Home > Uncategorized > THE REAL RAW SHYT: My Thoughts On RAW Supershow 1/16/12

THE REAL RAW SHYT: My Thoughts On RAW Supershow 1/16/12

THE REAL RAW SHYT: My Thoughts On RAW Supershow 1/16/12

by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ 

I didn’t get to watch RAW live last night so I didn’t have the usual time it would take for me complete THE REAL RAW SHYT the way I would normally do it and have it posted in a timely manner. What that means is that instead of being as detailed as I usually am, this will just be a bunch of brief thought on the show, so if this seems rushed, it’s because it was. Sue me. 

Having Mick Foley open the show was a nice change of pace. He was lobbying for a position in the upcoming 30 Man Royal Rumble Match and while he would end up taking the spot of a more deserving active WWE Superstar, I wouldn’t mind seeing him lace up the boots just one more time and compete for nostalgia’s sake. I also wouldn’t mind if Foley would show up more often, be it in backstage segments, becoming the permanent RAW General Manager or even announcing again. Dolph Ziggler came out during Foley’s promo and I liked how he held his own against the Hardcore Legend. Ziggler has improved on the mic and had a few funny lines dissing both Foley and the next guy to crash the promo, CM Punk. I love the use of legends when they are there to help the current generation gain credibility, be it by helping them step up during promos or in the ring. Foley also did a better job of putting over the Royal Rumble more than anybody else on the roster. Of course Big Johnny Ace had to come ruin the fun by telling Foley he couldn’t take part in this year’s Rumble match. I can feel a feud for the RAW General Manager position brewing between Ace and Foley and if it means more screen time for Foley then I’m all for it. I thought the opening segment was pretty solid.

I didn’t like how the new Tag Team Champions were snubbed of a proper entrance, but then again, do the tag belts even matter? How many teams are in the WWE right now? The Usos, Primo and Epico, Air Boom, and I guess that’s it. There’s almost no competition in the tag division and if you ask me I’m surprise they even keep entertaining the idea of tag teams instead of scrapping the division altogether like they did with the Cruiserweights. As for Air Boom, I feel like their days as a team are numbered. One of them is bound to go heel on the other fairly soon while the other becomes an irrelevant afterthought. I’m guessing Bourne becomes the afterthought in that situation since he once again failed WWE’s Wellness Policy, which means he will get suspended again, this time for 60 days. Anyways, I liked how the Primo and Epico team won in convincing fashion. I hope they get a legit tag team name in the near future. Also Rosa Mendez looks damn good, but damn that bitch has no curves whatsoever.

As soon as Big Johnny Ace inserted Chris Jericho in the Tag Team Main Event I knew he was going to end up walking out on his team which consisted of CM Punk and Daniel Bryan and like always I was right because that is exactly what happened. I don’t see the need to turn Jericho heel since he was already a heel when he left, but that’s WWE for you. Hopefully Jericho drops his annoying act and gets to wrestling and cutting promos because I’ve done had it with his bullshit.

I thought it was cool for Zack Ryder to finally show how much of a real competitor he is by defending his US title regardless of the injuries he sustained at the hands of Kane last week. Even though he eventually ended up losing the title to Jack Swagger, Ryder showed alot of heart in that ring by not only showing up, but by kicking out of two Gutwrench Powerbombs, injured ribs and all. Ryder might have lost his championship, but he gained a fan in me with his display of bravery. That’s what I call character progression. I just hope he gets the opportunity to regain the championship and not end up getting depushed. The fact that Big Johnny knew Ryder wasn’t medically cleared to compete and let the match go on and didn’t even bother to overturn the refs decision adds to the sympathy I now feel for Ryder’s character.

As for Swagger, I don’t like him and I don’t think I ever will. They dropped the ball on him when he was the World Heavyweight Champion and ever since then I could give two fucks about his career. Swagger is the most irrelevant relevant WWE Superstar on the roster right now. Maybe I would care about his character again if he dumped Vicki Guerrero and got his daddy Bunkhouse Buck to be his manager. Or maybe he could bring back the Swagger Soaring Eagle. Until then Swagger will continue to suck and after his botch filled match against CM Punk last week he really didn’t deserve to be rewarded with a championship. I think Vicki might have given Big Johnny a handjob before the show started because this has conspiracy written all over it.

