Home > Guest Blog, RAW Comments, Tony Kegger, WWE > RAW Comments (08/1/2011) by Tony Kegger

RAW Comments (08/1/2011) by Tony Kegger

RAW Comments (08/1/2011) by Tony Kegger

Edited by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ 

WWE Monday Night RAW was live from the Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana this week. Here are my RAW Comments.

The video package at the start of RAW that recapped the last two weeks was awesome. It was fun to see clips from the Money In The Bank PPV. I had a lot of fun that night and I can’t wait to buy the DVD.


CM Punk and Triple H had a great opening promo. It was over 20 minutes long and I loved every second of it. It wasn’t an epic promo or a historic promo, but it was very solid and fun to watch. CM Punk at one point got Triple H so mad that Triple H said to Punk, “I’ll be the first guy to tell ya I got a massive ego and right now that massive ego is telling me to slap every one of those silly little rotten ass tattoos off your skinny fat ass!” When Triple H said that, he sounded like the old Triple H. He should definitely turn heel in the future because I think he is one of greatest heels of all-time. CM Punk is so awesome that he helped promote three matches in one promo. That’s right… I said three matches. The first match was obviously Punk vs. John Cena, which we would learn more about later that night. The second match was CM Punk vs. Triple H, which I just read that it could possible be a Survivor Series match in New York City. The third match was one that I didn’t think was a possible match. During Punk’s promo, he talked about how the WWE released talented Superstars like Batista, Mick Foley, Chris Jericho and Brock Lesnar. Later that night, Chris Jericho wrote on his Twitter page, “Everyone is so excited that@CMPunk mentioned me on Raw. Newsflash…I don’t give a shit. Mind ur own business and stop rippin me off Punk.” That tweet sounded very heelish of Jericho. This morning, I was reading WrestleZone online and WrestleZone had an exclusive story about the Jericho tweet.

WrestleZone wrote,

“WrestleZone has learned exclusively from a key WWE insider that Jericho has been pitching for himself to work with Punk at WrestleMania next year. Additionally, we can confirm that this reaction is story line oriented, and that there is no real bad blood between Punk and Jericho following Raw tonight.”

Jericho vs. CM Punk at WrestleMania 28? That would be an awesome match. It sounds like Jericho would still be a heel, but at least he would be back in the WWE, so I hope it happens.


Beth Phoenix turned heel last night. I honestly didn’t care much about that. We have seen Beth Phoenix as a heel before, so that is nothing new. I’m not a big fan of the Divas Division, but I would have enjoyed a Kelly Kelly heel turn. I’m hoping that this turn leads to a Beth Phoenix vs. Kharma WrestleMania match. I would be somewhat interested in that.


I think R-Truth and The Miz would make an interesting tag team. It’s too bad R-Truth is feuding with John Morrison right now, but after that feud is over, I really think the WWE should give a R-Truth and Miz tag team a chance. I would make them the Tag Team Champions. It would make The Miz a champion again and it would also make the Tag Team Division interesting, like back when JeriShow were the Tag Team Champions.

I’m starting to get sick of Alex Riley already. I want to like him, but I liked him better when he was a heel. Hopefully he can change my mind soon.


Why was Santino wearing a Cobra sock on his hand? He obviously stole that idea from Mankind’s Mr. Socko. It’s Mr. Cobra!


Zack Ryder got a match on RAW for the second week in a row! I guess that means the world is going to end soon. The fans in Indiana loved Ryder, so I’m guessing we’ll continue to see him on RAW. The guy was able to use the internet to get himself some more TV time, so I’m impressed. Why was Santino teaming with Ryder instead of Kozlov though? Did I miss something?


