Home > Uncategorized > My Favorite Moments From The 2012 WWE Royal Rumble PPV

My Favorite Moments From The 2012 WWE Royal Rumble PPV

My Favorite Moments From The 2012 WWE Royal Rumble PPV 

by THE INFAMOUS JCITY™

This past Sunday WWE aired its annual Royal Rumble PPV and while everyone I’ve talked to so far has praised the event, I personally didn’t like it so much. All of the matches leading up to the Rumble felt like filler, no titles changed hands, no hate was embraced, the world as we know it didn’t end, the matches that were added to the card didn’t add anything special to the event and nothing important really happened. Then again, maybe I just set my expectations too high. Anyways, while the Rumble itself had its moments, compared to previous years, it was a big letdown. All my predictions were wrong, minus the Daniel Bryan pick, but he didn’t win the way I said he would so there’s that. The Royal Rumble wasn’t all bad though. I found a few good moments in the event, so instead of reviewing a show I would more than likely ripped to shreds, I decided to point out the positives, and since there aren’t many this should be a very short read.  You’ve been warned. 

Did I say I was going to start with the positives? Well, I fucking lied. One of the things that pissed me off about this year’s Royal Rumble was the blatant waste of spots in the Rumble match. There really was no need to have all three announcers compete in the Rumble in place of other WWE Superstars such as Kane, who I felt would have been a force to be reckoned with this year. Then there was Brodus Clay and Drew McIntyre, who had a short match before the Rumble began which could have been scrapped in favor of putting them in the actual Rumble match, and while I understand having “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan in the match seeing as this was the 25th anniversary of the Rumble and he won the first one, and seeing the Road Dogg compete and hearing the fans chant “You still got it” was a nice touch, there was no reason why Michael Cole or Jerry “The King” Lawler should have ever stepped foot in the Royal Rumble. I didn’t mind Booker T entering the match since he could still go, but in my opinion, announcers should announce and leave the wrestling to the wrestlers.

Oh, and this actually happened.

Ok, on to my favorite Royal Rumble moments. For real this time…

When a 8 on 8 Divas match was announced, I quickly rolled my eyes and went to go make me a sandwich. When I came back Kelly Kelly went to the top rope and delivered a cross body to all the Divas standing on the outside. I don’t think I ever remember Kelly doing such a high risk manuever so it stood out to me. Also, if you listen closely, the move knocked a fart out of Natalya which I thought was funny (she really needs to cut back on the dairy products). So why am I glorifying a simple move from a filler match? Because I fucking love Kelly Kelly that’s why. It’s a shame she had to do the job though because she’s the hottest Diva the WWE has to offer.

I’m extremely disappointed in the way the Kane vs John Cena match turned out. I thought Cena was going to go out there and give Kane the beating of a lifetime in the name of Zack Ryder, but he didn’t go as hard as I though he would. No hate was embraced and this match ended up ending in a double disqualification. With that being said, I still enjoyed Kane’s overall performance and the continuation of the destruction of Zack Ryder has become something I look forward to. Seeing Ryder get Tombstoned while having a herniated disk was too fucking funny and having this segment end with Kane ChokeSlamming Cena and walking away while looking on at the carnage he just unleashed was fucking great. I just wished the match would have lived up to my expectations though. Oh well.

CM Punk and Dolph Ziggler went on to have a great match that was hampered by the shenanigans of the referees. While some loved it, I wasn’t impressed at all (with the referee stuff). For a second there I thought John Laurinaitis found a way to screw Punk without really screwing him, but thankfully that didn’t happen. Anyways, my favorite spot in this match was when CM Punk was going to hit Ziggler with a GTS and Dolph reversed it into a Fame Asser. That spot was fucking awesome. Too bad my prediction about Jericho didn’t come true though, but I still predict that Ziggler will hold a World title by the end of the year.