I’m sure having Perez Hilton on RAW was just a ploy to get some of his 4 million followers on Twitter to tweet about his appearance, securing the WWE yet another worldwide Trending Topic. I’m sure the majority of the IWC hated every second of his guest appearance, but he wasn’t out there too long and I thought his interaction with the Divas was funny. When he pulled one of the Bella Twins out of the ring because they were trying to pull off their Twin Magic and cheat I found that to be quite amusing. The Divas match was so short that his appearance did not hurt the show one bit. It seems that people just like to bitch about anything that’s relevant in pop culture that’s not particularly related to wrestling. Those are the same people who give the generalization of a wrestling fan a bad wrap in society because they come off as closed-minded idiots. Anyways, the next time WWE needs a blogger to announce a match then they need to holla at me. I’m sure I can clear my busy schedule to make time for a special television appearance.

R-Truth had a funny little interaction with Wade Barrett before The Miz came out and jumped him from behind. Sheamus came out and eventually evened the odds and I was 100% positive that when Teddy Long came out he was going to make a Tag Team Match, but swerve bitches, he ended up making an Over The Top Rope Challenge which was won by Truth. Anything that puts over the importance of the up coming Royal Rumble is fine by me so this segment was ok in my book. I’m officially hyped for the Rumble this year, but I think they should have kept the 40 Man Rumble format from last year.

Seeing John Cena beat the shit out of Jack Swagger was pretty damn awesome. I know it made the new champion look weak, but it showed just how awesome Cena would be if he just embraced the hate and turned heel. I’ve always been a fan of the more aggressive side of Cena and that’s one of the reasons I’m not a fan of his watered down PG character. Cena was just about to kill Swagger, but Kane showed up on the TitanTron and made the unintentional save. Props has to go out to Kane for getting inside of Cena’s mind and getting him all riled up like that. Seeing that side of Cena makes me want to see the heel turn more than ever before. I hope he can bring that intensity to his match against The Rock at WrestleMania 28, because if he does, then that might just end up being the match of the year. I can’t wait.

AH FUNK IT!!!! That’s the name of Brodus Clay’s running splash finisher according to Michael Cole. I like it. I’m not sure how it’s going to work with WWE being PG and all, especially when you consider that they changed up Cena’s FU and STFU names for his finishers to fit the PG mold so we’ll see if it sticks, but FUNK DAT, The Funkasaurus is here to stay. FUNK YEAH MOTHERFUNKERS!!!! He might be playful, he might seem friendly, but The Funkasaurus will FUNK your shit up. “Should I Get Him”, “My Bad”, “Suplex Baby”, “Somebody Call My Momma”, damn, Brodus has only been getting funky for two weeks now and he already has a bunch of catchphrases ready for future fan signs and WWE licensed merchandise. The gimmick is money and it works. His opponent this week was JTG who is yet another WWE jobber with no direction. I think that when Brodus Clay gets a little bit more over with the fans he should start a group of Funky Soul Brothers and recruit JTG. Make him take out his braids, rock an Afro and make him wear funky colored bell bottomed pants. I think that would work wonderfully. Also, is it me or is The Funkasaurus one jiggly ass motherfunker?

[||]Pause.

Daniel Byran trying to vilify the Big Show before his Main Event Tag Team Match was great. The more chances he gets to cut promos the better. Daniel is easily becoming one of my favorite Superstars on Smackdown.

The 3 on 3 Main Event Tag Team Match was all over the fucking place. Like I said before, Jericho walked out on his team after doing his tiresome pandering to the crowd act in the middle of the match after being tagged in by Punk. Bryan wrestled like a face so to me he is still a tweener. Ziggler was his usual awesome self. Mark was a dominant beast and Otunga continued to suck.  Mick Foley came out and joined CM Punk’s team after Mark Henry chased off Bryan and won the match with his stinky smelly Mr. Socko sock. Good for a nostalgic pop until Big Johnny came out and reversed the decision because he never sent Mick Foley to compete in the match.

I liked how RAW ended with CM Punk ripping on Big Johnny. He showed the passion he did back in the summer of 2011 when he became the new top guy in the WWE. Great promo with a lot of awesome one liners, my favorite being “Your brother was one half of the Road Warriors while you didn’t amount to nothing more than roadkill”. Big Johnny got fucking owned and I loved every second of it. The way Punk disrespected John leads me to think that he will be getting screwed big time at the Royal Rumble where John is the ref in Punk’s WWE Championship Match. I also loved the interaction between Foley and John at the end of the show. John fucking snapped and knocked Mick Foley the fuck out with his mic. I’m guessing this leads to some kinda feud for the RAW General Manager position and I’m cool with that.

_______

Well, that’s all the time I have this week. If you didn’t watch the RAW Supershow last night or would like to watch it again I have included the full episode for your viewing pleasure. Thanks for reading.

