Home > Exclusive Interview, John Canton, THE INFAMOUS JCITY™, WWE > THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ Exclusive: 6 Questions With John Canton

THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ Exclusive: 6 Questions With John Canton

THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ Exclusive: 6 Questions With John Canton

Questions Asked by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ Answers Provided by John Canton

John Canton has been my absolute favorite writer in the IWC ever since I found his Monday Night Raw review “The Raw Deal” on Rajah.com. He has since transcended that site and has started his own blog over at thejohnreport.net, which I’ve read religiously for over two years now. The site is updated daily and features quality reviews, often hilarious headlines, and many original columns. TJR also features one of the best wrestling communities going on in its comment section. If it wasn’t for the top-notch writing provided by John on thejohnreport.net and the interaction I’ve had with wrestling fans all around the world in the TJR comment section, this site would probably never exist. I wasn’t known to be much of a writer in the past, but the passion John displays in his work is something I could relate to because I too have loved wrestling for as long as I can remember, so I thought it would be therapeutic for me to give my opinions on the product by writing about it too.

I can honestly say that John inspired my blogging adventures and he made me step up the quality of my writing. While we have two completely different writing styles, the quality he put into his work definitely let me know that if I was going to pursue my wrestling coverage I either had to go hard or go home. With that being said, it was an honor to be able to interview John Canton. I’ve been somewhat of a controversial commentator on his site, and blogger in general, so he could have easily said fuck to the no to this, but he gave me the opportunity to ask him a few questions. Some of you might not see this the way I do, but it’s a big fucking deal to me. This is the equivalent of a rookie year Kobe Bryant interviewing a Chicago Bulls era Michael Jordan. This is Mayweather having a one on one sit down with Muhammad Ali in his prime. This is a young Randy Orton getting a chance to soak up wrestling knowledge from Ric Flair and Triple H in Evolution. This is… I think you get the point. Interview after the jump. 

As a fan who has read your work for a few years now, I must say that you really stepped up your game in 2011. What can we expect from you in 2012?

I think 2011 was a great year for my site, for WWE as a business that is building well for their future and for me personally I had a lot of great things happen, so it was a case of a number of things lining up to allow me to write at a really high level. I guess as a writer I’ve reached a point where I am very confident in the way I write and recap a show like Raw every week. I like Canton’s Corner a lot too because I jump from topic to topic and it’s an easier read for those that don’t want to read a typical recap to a wrestling show. I will challenge myself this year, though. I have some ideas for things I want to do in the future and later in the year because I want to be better. I’ve always been taught that no matter what you do in life, you can never settle. You should always strive to get better.

In this A.D.H.D world of wrestling blogging, does the pressure to remain consistent ever get to you and how does it affect your love for our chosen genre of entertainment?

I think being consistent is easy in the sense that I know every Monday night or Tuesday morning that I’m going to be writing The Raw Deal. It’s gotten to the point that if it’s not posted by like 2pmET I’ll get people tweeting me or messaging me on Facebook because they think it’s late. Some days it’s easier to write the 4,000 words and other days it’s not as easy, but it’s easy in the sense that I know it has to be written that day. Writing about the business makes me like it more I think. I’m not a negative wrestling fan like some people. I’ve always been the kind of guy that if I don’t like something I’ll stop watching. I mean, why would you watch a TV show that you didn’t like? That’s stupid to me. I love the wrestling business. Not afraid to say it. I spend a lot of money to go to WrestleMania last year and I’ll do it again this year. It’s a lot of fun for me even at 31 years of age. I don’t care if people think I’m too old for it. As long as it’s fun for me and it is, then I’m going to continue doing what I do.

You have gone on record and have said that you stopped writing in 2007 around the time of the Chris Benoit double murder/suicide fiasco. You have since returned, better than ever if I do say so myself, but do you think there will ever be an event in wrestling that turns you off from writing again? And if not, do you think you will ever outgrow your love for wrestling?

I don’t believe that anything in the wrestling business could turn me off from writing again. What would stop me is life events forcing me to write less such as a job change or finding the right woman, settling down and having a family, which is something I want to do in the relatively near future. Luckily for me now, I’m able to make money through my writing thanks to some well placed ads on the site so I don’t have to work a “real job” as much. It took me twelve years of writing to finally reach that level. I love it now. Going back to 2007, my life was different then in terms of the work I was doing as well as personal relationships, so things have changed for the better. I doubt my love of wrestling will ever leave. Even as I get older, I might have kids one day so I can watch with them too. Just like I think I’ll be a fan of the NFL, NBA, MLB and NHL forever, I’ll likely be a WWE fan forever too. It’s like being a fan of a sports team. I’m loyal to the end.