When Alberto Del Rio’s music hit, I must admit that I marked out a bit. He’s out with an injury so I didn’t expect last year’s Rumble winner to come out and do it again. I marked out even more when I saw the fucked up car that drove out. For a second there I thought that they repackaged him as someone who lost all of his riches during his time off, but when I saw Ricardo Rodriguez I REALLY marked the fuck out. Seeing him do Del Rio’s entrance was one of the best moments in this year’s Royal Rumble. I thought he was going to get eliminated as soon as he came in, but he held his own and he even helped Mick Foley eliminate Justin Gabriel. I thought it was weird that he came off as a face in the Rumble, but I must admit that I was entertained by Ricardo’s antics. I wouldn’t mind seeing him keep making a mockery of Del Rio by becoming a wrestler and keeping Del Rio’s entrance. Del Rio can then come back and whoop his ass at WrestleMania.

The spot where Kofi Kingston escaped being eliminated from the Rumble by walking on his hands was fucking brilliant. Alot of people compare that spot to when John Morrison parkoured his way back in the ring last year after almost being eliminated and grabbing on the ringside barricade, but I thought this spot was way better and involved more athleticism than that. I never knew Kofi could pull off such a move and it was definitely the most memorable spot in Royal Rumble history. I’ve always been a Kingston supporter and last night he proved that he has alot of untapped potential. I would love for the WWE to realize the talent they have in Kingston and push him past the midcard level. He has consistently maintained some type of championship and he seems like a hard-working and reliable WWE Superstar so why the fuck not?

Kharma returned at the Royal Rumble and hit Dolph Ziggler with an Implant Buster! Now that was fucking impressive as fuck. She also eliminated Hunico and while she is credited for eliminating Michael Cole, she didn’t. Cole went over the top rope on his own because he didn’t want anything to do with Kharma and from the outside of the ring Jerry Lawler and Booker T pushed his legs out from under him thus eliminating him from the Rumble match. Still, I enjoyed seeing Kharma hit her finisher on Ziggler. I guess she already had her baby and is healthy enough to wrestle. Weird how the dirtsheets didn’t report anything about her given birth, huh? Anyways, it was funny when Ziggler eliminated her from the Rumble. Seeing her fat ass fall out of the ring was hilarious, even more so in slow motion.

While Jericho’s prophecy of the world as we know it coming to an end didn’t exactly go the way I envisioned it, it was still great to see him do what he does best and that’s wrestle. I enjoyed his time in the Rumble and only wished he would have gone in earlier just so he could have been in the match a bit longer. Jericho and Sheamus ended up being the last two Superstars in the ring and seeing them  wrestle one on one was the highlight of the Royal Rumble match. They both brought their A game and it was good to see that Jericho hasn’t lost a step in the ring. I was 99.9% postive that Jericho was going to come out victorious, but that’s the unpredictable nature of the Rumble for you.

And then there was one. Sheamus. The 2012 winner of the Royal Rumble has alot of people upset that the person they thought was going to win didn’t, but I liked this outcome. Sheamus has been on a roll lately, juggling two feuds between Jinder Mahal and Wade Barrett, while picking up wins by destroying everyone that crosses his path along the way. Just last week I was talking about how it was a shame that Sheamus was lingering around the midcard scene with no real direction and now he’s ready to navigate down The Road To WrestleMania as he will now challenge for a World title of his choice in the main event. Seeing him go toe to toe with Jericho was great and because of that I felt that he deserved this win. It’s funny because when he came out my wife said he was going to win and I just kept brushing her off saying he had no chance against Jericho and then he ended up fucking winning making me feel stupid in the process. I remember when Sheamus was a dominant bad ass heel when he was the WWE Champion and now that he’s in the title picture again I hope he can bring that same intensity he had before on his way to becoming one of the top faces in the WWE.

______

Well, those are the moments that stood out to be the most in what I consider to be one of the weakest Royal Rumbles in recent history. If you have any thoughts on the PPV or have any favorite moments of your own you would like to share then sound off in the comments. As always, thanks for reading.