  1. Lame
    January 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    Horrible. Just like all your reviews.

  2. January 17, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Great show. While tons of people had awesome nights, I have to say Cena continues to impress me. That awful year he had in 09 where they made him act like a 5 year old on roids really hurt his rep, becuase there’s been tons of times where he’s great out there, like he was on Raw yesturday.

    • January 17, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      RAW keeps getting better this year. I have high hopes for after the Royal Rumble when the Road To WrestleMania starts getting underway the shows should see a spike in quality especially with The Rock coming back and building towards his match with Cena. I still think Taker comes back to wrestle Kane once again at Mania. Jericho vs Punk would be cool, but based on his recent performance Jericho doesn’t deserve a WrestleMania main event. He’s only gonna get one because he negotiated for one in his contract to return. Bastard!

      • January 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm

        I would say “yay” to Kane vs. Undertaker but only for the storyline. It should be awesome but the actual match will suck and end Undertaker’s high-quality WrestleMania matches streak that started at WM23.

        • January 18, 2012 at 12:58 am

          Kane will end the streak only to remove his mask and show that he was Shawn Michaels this whole time.

  3. January 17, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    When Mick Foley said he showed up to RAW because Disney Land, that was a shoot. When I saw Foley was at RAW, I was like, “Why is Foley here?” and then I realized RAW was in Anaheim. I am convinced that if RAW was in Richmond, Virginia, Foley would have stayed home. Foley went to Anaheim only because it was near Disney Land. Foley didn’t even bring his kids…he rode those rides by himself. He loves amusement parks.

    Now that I think of it, he probably joined TNA only because they are located in Universal Studios. He probably made them put unlimited free rides in his contract.

  4. January 17, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    “The Funkasaurus is here to stay. FUNK YEAH MOTHERFUNKERS!!!!”

    I saw a hockey billboard yesterday that said, “Puck Yeah!”

    • January 18, 2012 at 1:00 am

      Lol. Even with the Bruins being the Stanley Cup Champions and all I still can’t watch Hockey and like it.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 18, 2012 at 5:47 am

        I can’t get into it either.

        • January 18, 2012 at 7:03 am

          I’ve been to a few games, but only because I was forced to.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 19, 2012 at 6:02 am

            Give me basketball!

            • January 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

              Yes, even though I prefer pro wrestling to any real sport.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

                Basketball wrestling!

                • Capt. Smooth
                  January 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

                  Steve Nash vs. Kevin Nash!

  5. January 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I’m happy that Ryder dropped the title. It will be interesting to see what happens with Ryder. If he never regains his push, I’m making a new “What If”…”What if that referee didn’t botch the finish to the Swagger vs. CM Punk match?”

    • January 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

      Then the match would have gone on for a couple more seconds and Swagger would have tapped to the Anaconda Vice, lol.

      This week’s RAW actually had me rooting for Ryder. He showed alot of heart by competing while injured and he got screwed out of his championship which to me gives his cartoon type character a much needed side of relatable humanity.

  6. Capt. Smooth
    January 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Somebody at 411Mania has the screen name “Brodus Clay’s Bulge”.

    Cena in “beatdown” mode is the best. He acts all modest, but if you fuck with him, look out.

    • January 18, 2012 at 1:06 am

      Brodus Clay’s bulge, what the fuck? At least it’s better than Brodus Clay’s Fat Jiggly Titties. Cena being super aggressive is awesome, but if he was that way all the time then he would REALLY be an unstoppable force in the WWE and it would only be a matter of time before those who want the heel turn start to complain about it.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 18, 2012 at 5:50 am

        Then he’d really be “super”.

        And the “bulge” thing has me thinking there will be quite a few who will stare next time he’s on. Not cause they want to, but because somebody brought it up.

        • January 18, 2012 at 7:03 am

          It’s bad enough that I noticed all the jiggling.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 19, 2012 at 6:03 am

            The jiggling will get him over. Make it stop!

            • January 19, 2012 at 9:42 am

              He could be a spokesperson for Jello or something.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 19, 2012 at 6:13 pm

                Maybe he could jiggle to wind up a punch?

                • January 19, 2012 at 6:48 pm

                  I hope it doesn’t become a thing, lol.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    January 20, 2012 at 5:50 am

                    Get’s him a pop. They might keep it.

  7. January 17, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    I thought what Jericho did was what he should have done in the first place so I don’t mind, plus he didn’t take OVER 9,000! years to get his point across.

    Glad to see Punk being awesome again. I wasn’t liking his slow descent into a watered down character so it was fucking awesome to see him edgy again.