Triple H’s big announcement was that John Cena would face CM Punk in a Champion vs. Champion match at SummerSlam. I knew that would happen, but I guess there were some people who are dumb and said to themselves, “Holy shit… that’s a great idea. I would have never thought of that!” It feels weird when Triple H keeps saying that this is the first time there has been two WWE Champions. He is technically right, but the reason that this storyline doesn’t feel as epic as it should is because about 10 years ago The Rock was the WCW Champion and Stone Cold was the WWE Champion so the WWE had a tournament at the Vengeance Pay-Per-View in 2001 to determine an Undisputed Champion. So this feels similar to that. It is not a new idea, but then again not many ideas are new these days in the WWE. They are just recycled storylines. By the way, Chris Jericho won that tournament, but I’m sure you already know that.


I hated the ending of RAW. CM Punk and John Cena had a contest to see who could get the biggest pop while their respective themes kept interchanging as they raised their respective WWE Championships in the air. It was so awful. It’s never a good thing when I laugh at something that was not supposed to be funny.

Before I go, I got two questions. What happened to the RAW GM? Is Rey Mysterio ever going to get his WWE Championship rematch? Sadly, I’m assuming those questions will never be answered.

  1. August 2, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    You posted it! I should have added that I agreed with Johnny Ace that John Cena should have been stripped (of the title). What was up with Cena saying, “So just because CM Punk beat me one time means I shouldn’t be WWE Champion?” Um…yeah that is how it works. You only beat Rey Mysterio one time and you were allowed to keep that title you currently have around your waist.

    • Capt. Smooth
      August 2, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      But Punk did “quit”. If he hadn’t, he’d be 100% legit. It was like when Santino was a heel and got knocked out of the RR in 2 seconds. He screamed, “I wasn’t ready!”, but once he got into the ring, he was fair game. Once Punk “left” and vacated the title, he can’t be upset that there is a tourney going on to get a new champion.

      • August 2, 2011 at 4:40 pm

        Well we’ll know who the real champion is in two weeks then Cena can quit his whining. I was really shocked to hear him say that. Punk beat him…Punk is the real champion. Cena is the champion only because Punk left….he didn’t really earn it.

        • Capt. Smooth
          August 2, 2011 at 4:43 pm

          Cena earned his title rematch and due to Punl leaving, he can’t gripe about him not being declared the “real” champ. I am curious, what about Rey? He got fucked over and not in a good way.

          • August 2, 2011 at 4:53 pm

            Cena beating Rey doesn’t count. Punk beat Rey too. R-Truth even beat Rey!

            • Capt. Smooth
              August 2, 2011 at 4:56 pm

              Not in the tourney. Plus, Punk stepped out. He can’t say he was in the whole time, unless Punk and HHH are part of a… conspiracy/ Truth was right!!!

        • August 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm

          I agree. Until Cena beats Punk then he is just carrying around a replica belt and if that’s the case then I too have a legitimate claim at the WWE Championship.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm

            Punk shouldn’t have left. It would be interesting to have him lose it at SS. A story about how Punk could’ve had it all, if not for him leaving. Having HHH rub that in his face would be a great way to continue the angle.

            • August 2, 2011 at 5:11 pm

              That could work, but I rather them keep pushing Punk since Cena has been heavily pushed for over 5 years now.

              • Capt. Smooth
                August 2, 2011 at 7:54 pm

                I think a good follow up to Cena beating Punk could be for Rey to get his rematch and on equal footing, Rey wins and gets a proper title run. That way, you get Punk/HHH started, Cena gets retribution for the attempted “Chicago Screw Job”, and Rey beats Cena in a win that propels him to a “real” run to end his career on.

                • August 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm

                  How about a Rey heel turn?

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    August 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm

                    People won’t buy it.

  2. Capt. Smooth
    August 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    1. I dug the first part of the show. You could tell they were having fun.

    2. Kelly Kelly as a heel would’ve been interesting.

    3. “C-O-N…spiracy” would be great on a t-shirt!

    4. Not sick of Riley at all and I’m shocked he’s getting all these pops.(great music too)

    5. “SantiBro”?

    • Capt. Smooth
      August 2, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      Clicked the wrong button!

      6. I figured the title vs. title match was going to happen. Loved Cena’s Johnny Ace impression. Little things like that help bring the fun for me.