Last year you attended WrestleMania 27 and it seems that the “Granddaddy of them all” will be seeing your return this year when WrestleMania 28 emanates from Miami on April 1st. For any fans out there that may be vicariously living through your WrestleMania experiences, what are you looking forward to the most when it comes to this year’s event?

I think Rock vs. Cena, Undertaker vs. HHH with HBK as ref (rumored match) and Punk vs. Jericho for the WWE Title (rumored match) are all fantastic matches that I’m looking forward to. The Rock vs. John Cena has been hyped up very well. Last year in Atlanta, when Rock started the show with a promo it was the loudest pops I’ve ever felt at a sporting/wrestling event. I can only imagine what the atmosphere is going to be like when Rock’s music hits in his hometown of Miami at an event like Mania, which has the most hardcore fans because guys like me are traveling across the country to be there. Undertaker’s match will be good. They’re always good. Punk/Jericho are arguably the two best wrestlers of the past three or four years, so that “best in the world” match is intriguing to me. I’d also like to see a Money in the Bank match because it will be difficult to fit so many of the talented midcarders on the show. Last year’s Mania was fun just to be there live, but in terms of matches it wasn’t a great lineup. I think this year’s show has the potential to give us a great lineup. We can only hope, right?

Yes, you’re right. This year’s card really has the potential to be great. I can’t wait for April 1st. So yeah, while you are in Miami enjoying WrestleMania 28, the WWE Network will be going live. What are your expectations of the network and do you see the network failing or making a profit by the end of the fiscal year?

It looks like it won’t happen around WrestleMania now. That was their hope, but there’s still a lot more work to do. I think in terms of the programming they will have a lot of worthwhile shows that will appeal to wrestling fans new and old. The problem is can they get clearance on the majority of cable systems around the world? That’s not easy. If you charge $5/month for the channel I think it’s a fair price, but if they want to charge people $10 it may hurt the potential of it. There are channels like the NFL Network that haven’t been cleared on major cable systems in the US and that channel has been around for like 7 or 8 years. We’ve had it here in Canada from the beginning, but I know a lot of people in the US that don’t even have it. Can WWE Network avoid those kinds of things? I doubt it. Even as a PG product, a lot of companies don’t want to be involved in wrestling. I’m looking forward to the channel obviously. I don’t see it making a profit in year one or even year two, though. They are going to sustain some losses from it, but long term I can see it being profitable for them. It will certainly be better than the WWE Films have been! At least they sure hope so.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to do this interview and on behalf of the IWC I would also like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with great columns and a site where we could all express our opinions on the product we love and sometimes love to hate. Before I bring this to a close I have one more question for you: After it’s all said and done, how would you like the legacy of John Canton to be remembered?

I appreciate the flattery, but I don’t think of myself that way. You can’t take yourself too seriously. Always stay humble. Yes, it’s nice that I’ve reached a certain level of success by writing about a “fake sport” like professional wrestling, but I don’t think there’s a legacy to speak of. It’s cool that people are interested to know what I think about the wrestling business. I’m honored that they read my work. I’ll never turn into some kind of egomaniac about it, at least I hope not. I’m sure some people out there don’t like me because they’re possibly jealous or they simply don’t like me, which is fine because you can’t please ’em all. As long as you’re proud of your work, you work hard doing it and you enjoy yourself that’s what matters to me. What’s my legacy? Being a humble, hard working man that can look back at everything and have no regrets about anything at all. Wrestling should be fun. Writing is fun. It’s a combination that works for me.

_______

For more from John Canton and his writing staff make sure to check out his site @ thejohnreport.net.

  1. January 13, 2012 at 8:10 am

    John is a good dude. I had problems accessing his site (still do…can’t view it without using a proxy or Google Translate) so I contacted John via twitter. He could have said, “Not my problem” or not even respond but he looked into the problem and gave some suggestions on how to fix it.

    • January 14, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Stop using Firefox and cross over to Google Chrome and you won’t have that problem.

      • January 15, 2012 at 10:54 am

        I think I’m banned. JC denies it but all signs suggest that my IP was banned. I tried using IE and it said I was denied access by the website.

        • January 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

          I don’t think it’s possible to block someone from viewing a site completely like that. Bans just work for comments. I doubt you’re banned. I never seen you saying anything that would warrant it, but AJ doesn’t like you so maybe he threw you in a spam folder one day or something.

  2. Stephen
    January 13, 2012 at 9:13 am

    These fake interviews are starting to get out of hand.

    • January 14, 2012 at 10:59 am

      I like your motivation to tear everything I do apart. Keep it up, but I guarantee you that this is a real interview. Shaman is the one that does parody interviews on this site and all of those have a disclaimer letting you know they are for entertainment purposes only. Try again though, I find your hate to be quite amusing and like John Cena I will keep rising above it.