    And seeing Cena be aggressive is the kind of Cena that I want to see all the time. He plays it well. If he does ever turn heel, I see him being one of my favorites in the WWE which is insane to think about 🙂

    • January 18, 2012 at 1:14 am

      They should just let Punk be Punk. I’m sure some of the earlier ratings slip was because fans tuned in to see Punk being WWE’s true savior and instead got him delivering watered down promos and being inserted in lackluster feuds instead of building on the work he did in the summer of 2011. Kinda stupid to piss of Big Johnny before his PPV match, but CM Punk don’t give a fuck and I prefer when he doesn’t give a shit about the establishment and just does whatever the fuck he wants to do.

      As for Jericho, I think he goes into the Rumble in the number one or two position, runs around pandering to the crowd, disappears, someone wins the Rumble celebrates, Jericho comes back out, throws them out and continues to pander to the crowd as the PPV goes off the air.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 18, 2012 at 5:51 am

        Jericho could spend the whole match high-fiving fans onlt to come in and win at the last second. Seems heel enough.

        • January 18, 2012 at 7:07 am

          And I bet the fans would still cheer him on, unless the guy he eliminated really busted his ass in the ring that night and was deserving of the win. Supposedly Jericho will talk the night after the Rumble to challenge Punk for the title, but that’s just a rumor at this point.

  8. JT
    January 18, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Jcity for WWE Raw GM

    • January 18, 2012 at 7:08 am

      Ha, someone should start a petition.

    • Capt. Smooth
      January 19, 2012 at 6:04 am

      People who cheer the heels on would.

      • January 19, 2012 at 9:43 am

        Then I should be golden in the IWC.

        • Capt. Smooth
          January 19, 2012 at 6:14 pm

          That post was supposed to be a response to your post about people still cheering for Jericho.

          • January 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

            Oh. Not really though, people that like Jericho and don’t get the bigger picture would still cheer. It’s happening now.

            • Capt. Smooth
              January 20, 2012 at 5:51 am

              That’s what why was aying. The heel-cheerers would love it.

              • January 20, 2012 at 7:58 am

                Even face lovers would cheer because they don’t know what’s going on. If they want Jericho to get real heel heat they should just have him beat up a few faces. It’s not rocket science.

                • Capt. Smooth
                  January 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

                  The fanbase is more complex today. It’s not so true now.

                  • January 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

                    They only know what they are presented with. Us online see things for what they are because we know backstage things the casuals dont.

                    • Capt. Smooth
                      January 21, 2012 at 10:59 am

                      And I think there is a difference in personality as well. Some go for “realism”, others for “idealism”. I’m more of a realist, but I such high empathy, that I can see why bookers and creative do the things they do.

  9. January 18, 2012 at 7:57 am

    I’m going to help make online history by going on strike today. Site will blackout in 5,4,3,2,1…

    • Capt. Smooth
      January 19, 2012 at 6:06 am

      Yeah, I clicked on at work, not knowing and got a bunch of “fun” stuff to look at. Hope I don’t get into trouble.

      • January 19, 2012 at 8:00 am

        I was more upset that wikipedia was on strike.

        • January 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

          Fuck Wikipedia, I had the coolest blackout page ever. I should have taken a screenshot. Oh yea, I did!

          http://twitpic.com/895c5v/full

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

            Can you sign it for me?

            • January 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

              I don’t think I can. FBI already shutdown MegaUpload today so if they could do that then they didn’t need SOPA this whole time because they are fully capable of shutting down pirate sites and sites that share illegal files.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 20, 2012 at 5:54 am

                I read that WWE supports it.

                Also, I wanted to commend you for seeing how complex this issue was. When I read your message on Wed., you made sure to mention that you support the idea of getting rid of piracy, but didn’t like the extra stuff in the bill. Good stuff.

                • January 20, 2012 at 8:00 am

                  If it passes WWE can have sites like this shut down, dirtsheets too.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    January 20, 2012 at 6:32 pm

                    Now that I think about it, I don’t support the sites protesting the way they did. As the saying goes, once you go black…

                    • January 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm

                      Lol, well the protests worked because SOPA is officially dead. PIPA still lives though.

  10. January 18, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Way to go JCITY bro! This was the coolest internet strike in the history of the coolest internet strikes, ahaha.

    • January 19, 2012 at 9:52 am

      I don’t think I could remember another internet strike, but it was cool to be part of something big like that.

  11. Rob
    January 19, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Good thing the site is back because I had no idea what the hell was going on yesterday.

