastic month for Dolph, who should be one of the top young Superstars for years to come.

2. Kofi Kingston (45 Points): The man who took the IC Title from Dolph, he also had an amazing month. One of the top faces in the company not named Edge, John Cena, or Randy Orton. Despite being booked pretty poorly, Kingston ran with the ball the best he could and continued to show his amazing athleticism. Kingston is the company’s placeholder for the mid-card titles when they can’t figure out what they want to do with them and he’s definitely earned that right with his hard work and dedication.

1. Alberto Del Rio (62 Points): But you already knew that. Del Rio received a HUGE push in the month of January, appearing on both major shows weekly, cutting great promos, garnering great heat from the WWE Universe and of course winning the Royal Rumble. I don’t expect Del Rio to go anywhere anytime soon. There’s few guys who have his ability, both in-ring and on the mic, anywhere in the wrestling world, so he’s sure to be a prized commodity for years to come. I’m very excited to see where 2011 would lead for Del Rio.

So there you have it. Flawed or not, I feel I came up with a legitimate point system and I’m very excited to continue this 7-parter going forward. Let me know what you think of the list, and flaws you may see in it, I’m always open to criticism. Tune in next week to read February’s ranking of the WWE Superstars.

Follow me on Twitter @Acehart1 and check out my website twintalkwrestling.com (which will be updated soon, I promise. With the NFL season coming up soon, I may be adding a football oriented section to it, so be sure to check it out.)

  1. July 27, 2011 at 9:31 am

    Welcome back. I can’t even argue this list if I wanted to because it’s pretty spot on for the month of January. I don’t know how you calculated everyone’s TV time from 6 months ago, but good shit. It will be interesting to see how people end up moving around throughout the year.

  2. July 27, 2011 at 10:27 am

    This is very interesting. Quick question: Shouldn’t the Royal Rumble match count as a PPV match? Zack Ryder wants his 10 points!

    I agree with what you wrote about Heath Slater. He really surprised me during the Smackdown Money in the Bank match. He can do some decent spots! He’ll be another MITB lifer like Shelton Benjamin.

    I also hate when people refer to Daniel Bryan as “DBD”. For some reason, the first thing that comes to mind is “Dragon Ball Z” so that’s not a good nickname for him. Daniel Bryan is fine. I’ll reluctantly accept “DB” but not “DBD”.

    Last thing, you shouldn’t worry about revealing your points system. I don’t think anyone is gonna actually check all the results and count the points..lol. That looks insane! Kudos to you for actually taking the time to do it. I really think reasons why great ideas like this aren’t attempted more often is because people simply don’t want to put in the work even though it would be an awesome project. Good comments about each wrestler too…I will look forward to the other parts.

    • July 28, 2011 at 2:29 am

      Dragon Ball Z, lmmfao.

      • Capt. Smooth
        July 28, 2011 at 5:58 am

        That one got me too!

      • July 28, 2011 at 10:30 am

        Great show! Underrated cartoon. Cartoons these days suck. I feel bad for kids right now. They get crappy cartoons (the only decent cartoon these days is Spongebob…South Park doesn’t count and neither does any cartoon on FOX). They are also growing up in the wrong Wrestling era. If they think John Cena is awesome, their little heads might have exploded if they saw what Austin and Rocky were doing over 10 years ago.

        • July 28, 2011 at 11:40 am

          I like Adventure Time on Cartoon Network

          #DontJudgeMe

          • Capt. Smooth
            July 28, 2011 at 5:15 pm

            I can’t really comment on today’s toons, because I’m not the right audience for them plus I remember adults saying the exact same thing about the ones I grew up on.

            Remember, there’s a new Thundercats coming on and it debuts I think on Friday.

            • July 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm

              I like South Park, Bob’s Burgers, American Dad, Family Guy, SuperJail and a few others.

              • Capt. Smooth
                July 28, 2011 at 7:32 pm

                Justice League was fun as hell!