      7. While I could’ve done without the music going back and forth, I did enjoy Punk and Cena jockeying for cheers.

      • August 2, 2011 at 4:51 pm

        6. Cena did have a good Johnny Ace impression. The guys in the back probably liked that.

        7. The music part is what really annoyed me. Those two jockeying for cheers was a’ight.

        • Capt. Smooth
          August 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm

          Dynamic Dudes reunion?

    • August 2, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      1. If I’m not mistaken, it might have been the first time CM Punk and Triple H were face-to-face in the ring. Indiana witnessed history! I enjoyed their conversation. Punk’s face turn is off to a good start and I’m so happy to see Triple H, #4 on my all-time WWE list, back on RAW. I approve.

      • Capt. Smooth
        August 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm

        I still see Punk as more of a tweener, but he is going in that direction. I wonde rhow long until many in the IWC turn on him.

        • August 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm

          John Cena’s Johnny Gingivitis impression was pretty funny. I don’t know though, other than the opening promo everything else just felt kinda bland and there was way more commercials than usual.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 2, 2011 at 4:51 pm

            They need more money from the Punk’s new music royalties.

            • August 2, 2011 at 4:55 pm

              lol..does the WWE have to pay every time they kept playing the song in the last two minutes of the show? His song was played like 9 times last night.

              • Capt. Smooth
                August 2, 2011 at 4:57 pm

                I think. That’s my idea for Slater. His voice is so bad, he needs a lip-synch gimmick. Have him get caught in the back lip-synching to cheesy music that doesn’t cost much in royalties.

                • August 2, 2011 at 5:12 pm

                  Does the WWE hate R-Truth that he’s not worth paying royalties for? He still has no theme. At least bring back his “Get Rowdy” theme.

                • August 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm

                  They played that song out last night and if it ever had a chance of growing on me then that time has passed. BRING BACK “THIS FIRE BURNS”!!!!!!!

    • August 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      2. Yes it would. I would like to see her spank the divas and say, “You like that?”

      3. Ha.

      4. Good music…I will admit that. I don’t think he should be pushed yet. Give him a Primo push first before the Kofi push.

      5. Maybe.

      • Capt. Smooth
        August 2, 2011 at 4:53 pm

        If Miz wasn’t so high profile, Riley would be another Primo.

        • August 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm

          Riley sucks.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm

            The fans say he doesn’t. The tag chamos do,(By the way, loved your “McGilliTunga” idea from Canton’s RAW report!)

            • August 2, 2011 at 8:29 pm

              Fine then, Alex Riley is gay and I should get McGillitunga trademarked before people claim they made it up when I did.

              • Capt. Smooth
                August 2, 2011 at 8:44 pm

                I cosign!

  3. August 2, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    When I saw that this article received three new comments, I didn’t think all of them would be from Capt. Smooth. Oh well…at least I got one reader. Thanks Capt.

    • Capt. Smooth
      August 2, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      No problem. Should’ve been 2, but I fucked up.

      • August 2, 2011 at 4:50 pm

        Readers and comments are not the same thing. Trust me, you have more than one reader, even if only a few comment.

        • August 2, 2011 at 4:56 pm

          I was joking…of course I know I have more than one reader. You wouldn’t post my stuff if I didn’t.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 2, 2011 at 4:59 pm

            Follower or reader? That’s the question. Might be back later.

            • August 2, 2011 at 5:20 pm

              Oh yea, thanks for doing a post on RAW because I had nothing planned for today and this post inspired the post that will be posted in T-minus 3…2…1…

  4. August 2, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    I thought Jericho was being serious when he said that about Punk. Thank God he wasn’t, I didn’t want them to have to make me choose.

    The Raw GM podium is still there, so something may happen eventually…But I think they are still trying to figure out what.

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      I wouldn’t choose because I would be a fan of both and their match would so have me on the edge of my seat. The build up would surely be epic.