  3. The Melo Man
    January 13, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Great stuff!

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:03 am

      Thanks. People usually ask John stuff about wrestling and wrestling only, but as someone that has read just about everything he has writing in the last 3 years and has been inspired by his writing I thought I would ask a few questions about the writing process too.

  4. Lee
    January 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

    I never knew John Canton inspired your writing since this site doesn’t come off as a TJR clone like others I’ve seen. I think it’s cool for him to do the interview and stay humble even when you praise the holy hell out of him. Just remember that if you ever get huge to pay it forward and give a lesser site an interview too.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Inspire doesn’t mean that I would mimic the whole TJR style. I have to be myself at the end of the day, but what I mean by that is that I never thought about writing about wrestling until I read his work and saw the effort being put into it. Writing reviews and things of that nature can either be boring and mundane or they can be works of art expressed by the author. I could tell he put his all into his work and I felt inspired to do the same. I wouldn’t try to copy his style though because if people want that TJR shit they know where to find it, I just offer a little cool alternative for those who still want to read more about wrestling because some people just want more and more and more. I’m not here to kill off a site like some people try to do and fail at. I know my lane and drive in it well if you ask me.

  5. January 13, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    That Chris Benoit pick had me rolling in laughter and condemning my inhumanity at the same time 😄

    But this was really cool of JC to do. Him and AJ are the only reasons to go the site while the other writers provide filler content to read when Im bored (even tho most are JC clones). Still, JC created a great environment for wrestling fans to communicate. I have one person in real life that I can talk to about wrestling so it’s great to have others with the same passion.

    Amazing that you have grown from ALL CAPS! to full fledge writer tho JCity.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

      I’ve been wanting to use that Chris Benoit pic for a while now, but his name never comes up so this was a good opportunity to use it. I think it’s funny as fuck so I’m glad someone got a laugh out of it. I like almost everything on TJR even the filler stuff. The only thing I see as filler is headlines though. All of the new writers are doing their thing and unlike some haters that say I’m jealous I didn’t get picked to write there, that is not the case. I haven’t hated on those writers and always try to comment everything. If I do have a negative comment it’s based on the topic at hand unless I’m giving constructive criticism to help make them better.

      I’m glad someone noticed my progression as a writer. I think I have gotten better, but sometimes its good for other people to notice too. I hope to get better as time goes by, BUT I CAN STILL BE THAT IGNORANT MOTHERFUCKER IF NEED BE, lol.

  6. Anonymous
    January 13, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Was kissing Canton’s ass a requirement for this interview? Jesus Christ.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:21 am

      I sent Canton the questions and he sent me the answers so therefore he didn’t see what I wrote in the intro until after it was posted. So no, kissing ass wasn’t a requirement to get an interview. If you come correct you could probably get one too. What I wrote is the way I really feel about the situation. Is it a crime to look at someone who is at the top of their field in a positive way?

  7. Black Metal Death Metal
    January 13, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Nice interview mate. I would love to go to two Wrestlemanias in a row so I’m a bit jealous and it sucks about the WWE network. I was really looking forward to it. Cheers.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:24 am

      I was looking forward to the WWE Network also, oh well. Hopefully the extra time will make for a better quality channel at a more reasonable price. I haven’t been to a WrestleMania since WM 14 so I think I’m a bit over due. Hopefully they come to the Northern Eastcoast soon since I can’t be traveling across the country like that.

  8. Capt. Smooth
    January 13, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I hope you’re getting a plug out of this.

    Rajah was the first time I ever heard of Canton. I traveled there, showed up in the chatbox and the rest is history.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:28 am

      Plug or no plug I enjoyed putting this together with the help from John. Maybe in the future we can work together on something truly epic. Everyone should demand it in order to make it happen, start a petition out this bitch, lol.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

        How much are tickets?

        • January 14, 2012 at 12:37 pm

          Petition not a raffle, lol.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 14, 2012 at 1:07 pm

            I know, but I want to know how much to save if there is a shindig.

            • January 15, 2012 at 2:20 pm

              I’ll bring the beers and seeing as everybody wants to be all straight edge up in this bitch then that’s more for me 🙂

  9. January 13, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    You interviewed him without getting beat up? I don’t know how you did it!

    This was a cool column, I didn’t expect an interview with Canton to happen on this site.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Not everyone gets beat up at the end of their interviews, lol. I never thought it would happen either, but it did. When he said he was available for interviews in last week’s Canton’s Corner I thought you would have been the first to jump on that opportunity. I had to at least try and everything worked out great. To be honest I kinda expected him to say no to this due to some of my controversial comments in the past and blogging style and all the AJ stuff so this was cool on his part.

  10. Devastating David
    January 13, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Humble my ass! I like the writing, I am a fan, but humble? Canton hasn’t been humble in about 6 months. Good interview didn’t know it meant that much to you to interview ol boy.