  1. jake mcconnell
    January 31, 2012 at 1:12 am

    Great read got to watch it oo my birthday live

  2. Lee
    January 31, 2012 at 2:48 am

    I actually liked this PPV even though I feel Jericho should have won and not Sheamus.

    • January 31, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      I think WWE just swerved us on purpose since everyone was reporting that Jericho was the favorite to win. WWE has been trolling the fans alot lately.

  3. Capt. Smooth
    January 31, 2012 at 5:43 am

    I can’t stop staring at that Jericho gif.

    Yeah, I wouldn’t have put the announcers in the Rumble with only 30 slots, but that’s why they need to keep it at 40.

    • January 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm

      I also thought they should have kept the 40 man format from last year. The announcers wouldn’t have been so bad if it was and there would have been more spots for upper midcarders. No Kane, especially as dominant as he has been lately, in the Rumble was a fail.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 31, 2012 at 5:40 pm

        Kane not being in I can understand. I think he just came back for Cena.

        • January 31, 2012 at 6:51 pm

          Kane is a Royal Rumble staple and why wouldn’t he want a World title opportunity?

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 31, 2012 at 8:01 pm

            Cause he wants Cena to “embrace the hate”. He’s focused on that. Plus, he didn’t wanna have to fight Ricardo.

            • January 31, 2012 at 8:27 pm

              Kane can multitask dammit!

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 31, 2012 at 8:32 pm

                He’s a simple-minded monster.

                • January 31, 2012 at 8:43 pm

                  He supports Ron Paul so he’s not as simple minded as he seems on TV.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    January 31, 2012 at 8:46 pm

                    Heck, Ron Paul is simple-minded. And his son freaks me out.

                    • February 1, 2012 at 3:30 am

                      Ron Paul is a complex individual who sees the government for what it really is and knows simple ways for us to get out of our current problems as a nation.

  4. J
    January 31, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Shay-moos won after Tea Party!

    • January 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm

      WHAT?

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 31, 2012 at 5:40 pm

        Remember when Santino and Koslov had the “tea party” for Sheamus while over in England?

        • January 31, 2012 at 6:52 pm

          I would rather forget that moment ever existed.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 31, 2012 at 8:02 pm

            It was glorious seeing Sheamus trying not to laugh.

            • January 31, 2012 at 8:30 pm

              That segment was so stupid. Santino is lame.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 31, 2012 at 8:33 pm

                Yeah, that’s why the crowd loved it.

                • January 31, 2012 at 8:42 pm

                  The UK crowd would have loved anything since they don’t get to see WWE live that often.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    January 31, 2012 at 8:45 pm

                    More often than China.

  5. Crazy Train
    January 31, 2012 at 9:55 am

    I’m so thankful I didnt pay for this crap. Watched it for free on my computer. Havent been into wrestling for a long long time, but the Rumble is always something I have to check out.

    First, I actually founf the three announcers going in to be pretty funny. Only because they kept bickering back and forth when one of them went in, just to get tossed out and go back to theyre announcing roll. Second, Foley was a waste. He’s finished, and proved it to me at this PPV. He better not ever have another match. He is in no shape to wrestle.

    I thought the matches were crap. The CM Punk/Ziggler match was alright but I expected Jerich to make an appearance. How do you say its going to be the end of the world and yet nothing happens? Personally I think WWE is screwing themselves with all the “trying to prove the internet sites wrong” mentality. In the end its only killing the product. Just do what people are expecting you to do.

    Ricardo Rodriguez was the best part of the whole thing. I was cracking up when he came out.

    All in all though it wasnt very good. Also, anyone else think the Brodus Clay thing is getting REALLY played out now. How many guys you going to have him run through?