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      I didn’t even see the RAW GM podium. I don’t care if they want to get rid of the RAW GM. We all know he or she was never going to be revealed but they should at least tell us what they plan to do with the GM and not pretend like he or she never existed.

      • August 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm

        Fuck the GM. I haven’t hear that stupid email chime in over 2 weeks, just let it die. Unless it ends up being Stephanie and her and Triple H end up getting a divorce over power of the company and she can bring control back to her bloodline.

        • August 2, 2011 at 5:50 pm

          I doubt it is Stephanie. By the way, why does Triple H keep saying that John Morrison was re-signed? The RAW GM would have never made that mistake. I hope Hunter re-signs Big Show, Kane, Sin Cara, and Mason Ryan too. Actually I hope he doesn’t re-sign Mason Ryan.

    • August 2, 2011 at 6:19 pm

      I’m starting a Twitter feud too.

      • August 2, 2011 at 6:29 pm

        You’re a douchebag, I’m an idiot, and JCITY’s a lunatic.

        Nice.

        • August 2, 2011 at 6:33 pm

          I wonder what Capt. Smooth is!

          • August 2, 2011 at 6:36 pm

            Capt. Smooth is an Ice Cream eating Mexican Biker.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

            The Smoothest Man in the Galaxy!

        • August 2, 2011 at 6:33 pm

          First off, what the fuck happened? Second, how the hell did you manage to put an image in the comments?

          • August 2, 2011 at 6:43 pm

            haha someone tweeted to John, “@johnreport Great Raw Deal. One error though, you wrote that Ryder was Teddy Long’s announcer instead of writing assistant. 4 1/2 stars ;)”. So I replied with the message you see above.

            Second, I wasn’t trying to do that. All I did was copy the link of the tweet that Canton tweeted and when I posted the comment, my link turned into an image. I’m helping you discover WordPress secrets you never knew. First the YouTube videos and now Twitter!

            • August 2, 2011 at 6:45 pm

              Click the “28 Minutes Ago” link to get the full story.

            • August 2, 2011 at 7:17 pm

              Oh, lol. Everyone makes mistakes so I don’t know why he would get mad. Especially live, there’s bound to be a few. I’m sure I make tons of mistakes too.

              The image is clickable, weird.

              • August 2, 2011 at 7:26 pm

                Yeah his reaction was called for. I would like to steal a quote from Johnny Ace and say, “First of all John, you’re out of line!” I don’t know why that would make him so upset. And why did he call me a douchebag? I would like to steal a quote from Zack Ryder and say, “That really hurt my feelings bro.” I guess pointing out Canton’s errors gets him mad. Good to know for future reference.

                • August 2, 2011 at 7:28 pm

                  Oops…I never posted my actual message. I tweeted, “@SaifQuadri @johnreport John makes a lot of other errors but that was definitely his biggest one.”

  5. August 2, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Is that the Tony Kegger Mascot in the background? Interesting…where did you find him? I have been looking for him.

  6. August 2, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    They played that song out last night and if it ever had a chance of growing on me then that time has passed. BRING BACK “THIS FIRE BURNS”!!!!!!!

    He’ll bring it back on December 26 I bet.

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:47 pm

      By then it will be too late.

      • August 2, 2011 at 5:51 pm

        It is never too late.

        • August 2, 2011 at 6:15 pm

          I think I like Punk better when he was just a straight shooter that wasn’t worried about displaying his cult of personality and pandering to the crowd.

          • August 2, 2011 at 6:21 pm

            uh-oh…the Punk hate begins. Punk is a Chi-Town guy so I’m forced to like him or else.

            • August 2, 2011 at 6:31 pm

              No hate, I just prefer evil heels.

              • Capt. Smooth
                August 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm

                Maybe Punk can team with Rock? The PunkRock Connection?

                • August 2, 2011 at 8:31 pm

                  Then they can feud with a new guy named Rap.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    August 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm

                    Santino?