    • January 14, 2012 at 11:45 am

      Sometimes its easy to develop an ego when people all over the world read your stuff on a daily basis and keep giving you praise. I have one of the biggest egos around with less blog hits so I know how it can get sometimes. I think he’s down to earth though. Maybe a little cockyness will shine through depending on the day and situation but I see the humble side.

      I also think its important to show respect to those that paved the way. I’m old school like that.

      • Devastating David
        January 14, 2012 at 3:18 pm

        Ego is one thing. I sense a God complex. I understand I would probably be the same way but don’t come off as humble when it is apparent you are more in love with yourself than anybody else. I like the writing its good. But its probably because it was the only shit I was reading that involved wrestling other than Rajah.

        • January 14, 2012 at 4:35 pm

          In the last year he has given a bunch of unknown writers a chance to shine on his site and he seems to be a very nice guy any time I communicate with him outside of the TJR setting so I don’t think he’s a selfish guy or anything like that. Everyone has their days though but I don’t sense a God complex. If he is God though does that make me the Anti-Christ? Lol. If this was a mobster movie Canton would be the Godfather though. Maybe I could be Scarface or something.

          • Devastating David
            January 15, 2012 at 12:28 am

            Most def. Keep up the good work though!

            • January 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm

              Who would be Manolo though? Hmmm…

              • Devastating David
                January 17, 2012 at 1:16 am

                Definitely someone who gets killed in the end.

                • January 17, 2012 at 9:31 am

                  I need someone to “kill” off. It’s been a while since I properly dissed anyone. New Year’s Resolutions be damned, lol.

  11. Capt. Smooth
    January 14, 2012 at 7:58 am

    I wonder if this is the start of that JCity/TJR storyline? I hope it’s booked well.

    • January 14, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Are we the Nexus? Minus the epic fail…

      • January 14, 2012 at 11:48 am

        The C-Raid TJR vs JCITY storyline? Lmao. I don’t think so.

        • Capt. Smooth
          January 14, 2012 at 12:28 pm

          Come on! I wanted to come out in a pirate outfit!

          • January 14, 2012 at 12:37 pm

            Lmmfao. Ok Paul Burchill.

            • Capt. Smooth
              January 14, 2012 at 1:08 pm

              Well, Johnny Depp is from Kentucky, so it wouldn’t be too far fetched.

  12. Stephen
    January 15, 2012 at 3:56 am

    JCITY, you are such a freaking loser. John Canton didn’t even link to your site and he spelled your name wrong in his plug. Just stop writing, nobody cares about this crappy site.

    • January 15, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      If you don’t care about the site or the things I write about then why do you continuously view the site and read mostly everything I write? Kinda hypocritical, don’t you think? Feel free to have your opinion though, just know that it doesn’t really hold any weight since I can see the troll inside of the fan. You’re like the guy who hates on Kobe Bryant but never misses a Lakers game and has Kobe posters all over his room. Keep up the hating though, it provides me with a good laugh.

  13. Shaman's Harvest
    January 15, 2012 at 6:06 am

    John Canton can suck my dick.

    • January 15, 2012 at 2:44 pm

      Please refrain from using other people’s screennames just to spread your negative propaganda Mr. 99.181.109.238. Yes, I know who you are and I know where you live so watch what you say or wake up with a foot up your ass. My resolution this year was to be a peaceful motherfucker so stop trying to make me relapse goddammit.

  14. Jcityisafaggot
    January 15, 2012 at 6:59 am

    You are still the most awful writer on the internet. Way to act like someone else to get an interview with canton. Fucking Loser.

    • January 15, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Awww, how cute, another hate filled demon child. You’re name couldn’t be further from the truth though. I’m the manliest man you will ever see. I don’t see how I “acted” like somebody else just to get an interview. I can’t be a wild ignorant savage 24/7 now can I? It’s called variety. I have a wide variety of emotions and behavior patterns. I can be nice, rude, sad, angry etc etc. I’m human too you know. I do know how to behave in a civilized manner, you should try it sometime. As for being the most awful writer on the Internet, I think I’m pretty damn good and I’ve definitely seen worse, but all opinions are subjective and there is always room for everyone to be wrong (I’m hardly ever wrong though). Whatever. Have fun reading my awful writing since I only do it to piss on your soul… proverbially speaking of course 🙂

  15. January 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

    I first discovered John Canton in 2010 I think. I somehow discovered his Commentfest column and I thought it was one of the funniest things I’ve ever read. Commentfest is gone but I still read the site. I just started commenting in April but I have been a reader much longer than that.

    • January 15, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      I liked Commentfest too. Too bad I could never join in on the fun since I don’t support Facebook.

  1. January 14, 2012 at 5:00 pm
  2. January 16, 2012 at 12:09 am

Leave a Reply

