Home > Best And Worse Of 2011, Impact Wrestling, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™, TNA > Worst Match Of The Year: Jeff Hardy vs Sting For The TNA World Heavyweight Championship At The Victory Road PPV

Worst Match Of The Year: Jeff Hardy vs Sting For The TNA World Heavyweight Championship At The Victory Road PPV

There was no competition for this category, the worst match of the year by a landslide was Jeff Hardy vs Sting at the TNA Victory Road PPV. This match was an embarrassment. Shit like this is the reason people love ripping TNA apart in the IWC. TNA should have called an audible before letting this match go on the air as scheduled. You see, Jeff Hardy must have smoked a little too much weed, sniffed and extra line of coke, or got shit-faced at a local bar, but he was clearly in no shape to compete. When he made his way out to the ring, he was wobbling from side to side, when he tried to enter the ring, he almost fell off the ring steps. TNA management should have stopped him from entering the Impact Zone in that state of mind. Before this match, RVD and Anderson wrestled to a no contest in a Number One Contender Match. TNA could have easily taken Jeff off the card via backstage shenanigans and made the match a Triple Threat for the title between RVD, Anderson and Sting. All they had to do was say since nobody won the last match, both competitors earned the shot at the title in the main event of the PPV since Hardy was in no shape to compete. Instead, TNA went on with the match.

To make matters worse, Eric Bishoff came out and made the match a No Disqualification Match. You can see him give messages to both Sting and Hardy off the mic, so it’s clear that he informed them of what was going to happen next, but isn’t that why referees have ear pieces? Any information about the match could have been relayed to the ref who then would have given both competitors the information needed to continue. When the bell actually rang, Hardy acted unprofessional and instead of doing the job, he teased the crowd with his shirt for about a minute. A visibly upset Sting locked up with Hardy, hit him a few times, then dropped his ass with the Scorpion Deathdrop for the win. I included the match after the jump and you can clearly see that Hardy tried his best to kick out, but Sting had him locked tight. I kinda felt bad for Sting because he just came back to TNA after turning down a very lucrative deal with the WWE just so he could deal with such bullshit. The actual match must have lasted less than a minute. If I ordered this PPV there would have been hell to pay because I would have personally flown to Florida and dropkicked Dixie Carter in the face.

So Jeff Hardy, how do you feel about your Victory Road Match against Sting?

That’s what I thought. I felt the same exact way when I watched this shit sandwich of a match. You should be ashamed of yourself.

  1. Capt. Smooth
    December 29, 2011 at 5:48 am

    I still haven’t seen the video. I don’t enjoy watching people get embarrassed.

    • December 29, 2011 at 5:53 am

      You have to watch it at least once. It’s sad yet funny at the same time.

      • Capt. Smooth
        December 29, 2011 at 6:02 am

        Not my thing.

        Off to work. Later.

        • December 29, 2011 at 6:12 am

          So watching a classic wrestling match is not your thing? I rate this match 5 stars. 5 negative stars that is, lmmfao. I crack myself up sometimes.

          I’m writing a new blog now so its ready when I get home and all I would have to do is edit and post. I’m so smart. Also blazing that piff for breakfast. Yumz.

  2. December 29, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I was going to get this PPV but I was so glad I didn’t! This match wasn’t even funny how shit it was.

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      I thought it was funny because Eric Bicho obviously told Hardy he had to do the job and judging by the look in Hardy’s face he was against that. I wonder if he was originally supposed to win the match and feud with Sting for a few more months, but I guess we will never know.

      • December 29, 2011 at 4:48 pm

        After watching that train wreck, I’m glad we didn’t!

        • December 29, 2011 at 5:16 pm

          I think Hardy would have turned face and broke away from Immortal maybe eventually joining up with Sting.

  3. December 29, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    lololololololol! That dude looked so blazed!

    • December 29, 2011 at 4:00 pm

      Must have been more than just weed. I’ve smoked for years and I’ve never been like that. I think he might have mixed Somas with alcohol. Some people say they saw white reside on his nose, but I didn’t see all that.

  4. December 29, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Yeah, you could see Sting’s face after the match. A veteran looking down on him and completely disappointed in him. Ive seen Hardy in his highest point of his career (not literally high <_<) and I've seen him in his lowest (literally high).

    Sucks cause I actually dug his Anti-christ character but his work rate was pitiful. I'm a huge Hardy fan and Im glad he's getting his shit together.

    "Be there…or be triangular…"

    • December 29, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      I liked the Anti-Christ character also. Hardy was never known for promos but he was coming into his own as a heel. That whole gimmick was wasted when Hardy got wasted.

  5. Rob
    December 29, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I remember streaming this ppv and thinking that this match was a work but when Hardy wasn’t used anymore after this I realized that it wasnt a work. Hardy should have never been allowed to wrestle but I expect nothing less from TNA and their need to cash in on former WWE names no matter the cost.

    • December 29, 2011 at 4:10 pm

      Using former WWE names is a smart business move, the only problem is that TNA does it at the expense of their homegrown talent. Like right now Bobby Roode is the champ, but lets say John Cena went to TNA, he would destroy Roode and win the title in his first day there and Roode would become irrelevant as all the focus would be on the former WWE star. I think that if any wrestler goes to a company that they have no history with they should be forced to work their way up the card unless its a one match type of deal. It would make fans care about their journey and make TNA seem like a more legit wrestling organization.

      • Capt. Smooth
        December 29, 2011 at 6:35 pm

        I’m shocked Impact hasn’t worked Roode into his promos. Something like “You don’t have to be ROODE about it!” or something to that effect.

        • December 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm

          That would be kinda cool. Or a catchphrase saying “It pays to be Roode” kinda poking fun at his heel turn.

          • Capt. Smooth
            December 29, 2011 at 7:08 pm

            Or do a “Full House” and go “How ROODE!”.

            • December 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm

              I would laugh my ass off. They would have to put extra emphasis on the word Roode for it to work though.

              • Capt. Smooth
                December 29, 2011 at 7:23 pm

                Fuck! Have the Olsen twins show up!

                • December 29, 2011 at 7:28 pm

                  I would let those two coked out whores double team my Hot Rod.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    December 29, 2011 at 7:29 pm

                    damn

                    • December 29, 2011 at 7:33 pm

                      Lol, last I heard they were fucking with Kanye West.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