    • January 31, 2012 at 3:50 pm

      I thought Jericho would have made more of an impact whether he won the Rumble or not, but they just wasted his potential. His return thus far has been a failure. Sure he’s Jericho and everyone will end up looking past this, but his return could have been something truly special had they stuck to the dark vibe of the “It Begins” videos and had him go after Punk right away.

  6. January 31, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    The Kofi spot was awesome. It was cool to hear Michael Cole break character and put Kofi over.

    My favorite moment was Road Dogg returning. Too bad he can’t return full-time. He’d be better than half the roster on the mic. He should “re-unite” with R-Truth.

    • January 31, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      That move was awesome. So easy to fuck something like that up. Miz too because he could have pushed him too hard and fucked up the spot. I like the idea of Road Dogg teaming with K-Qwick. If an older star can still go but at limited capacity a tag team situation would be ideal. Will get them the nostalgia pop while given some younger talent more exposure.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 31, 2012 at 8:03 pm

        I was expecting Mr. Ass to show for a moment.

        • January 31, 2012 at 8:32 pm

          Just team him with Dolph Ziggler then. 2012 Billy Gunn… but with actual wrestling skills.

          • Capt. Smooth
            January 31, 2012 at 8:35 pm

            But Dolph isn’t an…ASS MAN!!!

            • January 31, 2012 at 8:41 pm

              He does slap his own ass and does the Fame Asser.

              • Capt. Smooth
                January 31, 2012 at 8:44 pm

                Did he have a fake relationship with Chuck?

                • February 1, 2012 at 3:36 am

                  No, but he was a cheerleader and is said to enjoy Britney Spears concerts.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    February 1, 2012 at 6:06 am

                    And a caddy.

  7. January 31, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Oh and when Kharma’s music hit, I thought it was the Boogeyman at first.

    • January 31, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      That Implant Buster on Ziggler was great. That’s a strong bitch to be able to pull that off.

      • Capt. Smooth
        January 31, 2012 at 8:03 pm

        It’s not her. That was done with CGI.

  8. TKO
    February 1, 2012 at 12:51 am

    well put, i emailed u and then read this. we both came away with same feeling about the show

  9. Black Metal Death Metal
    February 1, 2012 at 1:50 am

    Good moments but how can you not like the Cobra vs Mr. Socko?

    • February 1, 2012 at 3:42 am

      I just find everything Santino does to be stupid and lame.

      • Capt. Smooth
        February 1, 2012 at 6:07 am

        Just when you least expect it, the Cobra will pounce on you! *pause*

        • February 1, 2012 at 3:46 pm

          Lol. The Cobra might just be the worst finisher of all time.

          • Capt. Smooth
            February 1, 2012 at 7:26 pm

            Nah, The Bushwhackers used to have a battering ram that sucked.

  10. Capt. Smooth
    February 1, 2012 at 5:59 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    Ron Paul is a complex individual who sees the government for what it really is and knows simple ways for us to get out of our current problems as a nation.

    Fuck that! He has problems with the Civil Rights Act. My mother told me about being a little girl and seeing “white only” and “colored only” on bathroom doors, water fountains, and lunch counters. For every good idea he has(not running the world), he has a batshit crazy one(like wanting zero taxes for anybody). He wants to privatize EVERYTHING. Retirement, roads, schools, sidewalks, streetlamps, fire, police, health, highways, expressways, etc.) I get the financial toll those can take and the concern, but the human toll is not being reported and talked about enough.

    • February 1, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      He would legalize marijuana and that’s all I need to hear for someone to get my vote.

      • Capt. Smooth
        February 1, 2012 at 7:27 pm

        Try the Green Party.

        • February 2, 2012 at 8:54 am

          Nice.

          • Capt. Smooth
            February 2, 2012 at 6:59 pm

            It’s filled with modern hippies, so why not?

            • February 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm

              I’m not a hippie though… and I hate hipsters.

              • Capt. Smooth
                February 3, 2012 at 5:44 am

                Hippies and hipsters are totally different. Hippies are layed back(and smoke weed) while hipsters are too cool for school.