    • January 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

      Internet wide strike on censorship. Any site that didn’t participate is funded by terrorist.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 20, 2012 at 5:54 am

        Tony’s was up. *pause*

        • January 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

          Al quada just sent him an Osama Bin Laden Booble Head for his non-participation.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

            “booble head” sounds porn related

            • January 20, 2012 at 7:13 pm

              It’s not, Tony will proudly showcase it with those pipe bombs of his, lol.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 21, 2012 at 11:01 am

                lol

  12. TKO
    January 19, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Way btter than the previous week man. The Jericho thing, while kinda funny that they would disrespect fans this way, is fucking annoying. Punk/Laryngitis is still interesting. Otunga is a main event jobber but why. I like what they did with Ryder, he was robbed cuz of Cena and Kane and Swagger took advantage. Its a nice 4 man (and diva) story. Ziggler was great on the mic and in the ring. I think Daniel Bryan is becoming the best in the world though. Punk is great and so is Ziggler but DBryan is becoming. Great write homeboi

    Why do people show up on your site just to say you suck. I can’t get used to the internet blog world. There are some people out there that just feed off of being unnecessary. Just don’t get it

    • January 19, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      Otunga is only giving TV time because of his affiliation with Jennifer Hudson which WWE likes to use to their advantage when it comes to media coverage. She wants Otunga to quit wrestling though so he might not be there for long if she gets her way. I think Daniel Bryan is developing into quite the good wrestling personality it only sucks that they had wasted his potential before hand by having him lose so many matches. He’s doing great now hopefully he keeps it up. As for the haters, I don’t know what the fuck is wrong with them but at the end of the day they are still fans. Negative fans but fans nonetheless. It takes a certain amount of passion to come here all the time just to try and break me down. I find it amusing.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 19, 2012 at 6:16 pm

        Otunga had grown as a character.

        • January 19, 2012 at 6:54 pm

          Nope, he got worse. He was the A-Lister, then a member of Nexus, Tag Team Champion, and now he wears a bow tie and he sucks.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 20, 2012 at 5:56 am

            He’s getting the mannerisms down as a flunky and suckup and doing pretty good at it. His theme song needs to open with a coffee slurp.

            • January 20, 2012 at 8:02 am

              He is a flunky and suck up in real life so it’s not that big of a deal. Just ask New York and Jennifer Hudson. The guy is a leech.

  13. January 19, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    “The way Punk disrespected John leads me to think that he will be getting screwed big time at the Royal Rumble where John is the ref in Punk’s WWE Championship Match.”

    The only time someone gets screwed by a special ref is when you don’t expect it. They are making it too obvious so it’s a lock that Punk will retain.

    • January 20, 2012 at 8:03 am

      Unless JL ends up getting knocked out and Foley runs in giving the win to Punk or something.

  14. January 19, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Nope, he got worse. He was the A-Lister, then a member of Nexus, Tag Team Champion, and now he wears a bow tie and he sucks.

    Otunga is one of the few Nexus/NXT guys that is remembered for more than Nexus/NXT. Otunga got more TV time because he is talented…not because he is a former Nexus guy. I love where Otunga is right now and I hope it develops into something bigger.

    • January 20, 2012 at 8:05 am

      He gets more TV time because of his personal relationship. I guarantee that if it wasn’t for that he would be joining Michael McGillicutty and Husky Harris down in FCW in order to get repackaged.

  15. Capt. Smooth
    January 20, 2012 at 5:57 am

    Capt. Smooth :
    He’s getting the mannerisms down as a flunky and suckup and doing pretty good at it. His theme song needs to open with a coffee slurp.

    This should go here, now that I see what Tony wrote.

    • January 20, 2012 at 8:06 am

      I want someone to give David Otunga a Mocha flavored coffee with laxatives in it. Now that would make for great TV.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

        Like in American Pie.

        • January 20, 2012 at 7:13 pm

          Yes, lol. Funny scene.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 21, 2012 at 11:02 am

            Can’t wait for Reunion.

            • January 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm

              You should see American Pie Book Of Love that movie is funny as fuck.

              • January 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm

                Good movie. Naked Mile is good too.

                • January 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm

                  Any movie with lots of tits is good to me.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    January 21, 2012 at 5:18 pm

                    It looks like Stifler’s mom and Jim’s dad might hook up in this one.

  16. January 20, 2012 at 8:29 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Internet wide strike on censorship. Any site that didn’t participate is funded by terrorist.

    Now my blog title looks worse.

  17. Capt. Smooth
    January 21, 2012 at 11:01 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Lol, well the protests worked because SOPA is officially dead. PIPA still lives though.

    Not dead, just “delayed”. Harry Reid said so.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