                    • August 3, 2011 at 10:29 am

                      If only his name was Santana and he came out to “Black Magic Woman”…

  7. David
    August 2, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Mcgillitunga is pure gold! I thought Punk should’ve kinda kept it low key instead of all that pandering.

    • Capt. Smooth
      August 3, 2011 at 5:50 am

      That’s what a “face” does.(or at least somebody who is trying to turn face)

    • August 3, 2011 at 9:44 am

      his pandering wasn’t that bad compared the other faces.

    • August 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

      I think his turn just feels rushed. It’s one thing for the fans to like his actions, but he shouldn’t pander to them. Stay heel and accept the face pops. He can say he never changed, the people’s opinion of him did. After all, he’s the same guy that ripped on them in that epic promo of his.

      • August 3, 2011 at 11:02 am

        I hope they don’t give him the U.S. Title right away.

        • August 3, 2011 at 11:05 am

          Oops I thought we were talking about Alex Riley. We’re talking about CM Punk. I love his turn. Always liked him better as a face. I like liking guys who are faces. I don’t want to be a guy who only likes heels but heels are usually the only superstars that are interesting. After the ridiculous reaction he got in Chi-Town, there was no way they could have left him as a heel. We turned Stone Cold face in 1997 and we did it again in 2011 with CM Punk.

      • August 3, 2011 at 11:08 am

        By the way, Punk is still saying, “I don’t wear a white hat.” All he did was say, “I know what you people want.” Batista said something similar as a heel when he would say, “You all came here to see me. I am who you want to see.”

        • Capt. Smooth
          August 3, 2011 at 5:34 pm

          But Punk is smug, very heelish. He’s doing a good job of balancing his smug personality with the reasons why he did what he did, the fans. I just hope they go through with the turn.

  8. Max
    August 3, 2011 at 7:10 am

    I liked Raw. CM Punk is too good right now, and thats the best Beth Phoenix pic I have ever seen. I usually think she looks too manly but she looks good there.

    • August 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

      I think she goes out with CM Punk because all the other guys are intimidated by her so Punk was like hey Beth, you have a pussy, right? So lets put that thing to good use and she was extra horny and loved the idea and they have been together ever since.

      • August 3, 2011 at 11:26 am

        And that’s the story they’ll tell their kids some day.

  9. Ana_ZackPack
    August 3, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Jericho vs Punk would OWN Rock vs Cena.

    • August 3, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Yes it would.

      • August 3, 2011 at 10:37 am

        Fuck yea it would and if both matches are on the same card then that would be even better.

        • August 3, 2011 at 11:15 am

          The Rock vs. Cena would be the most must-see match but Jericho vs. Punk would be the show-stealer.

          • Capt. Smooth
            August 3, 2011 at 5:38 pm

            Jericho vs. Punk will probably be better than Rock vs. Cena(doubt it will “own”), but Rock/Cena is the reason why many who might not order it will. In fact, I’m seriously thinking about doing that myself and the last and only WM I have ever ordered was HBK/Flair.

            • August 3, 2011 at 6:42 pm

              No doubt Rock vs. Cena is the most anticipated match. It’s a match I’ve been wanting to see since 2008. However I think Jericho vs. Punk would be a better wrestled match. Rock-Cena will be a classic too but mostly because of the story and the fan reaction and the fact it’s The Rock.

              • Capt. Smooth
                August 3, 2011 at 8:27 pm

                Either way, I can’t wait!

  10. August 3, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Hey it’s my birthday. Guess how old I am.

    Also did anyone hear about the Gail Kim controversy?

    http://www.lordsofpain.net/news/wwe/Gail_Kim_On_Battle_Royal_Controversy_-_Says_She_s_Not_Trying_To_Get_Fired.html

    I really think she doesn’t give a shit anymore and she will either get fired or she will just not appear on WWE programming anymore.

    • Capt. Smooth
      August 3, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      Happy Birthday! 24? Mine is the 27th of this month!

    • August 3, 2011 at 8:43 pm

      HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

