Home > Best And Worse Of 2011, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™, WWE > Best Match Of The Year: CM Punk vs John Cena For The WWE Championship At The Money In The Bank PPV

Best Match Of The Year: CM Punk vs John Cena For The WWE Championship At The Money In The Bank PPV

When it comes to the best match of the year, the only other match to come close to the quality of this match was Triple H vs The Undertaker at Wrestlemania 27. While that match was pretty damn good, Punk’s rise to the upper echelon of superstardom, mixed with one of John Cena’s best performances in the ring, mixed with a red hot Chicago crowd, made for one of the greatest matches I have seen all year. The atmosphere of the crowd was electric, both men brought their A game and this match had one of the best finishes I have ever seen when CM Punk won the WWE Championship and left the WWE with the title through the crowd while blowing a kiss to Vince McMahon on his way out. It was a surreal moment made even more special because his contract had legitimately ran out and people didn’t know what the fuck was really going on.

As soon as CM Punk cut his epic promo on 6/27/2011, I knew he wasn’t going anywhere, but that still didn’t change the fact that CM Punk did a phenomenal job in making you believe he was really fed up with the company and was going to leave the WWE with its main championship just to spite Vince McMahon. From bell to bell, Punk and Cena put on one hell of a fucking show, and CM Punk overcoming all the odds stacked up against him was just the icing on the cake. Everything about this match was awesome and that’s why it’s my match of the year.

  1. Capt. Smooth
    December 28, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    I like how the video is reversed.

  2. December 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I thought it was just me.

    • Capt. Smooth
      December 28, 2011 at 8:41 pm

      nope

      Gotta run. Peace.

      • December 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm

        Peace out Capt. Today’s been a busy day site wise. Tomorrow should be even busier. Have lots more end of the year posts coming up.

  3. Stephen
    December 29, 2011 at 1:18 am

    And what the hell qualifies you to name the best match of the year?

  4. December 29, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Are you serious bro?

    • Capt. Smooth
      December 29, 2011 at 5:46 am

      He may be.

      • December 29, 2011 at 5:53 am

        He needs help. I forgot all about his hating ass.

        • Capt. Smooth
          December 29, 2011 at 6:02 am

          Maybe we can set up a foundation?

          • December 29, 2011 at 6:09 am

            The dumb motherfuckers fund. For 88cents a month you can sponsor a bitch ass hater of your very own… lol.

  5. December 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I don’t think Ive ever seen a crowd sing a wrestler’s theme song like Chicago did during the chorus. 5 stars.

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm

      I still have this PPV on my DVR because of this match. I don’t think I will ever erase it.

    • December 31, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Psychomantis :
      I don’t think Ive ever seen a crowd sing a wrestler’s theme song like Chicago did during the chorus. 5 stars.

      Fuck…someone needs to point out what time that happened. I was THERE and I have seen the entrance on DVD like 20 times and I never heard anyone singing. People were singing Punk’s new song last Monday though…

  6. Rob
    December 29, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I agree with this pick but I think that the Randy Orton versus Christian series gets overlooked as having some of the best matches of the year.

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      They had some good matches but this one is on a whole other level. All the stuff leading up to it is just too hard to ignore and they delivered in a big way.

      • Capt. Smooth
        December 29, 2011 at 6:32 pm

        Plus, Christian never needed to turn anyway.

        • December 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm

          He was a great face, but he’s a funny heel though. I would have personally kept him a face though.

          • Capt. Smooth
            December 29, 2011 at 7:07 pm

            I hope the crowds chant “one more match” at some point.

            • December 29, 2011 at 7:08 pm

              It would be funny an elderly Christian mentioned it whenever they decide to put him in the Hall of Fame.

              • Capt. Smooth
                December 29, 2011 at 7:22 pm

                Would he become “Old Creepy Bastard”?

  7. December 31, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    I’m trying to get the new WWE Best PPV Matches of 2011 BD. I need this match on Blu-Ray.

    • December 31, 2011 at 5:49 pm

      I might get that DVD since I only seen Triple H vs The Undertaker once. Alot of people hate on that match, but I remember loving it.

  8. December 31, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    I might get that DVD since I only seen Triple H vs The Undertaker once. Alot of people hate on that match, but I remember loving it.

    I ordered it today. I found it for like $21…blu ray. Yeah I would love to watch that HHH-Taker match again and in blu-ray. The DVD also has Orton-Christian SummerSlam, Cody Rhodes vs. Rey, Triple H-Punk, Christian vs. Del Rio, Edge vs. Dolph Ziggler, and Mark Henry’s two best matches (title win over Orton and the ring breaking match). Plus I read that a blu-ray extra will be Punk vs. Orton at WrestleMania using special movie cameras. I have the Best Of PPV Blu-ray from 2010. I’m watching Punk vs. Jeff Hardy Summerslam right now.

    • December 31, 2011 at 9:12 pm

      oh but the DVD left off Orton-Christian Over The Limit and included the Capitol Punishment match…I don’t understand that. WWE named the Over The Limit match the #3 match of the year so why isn’t it on the DVD?

      • January 1, 2012 at 8:36 pm

        Cool.They need re-release all of their DVDs on Bluray.I hate watching DVD quality stuff now.

  9. May 3, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    see here for the best augusta roofer around

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