              • July 29, 2011 at 10:27 am

                I like Bob’s Burgers too. Never heard of SuperJail though.

  3. July 27, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Its great to be back. I had an awesome time writing this up even though it took some work. And Tony you were right about the Royal Rumble 10 points thing, I just didn’t want too many guys having too many points, so since there were 40 superstars in the Rumble, I just gave them five apiece. I should have explained that though. Like I said this was a lot of fun and hopefully people don’t get too confused as I go month by month retroactively.

    • July 27, 2011 at 11:13 am

      That makes sense. I was just confused. I gotta write something soon now. I’m going to either bring back “What If” or “How I Would Book It”.

  4. July 27, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I got one more question: What about PPV dark matches that later end up as a DVD exclusive match? I’m talking about the Pre-WM battle royal match they do every year.

    • July 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      Nah, my thinking was that if they weren’t good enough to make the actual PPV, then they’re not going to be counted on my “very official” point system, lol.

      • July 28, 2011 at 2:31 am

        I wouldn’t count that shit either.

        • July 28, 2011 at 10:31 am

          Daniel Bryan and Sheamus want to be acknowledged for their participation at WrestleMania.

          • July 28, 2011 at 11:43 am

            Dark matches shouldn’t count. They did get screwed though since I could have done without The Rock’s introduction.

  5. July 27, 2011 at 11:23 am

    By the way, not that I really care but where is Hornswoggle? Does he not count? And will Michael Cole and Jerry Lawler be receiving votes in later months for their matches?

    • July 27, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      Here are my exclusions from the actual WWE Superstars homepage list:

      -All WWE Diva’s: If the WWE doesn’t take them seriously, why should I?
      -Booker T, Michael Cole, Jerry Lawler, Jim Ross,Jack Korpela,Josh Matthews, Justin Roberts,Matt Strikers,Mr.McMahon,Ranjin Singh,Ricardo Rodriquez,Scott Stanford,Teddy Long, Todd Grisham,Tony Chimel, William Regal.: Full Time Announcers/Reporters/Corporate Guys/GM’s/Managers
      -Hornswoggle: Didn’t Care enough to put him on the list.
      -Johnny Curtis: As soon as he stops annoying me with his stupid one-liners, he might make my list.
      -Skip Sheffield: Not sure why I left him off, probably just because in my mind he’s been gone for a LONG time.

      I felt like the attention of the Rankings should be focused solely on the actual superstars themselves and not guys like Cole and Lawler who take up 20 minutes of WrestleMania time.

      • July 28, 2011 at 2:32 am

        Please no Michael Cole.

        • Capt. Smooth
          July 28, 2011 at 5:59 am

          I’ll give Cole this. He’s willing to embarass himself.

      • July 28, 2011 at 10:33 am

        So no Edge or Chavo or Kaval because you are only including “active” superstars? Does Husky Harris still count?

        • July 28, 2011 at 11:44 am

          Husky Harris and Broudus Clay should form a tag team “The Double Ds”

        • July 28, 2011 at 1:15 pm

          None of those guys because I just went off the list that WWE.com had on their superstars list. And I can’t remember a time when Kaval was on Raw or Smackdown, let alone in 2011.

  6. July 27, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Iv’e never seen any of your stuff but from what i just read it was pretty good.

    Pretty much as J said ”spot on”.

    • July 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      Thank you very much, I’ve checked out your website a few times and it’s also pretty enjoyable.

  7. July 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Woooooooo!!!! Drew’s in the top 10! He’ll be in the bottom 5 soon but at least I can celebrate that.

    And Miz is not awesome or must see. He’s a prime example of WWE going out of their way to push someone who otherwise sucks, same for Del Rio.

    • July 27, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      I know, it honestly depresses me when I think about how far Drew is about to fall, the guy could be HUGE given the right storyline, but it’s like they just don’t care anymore. Ticks me off. And I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree on Miz, he’s one of my top three superstars (Punk,Miz,JoMo) and I’m pretty convinced he is indeed awesome, haha.