                • February 3, 2012 at 6:29 am

                  Hipsters are the new age hippies.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    February 3, 2012 at 11:06 pm

                    Hogwash!

                    Hippies are laidback, dope-smoking, anti-war, cool as shit, and are cleaner than the stereotype suggests. I would know. The area of Louisville I live in is called The Highlands and it’s filled with old hippies. The nicest people I’ve ever been around.

                    Hipsters are contrarian, douchebag, too-cool-for-school dickfaces who need to get over themselves!

                    • February 4, 2012 at 5:41 am

                      All the hipsters I know are massive pot heads so I’m still right.

  11. February 1, 2012 at 8:37 am

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    That segment was so stupid. Santino is lame.

    That is the most overrated segment in recent history.

    • February 1, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      Yes it was.

      • Capt. Smooth
        February 1, 2012 at 7:30 pm

        No, Miz cashing in on Orton to win the title. You would’ve thought the IWC had a collective jizz-fest.

        • February 2, 2012 at 12:00 am

          I liked how predictable it was. I was thinking that night, “Who will be Orton’s next challenger for the title?” Then I realized that Miz would be cashing in that night.

          • Capt. Smooth
            February 2, 2012 at 5:48 am

            But they acted like he actually did something, when all he did was pickup Orton’s scraps. Most casual fans noticd this and he wasn’t able to connect with them.

            • February 2, 2012 at 8:31 am

              Name a MITB winner besides RVD who didn’t do that?

              • February 2, 2012 at 8:56 am

                Edge is the best MITB winner of all time with the best cash ins of all time.

              • Capt. Smooth
                February 2, 2012 at 7:10 pm

                And that’s the problem with the shock cash-ins. Unless it’s an established star, many in the crowd are aware that the person who wins the title did nothing but beat a weakened opponent, so it’s hard to take them seriously.

                • February 2, 2012 at 8:35 pm

                  It’s not about how you beat your opponent. It’s about becoming champion. The champ always has a target on his back so they should be ready at all times. If not then they deserve to lose their titles.

                  • Capt. Smooth
                    February 3, 2012 at 5:48 am

                    Sure it’s about how you beat your opponent. Maybe not in the wrestler’s eyes, but most fans won’t know if you can really “best” the original champion in a match, unless you beat them without any funny stuff going down.

                    • February 3, 2012 at 6:33 am

                      If the champ didn’t suck so much he would never lose the title no matter the situation.

  12. February 2, 2012 at 3:28 am

    did you not proof read this ??

    How man times did you use THOUGH, INSTEAD OF THOUGHT ???

    • February 2, 2012 at 8:59 am

      Read it again and there is no mistakes between THOUGH and THOUGHT. Learn to read jackass and until you fucking pay me then you’re going to either deal with a few mistakes here and there or you can just go eat shit since you love poo so goddamn much.

  13. Capt. Smooth
    February 3, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    If the champ didn’t suck so much he would never lose the title no matter the situation.

    Bullshit! It’s not impressive to beat a person’s scraps.

    • February 4, 2012 at 5:38 am

      It’s not meant to be impressive, it’s meant to be the crowning of a new champion on the fly without necessarily having a storyline. It’s like a get out of jail free card used by creative when they have ran out of ideas or are feeling genius and think they could make it into a great storyline like they did with Punk vs Hardy.

      • Capt. Smooth
        February 4, 2012 at 1:07 pm

        That’s why they need to get rid of it in the first place.

  14. Capt. Smooth
    February 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    THE INFAMOUS JCITY™ :
    All the hipsters I know are massive pot heads so I’m still right.

    Well, pot is more mainstream now, so I don’t see that much of a connection.

    • February 5, 2012 at 10:15 pm

      There is one. FUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Capt. Smooth
        February 6, 2012 at 5:46 am

        HULK JCITY SMASH!!!

  15. February 6, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

