Home > Best And Worse Of 2011, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™, WWE > Most Memorable Moment Of The Year: Edge Retires As The World Heavyweight Champion

Most Memorable Moment Of The Year: Edge Retires As The World Heavyweight Champion

Most would disagree with me and give this honor to CM Punk’s game changing promo on the 6/27/11 edition of RAW, but Edge retiring as the World Heavyweight Champion is a moment I will never forget. I was watching Monday Night RAW like I always do and Jerry “The King” Lawler said that Edge was going to retire and that he would address the crowd later on in the show. I was like “What the fuck?” I didn’t know what to think. I was at a loss for words. Shocked. Flabbergasted. Bewildered. Edge is easily one of my most favorite wrestlers of the 2000’s and hearing that I would never get to see another match featuring the “Rated R Superstar” was something I was not expecting to hear. At fist I didn’t want to believe it, but when he came out and genuinely addressed the fans, I knew that his retirement was legit. Edge seemed to be in perfectly fine shape and he never showed any signs of his career threatening injury, so I was a bit skeptical about the whole thing, but I’ve since learned to accept it.

His retirement was an emotional moment. As one of my favorite WWE Superstars, I felt extremely proud of Edge for walking away as the World Heavyweight Champion. In all my years of watching wrestling I have never seen someone retire as the active champ, so I thought it was a great honor bestowed on him by the WWE since they could have easily stripped him of the title. I will never forget all the great moments Edge has provided me with. He was truly one of the best and he rekindled my interest in the product at a time when I was starting to grow bored with it. So while most of the IWC claims that 2011 was the year of the Punk, to me, 2011 was the year an era died. Thank you Edge!

  1. Capt. Smooth
    December 28, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    I hate this. Thank you, Edge.

    • December 28, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      Yeah, this moment sucked, but I’m glad he went out on top and as a big Edge fan this moment is more important to me than anything else that has happened this year.

      • Capt. Smooth
        December 28, 2011 at 7:23 pm

        I’m torn between this and Macho Man’s death.

  2. Rob
    December 28, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I used to like Edge when he was in a tag team with Christian.Then he turned into a jerk when he got with Lita and I hated him for a very long time especially when he was with Vicki. He just started winning me back when he beat up the laptop and killed Paul Bearer. I thought his injury was a work. His send off on smackdown was nicely done.

    • Capt. Smooth
      December 28, 2011 at 7:33 pm

      “He’s got the crazy eyes!”

      • December 28, 2011 at 8:12 pm

        Edge as a heel was what cemented him as one of my all-time favorites and rekindled my interest in wrestling after getting sick of the John Cena bullshit.

        • Rob
          December 29, 2011 at 2:55 pm

          I hated him so bad. He even went to John Cenas house and beat up his father. What a douche.

          • December 29, 2011 at 3:48 pm

            That was an awesome moment. Funny too. Rated R heel Edge was the best Edge ever.

            • Capt. Smooth
              December 29, 2011 at 6:30 pm

              No, Edge that beat up the laptop was the best Edge.

              • December 29, 2011 at 6:43 pm

                That’s why he was one of my favorites. Face or heel he could do no wrong.

                • Capt. Smooth
                  December 29, 2011 at 7:04 pm

                  Except making out with Vicky.

                  • December 29, 2011 at 7:10 pm

                    Yeah, that was gross, but they were an awesome power couple and Edge was only using her so he could have power over Smackdown. Edge don’t love them hoes, he just uses them, which made him even cooler in my eyes.

                    • Capt. Smooth
                      December 29, 2011 at 7:20 pm

                      classy

  3. Capt. Smooth
    December 28, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    J, thought you might like this due to who its about.

    http://www.lordsofpain.net/columns/roiswar/Ro_is_War_The_Man_Who_Changed_2011.html

  4. Stephen
    December 29, 2011 at 1:17 am

    CM Punk had the best moment this year. Your such an idiot.

  5. December 29, 2011 at 3:52 am

    It’s you’re not your, genius. And all of these blogs are subjective, as in they are my opinions and my opinions only. If people feel different then they can use the comment section to say what was their moment of the year and we could all reminisce about wrestling in 2011 together. You don’t have to be a jerk about it.

  6. Capt. Smooth
    December 29, 2011 at 6:01 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    I really thought you said dildo for a second.

    Nope. “ditto”.

  7. Capt. Smooth
    December 29, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    It has. I’ve pulled this before on my brother. Funny shit right there.

    Smartasses unite!

    • December 29, 2011 at 7:34 pm

      Lmao.

      • Capt. Smooth
        December 29, 2011 at 7:41 pm

        We need a motto.

        “Smartass is better than a dumbass!”

        • December 29, 2011 at 7:45 pm

          That needs to be on T-shirts and bumper stickers.

          • Capt. Smooth
            December 30, 2011 at 8:24 am

            If I win the lottery, I’d do something like that.

            I have a mug that reads “Professional Smartass”. I love it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