      • July 28, 2011 at 10:37 am

        I like Drew McIntyre. I was watching early clips of Triple H’s career and he reminded me a little bit of Drew. I really think Drew can be a decent star someday…then again, I thought Vladimir Kozlov would make an awesome mega heel and someday have a WrestleMania feud with John Cena. But I forgot…Russians were good heels right around when Rocky IV was made in 1985. Now the best heels are either Irish or Mexican.

    • July 28, 2011 at 2:36 am

      Del Rio should stay in the top 3 all year considering that he’s soon to win yet another 20 points and if he cashes in and wins a championship then that’s another 20.

  8. July 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I like this idea though.

  9. July 27, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Maryse is being stalked by a 61 year old man. When Maryse asked he boy friend The Miz for help he said:

    “ Maryse! I’m only fake tough, remeber? This guy would destory me.”

  10. Capt. Smooth
    July 27, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Forget HHH, you really know how to bury people. Some of those comments were brutal. It will be interesting to see how the rankings have changed.

  11. Alan
    July 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Anybody watching that wrastlin’ guy Mike Miz on MTV tonight? ahahaha, sounds like it’s going to be dope.

    • July 28, 2011 at 2:38 am

      I’m bout to watch it now on DVR and smoke this blunt. Good times.

    • July 28, 2011 at 10:39 am

      I saw it. Miz is so awesome that he was on MTV at 10 PM and then on the George Lopez show at 11 PM. I watched both. Miz is definitely in my top 3 I think. 1-2 are CM Punk and Daniel Bryan.

      • July 28, 2011 at 6:14 pm

        I laughed my ass off when he was dancing.

        • July 29, 2011 at 10:29 am

          I was too. I guess that woman was a plant. She had me fooled for a second! And I love how Miz was calling the dance as if he was calling a match. Speaking of calling a match, I’m always amazed how they can call a match without anyone really noticing.

  12. July 28, 2011 at 12:52 am

    http://www.rajah.com/base/node/23699

    He’s still me hero, my crazy/on drugs/angry/disfunctional family hero.

    Killshot!

    • July 28, 2011 at 2:39 am

      He’s not on drugs. He does Gospel music.

      • Capt. Smooth
        July 28, 2011 at 6:01 am

        WTF?!?!?

        • July 28, 2011 at 8:39 am

          It’s true.

          • Capt. Smooth
            July 28, 2011 at 5:17 pm

            Doubt it.

            • July 28, 2011 at 6:16 pm

              Google it.

              • Capt. Smooth
                July 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

                I seriously doubt Cena would do that.

                • July 29, 2011 at 1:41 pm

                  You have been brainwashed. Cena is the devil.

                  • Anonymous
                    July 29, 2011 at 5:57 pm

                    You sound like the mom from The Waterboy. “Cena is the DEBIL!!!”.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    July 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm

                    You sound like the mom from The Waterboy. “Cena is the DEBIL!!!”.

                    • Capt. Smooth
                      July 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm

                      It didn’t “take” the first time.

  13. Max
    July 28, 2011 at 7:27 am

    I always wondered what happened to Ace so this was a good way to reintroduce yourself. Now where is The Modern Native and Kieran?

  14. Ana_ZackPack
    July 28, 2011 at 9:02 am

    You’re aliveeeeeeeeee!

    This is a pretty good sistem, since it can’t be biased.

    • July 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

      I don’t want to take credit but I pretty much orchestrated the entire comeback. You’re welcome.

      • July 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm

        It’s true, Tony did Contact me via Twitter and roped me back into it. Full time school/full time job has been too crazy but I’ll find time to write now.

    • July 28, 2011 at 11:47 am

      It’s rigged like the 2000 Presidential Elections. Lol.

  15. July 31, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Capt. Smooth :
    I seriously doubt Cena would do that.

    What PPV was that? Night of Champions? If so, did i witness Tarver’s arm getting broken? Awesome!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

